We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best ride around” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mill Iron Ranch

Mill Iron Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best ride around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

My mom and I love this place. We've ridden here every year for the past 3 years. The horses are treated well, the guides are super nice and real cowboys and girls, and the atmosphere brings out a really special feel. Also the view from the top of the ride is amazing! Try getting that from riding up snow king? I don't think so! Do it! You won't regret it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank see112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    22
    7
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sandpoint, Idaho
Level Contributor
294 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great place for a wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

The ambiance and food were great. Staff friendly, scenery excellent, nice bar. Terrible road, needs to be paved. When you are dressed for a wedding the dust and dirt of the road and parking lot were challenging.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank GTrooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous ride to the top of the world!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Though we were a group of inexperienced riders, Sadie made us feel quite comfortable as we climbed up 2000 ft on horseback to the top of a mountain looking down on Jackson WY with the Tetons in the distance. The views were fantastic and we had a wonderful time.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dgirardrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lustenau, Austria
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“nice ride”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

2 hours on the horse through vert wild forest, great views from the top of the mountains. Also very dusty if you were on the end of the line:-). It was nice walk with the horse but forget about anything faster than walk, not allowed and no terrain for it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Magdalena Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great guide, amazing horses and spectacular views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We came to the Mill Iron Ranch based on tripadvisor ratings and were not disappointed. It was easy to reserve the ride and we were treated well once we arrived. The ranch hands were very helpful getting us on the right horses and our guide was experienced and knowledgeable. He checked on us periodically to make sure everyone was comfortable was safe. We took the 2 1/2 hour ride and the elevation gain was around 2000 feet from the ranch up to the top of the mountain. The horses on our trip was some of the best we had ever ridden and seemed very well cared for. The others in our group agreed with this as well. At the top, the views were spectacular and our guide allowed plenty of time for photo opportunities. We spotted some deer on the steep ride back down. We will definitely do this again when we come back.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank PeteSienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mill Iron Ranch also viewed

 

Been to Mill Iron Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing