We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Photo Safari”

More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Please join me on a private, Jackson Hole Photographic Scenic and Wildlife Safari through Grand Teton National Park with me as your experienced guide. I will provide you with a unique opportunity to explore the unparalleled scenery and wildlife surrounding Jackson Hole. Grizzly and black bears, moose, elk, mule deer, bison, pronghorn, eagles and wolves are just some of the wildlife we often experience. With my visual and ethical appreciation for the environment I' am anxious to share my passion with all my guests. I guarantee I will be your guide. I offer over 39 years of experience in seeking out the elusive wildlife that inhabits the region and extensive knowledge on the best locations to view and photograph the picturesque surroundings of Grand Teton National Park. I offer only one Safari Tour per day and each tour is individually customized. All tours include fresh morning glory breakfast muffins, refreshments and of course the use of high quality Nikon binoculars, and Swarovski spotting scopes, as well as tripods and rain-gear. Please be sure to check out the rest, and see why people choose Paul Martin's Photo Safaris. I sincerely hope I can be part of your amazing Jackson Hole adventure! --Paul
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Paul picked us up at the hotel promptly on time. He was quick to get us off for our first sunrise shot giving us recommendations on how to set up and take the best image that we could. He provided tripods and extra lenses if needed and an extra point and shoot camera. He had hot coffee and awesome fresh muffins to offer. He was tremendously patient to help us as needed to make sure we getting the best photos. He was willing to hike to Cunningham's cabin in order to take a photo that we were wishing to have. He made sure we travelled to locations to see great wildlife providing us with great information about the animals as we went along. He had many locations preplanned to make sure saw various animals. Paul talked to his "photo buddies" to keep tabs on which animals might be in which locations or which animals still had antlers so we would use our time best. Between locations he provided us with some history of the area as well as some photography tips (which we really needed). Even though we went over our preplanned time limit, Paul made sure we saw all of the preplanned areas and wildlife. Paul made sure all of our questions were answers. For a personalized photo safari, we would recommended Paul over any commercial company. Paul definitely gave us a first rate photo safari!

Thank bkstrock1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SafariPaul, Owner at Paul Martin's Photo Safaris -Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Thank you for sharing your Sunrise experience with other TA readers. My Sunrise Safari Tour is the most popular tour I offer both summer and winter, and its a great way to start your Jackson Hole adventure. I love sharing my 38 years of experience with all my guests, and because I’m not a big commercial company with seasonal guides my guests are guaranteed a much more personalized service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Filter

48 - 52 of 148 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

Paul's Photo tour in Jackson Hole was a great, personal tour that included some great landscape shots of the Grand Tetons, along with great wildlife shots with Bison, Eagle, Bighorn Sheep, Elk and Moose. Paul is very knowledgeable with the wildlife as well as photography and offered some great shooting tips. Highly recommended!

Thank jmdarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SafariPaul, Owner at Paul Martin's Photo Safaris -Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you for sharing your tour with others and especially the photos! Winter in Jackson Hole offers great opportunities to view and photograph both the wildlife and scenery without all the crowds of summer. I enjoyed our tour together and sincerely hope you come back soon. --Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

If you are looking for an amazing winter photography tour of Teton National park scenery and wildlife....look no more.....Paul is your man. We had awesome time touring the Teton National Park with Paul in his customized touring Van. Paul knows the Teton National Park well and was able to identify many of the moose he regularly tracks....by the way if you like moose....you will not go wrong with Paul....he is definitely passionate about the moose and knows the history of the region well. The wildlife we saw during the tour included....moose, buffalo, elk, coyote, bighorn sheep and eagles. Also, make sure to make use of Paul's photography equipment to include bean bag for resting camera....it was amazing how well the bean bag worked!. Don't forget to checkout some of the photos from the tour I have uploaded.

Thank Kachro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SafariPaul, Owner at Paul Martin's Photo Safaris -Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

You got some great wildlife photos on your tour! Thanks for sharing them with other TA users. Regardless of your photography level I have the equipment you need to take home those memory making images and there is no charge to use any of it. If photography is not your thing my guests all have use of my high powered nikon binoculars and Swarovski spotting scopes. I'm glad you where able to take advantage of my knowledge of our local moose. Some of these moose I have tracked and photographed from when they where calves. When my guests see our local wildlife they go home not just saying they 'saw a moose', but they saw a moose with a story! Come back and see us again this summer. --Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Throughly enjoyed Paul's tour of Jackson Hole. We saw an abundance of wildlife and Paul can spot 'em anywhere! He had great knowledge and was wonderful company too. Highly recommend this tour if you want an authentic look at the wildlife in this area.

Thank Rishi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SafariPaul, Owner at Paul Martin's Photo Safaris -Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thanks for sharing your experience with other TA users. I had a wonderful time sharing and exploring the valley with your group. Wildlife during the winter months tend to concentrate in smaller areas allowing us the opportunity to view and sometimes photograph. I look forward to your next visit, maybe this summer? --Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We actually booked this tour last winter and it was truly a tour to remember. We were very fortunate to have a beautiful winter day and Paul's taking us to many spots for wildlife viewing. We booked the sunrise tour and would highly recommend this time of day. With a beautiful winter sunrise and early morning offering the ability to see just about every form of wildlife in its natural surroundings, cameras were clicking. Paul has thought of everything and is so very informative, personal, and helpful. I agree with Jim L this tour is the best way to start your Jackson Hole vacation. Paul has made it a point of being totally personal and educational; he is simply a wealth of information about the wildlife, the Tetons, and photography. If you book it, please tell him you read the review by the folks who requested his Golden Retrievers! He may even bring them along again for you!

Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SafariPaul, Owner at Paul Martin's Photo Safaris -Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

I remember all my past guests and I remember we had a perfect winter sunrise on your tour. Lots of wildlife and the aplenglow was right on cue. I have been exploring and photographing Grand Teton National Park for almost 40 years and it never gets old sharing Jackson Hole valley with my guests. As many other reviewers have pointed out the Sunrise tour is a perfect way to start your Jackson Hole vacation. Because I'm the owner and guide and don't hire seasonal guides my guests are always guaranteed a more personalized experience. Its for this reason I do only one tour each day making each review I get all the more appreciated. Thank you for sharing! --Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paul Martin's Photo Safaris -Tours also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing