We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highlight of our trip”
Review of Mill Iron Ranch

Mill Iron Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Casper, Wyoming
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Highlight of our trip”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This place is simply outstanding, The ride was spectacular (there was even a rainbow when we got on top!), the dinner was delicious (Get the steak. Just do it.), and the family running the entire operation (for five generations!) could not have been nicer and more hospitable. They even had a birthday cake and candles, since it was my birthday. We will return many times for sure!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wy0W0man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    22
    7
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best part of our family vacation”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This was an absolutely amazing experience! After we paid and signed a single piece of paper we were on the horses. A few simple suggestions of how to ride and up the mountain we went. Our guide was a serious cow-girl and knew her stuff. The horses were all well trained but would take direction from us if given. We had 7, 8 and 11 year-olds on their own horses. The climb took us to the top of a huge mountain so we could see out to an amazing view.

Best part - when we got back she told us the group just behind us was followed by a bear and their guide had his gun out. First - cool that that could happen, but second - cool that she knew all this and didn't let on while we were up there and freak anyone out. She said she saw the fresh scatt and prints (which is even cooler that she knew such stuff). Very very real and authentic and didn't feel touristy at all. They know their stuff and do it well. Horses were all well groomed and in great shape.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Berryphotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“great ride”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Went on the four hour ride with Justin and it was spectacular. He was capable, knowledgeable , and careful. The ride was not for the "faint of heart" but we climbed to nearly 10 K feet. The scenery was worth the trip. We went on 3 rides with other ranches and this was clearly the best.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bucephal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Great Ride and a Great Dinner!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I live in Jackson and frequently have family and guests visit. The Mill Iron Ranch is always at the top of the list for every visitor in all seasons. During the warm weather they offer the most scenic ride with well trained horses and knowledgable guides. Dinner after is the best! Chancy cooks the best steak you will ever have. The Wheeldon family takes great care of their guests. If you are there in the winter, the sleigh ride is wonderful followed by a great dinner. Fall is good for a hunting experience, Chancy and his son, Coby and wranglers will do their best to get you the opportunity to get a spectacular animal. It is a five star operation any time of the year!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great adventure”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Highly recommended and recommendable experience. We did the 2-hr ride which involves a 2000 ft elevation gain through rocky forested terrain, culminating at the top with a spectacular panoramic view of the Gros Ventre and Teton ranges and the Snake River below. Horses were well mannered but not tired and worn. Each was specifically selected to match the rider. Our trip leader (Doyle) was fantastic. Especially when we encountered the black bear sow that just didn't want to back off. No issues, but it made this memorable experience even more memorable!! One of, if not the best trail rides we've done.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mill Iron Ranch also viewed

 

Been to Mill Iron Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing