We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice ride”
Review of Mill Iron Ranch

Mill Iron Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lustenau, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“nice ride”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

2 hours on the horse through vert wild forest, great views from the top of the mountains. Also very dusty if you were on the end of the line:-). It was nice walk with the horse but forget about anything faster than walk, not allowed and no terrain for it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Magdalena Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    22
    7
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great guide, amazing horses and spectacular views”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We came to the Mill Iron Ranch based on tripadvisor ratings and were not disappointed. It was easy to reserve the ride and we were treated well once we arrived. The ranch hands were very helpful getting us on the right horses and our guide was experienced and knowledgeable. He checked on us periodically to make sure everyone was comfortable was safe. We took the 2 1/2 hour ride and the elevation gain was around 2000 feet from the ranch up to the top of the mountain. The horses on our trip was some of the best we had ever ridden and seemed very well cared for. The others in our group agreed with this as well. At the top, the views were spectacular and our guide allowed plenty of time for photo opportunities. We spotted some deer on the steep ride back down. We will definitely do this again when we come back.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank PeteSienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Genuine Article”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The family running the ranch (currently 5th generation, we're told) are friendly and very experienced at showing guests a great trail ride. Their facility was small and simple, but they know their business.

For example, they knew their horses would be most at ease when left to themselves to decide their order in line. And they knew tourists in sneakers with heavy treads can avoid getting their feet stuck, by not jamming their entire shoe through the stirrup. Fine with us.

We took the two-hour ride in a group of eight, after being advised that the longer rides leave most newbies sore. This included ascending to a wide-open ridge with a great, 360-degree view. Our guide pointed out how the horses are used to mountain trails and drag the tips of their hind hooves to make sure all four legs have a firm footing.

Afterward, our knees were indeed sore from keeping our feet in the stirrups. That didn't last long.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nick_Nicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okauchee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Worth the ride”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We took the 4 hr ride and saw many spectacular views. Our guide Justin was very informative and very helpful with assisting us with showing bear tracks or trails that required special attention.

The meal afterword was one of the best. The steak was fabulous, the setting unique. Could not have asked for a better time.

Everything about our visit was better than expected and worth every minute.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank DaveP502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Time!”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed our 2 hour morning ride. 2 hours was plenty of time for us. Coby was our guide and he was wonderful. We learned about the area, wildflowers, history, celebrity homes in the area etc etc.. The horses stayed right on course with little help. Coby would stop a few times to make sure we were comfortable and readjust stir-ups and saddles if needed. Wonderful views. After our experience Coby talked with my husband at length about hunting trips they offer and provided very valuable information. Would suggest a 2 hour ride to anyone looking for an incredible ride in the mountains.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank GreenhouseLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mill Iron Ranch also viewed

 

Been to Mill Iron Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing