We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as Advertized”

Grizzly Country Wildlife Adventures
Ranked #19 of 72 Tours in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Grizzly Country Wildlife Adventures offers world class guided tours through Yellowstone and Grand Teton National Park. Spend the day exploring Grand Teton National Park under the spectacular Teton Range looming overhead at 13,770 feet. Hear stories of fur trappers and mountain men that came into the valley to make a living and decided to lay down there hats in Jackson Hole and make a life in this sometimes harsh but beautiful climate. Make sure to keep a keen eye, there is nothing like being the first to spot one of the animals that reside in the Greater Yellowstone Eco System. Catching a black bear high up in a berry bush or spotting a Pronghorn, aka North Americas fastest land mammal, sprint through a meadow before your friends will definitely earn you some bragging rights on your trip! We will provide binoculars and your guide will set up a spotting scope so that you can see every little detail of these animals from a grizzly bear’s claws that can reach up to 4 inches long to the super soft velvet that cover the antlers of a moose’s paddles in the summer time. Or head up north into Yellowstone National Park and take in some 10,000 thermal features. You will see geysers that erupt 100 feet over your head and bacteria mats that are so colorful they rival fine art. Don’t worry about missing out on the animals listed above, they also call Yellowstone home and love to make an appearance on our tours. If you are lucky you could witness a bison taking a dust bath to keep away the bugs or watch a grizzly protect a fresh kill in the Hayden Valley. Americas first National Park covers an impressive 2,221,766 acres, so we want to make sure that you are well fed and comfortable throughout the 10-12 hour tour. Before you leave Jackson we will fuel up at a local coffee shop or market and just when the first tummy grumbles your guide will make a beautiful gourmet picnic lunch in one of the many pretty spots up in the park. We searched far and wide for a super comfortable ride to take our VIPS on tour and we landed in Ohio, home to the Explorer Van. Each of our Vans have leather captains chairs and raised roofs leaving you feeling like a million bucks at the end of a full day of touring. Yellowstone is like no place on earth making it a must see on your trip to Jackson Hole, Wyoming.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not as Advertized”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

I see the first review was deleted because I was out of town and could not verify, well Im not in the habit of giving negitive reviews and not pleased it was deleted so it is again. Simply put, our tour was not as advertized. From the website we expected to see much more and in fact we didnt really see anything special that we would not have seen or done on our own. It was basically a drive thru the park that we could have done in our own car. Jonathan said he had worked for another tour company and we wonder what was it he offered that they did not. I would recommend going it your self, or doing more research before booking this tour.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1GrizzlyCountry, Owner at Grizzly Country Wildlife Adventures, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Hello John,
This is our second response to you, our first offered you a refund and our sincerest apologies that you were not satisfied with your tour. We have yet to hear from you and we have no record of a John going on a tour with Jonathan in August. Regardless, we are a small company and customer satisfaction is our highest concern. Every business stands to gain from both positive and negative feedback, it is the only way to improve the product. However when you leave a negative review on Tripadvisor without voicing your complaints with us nothing productive can be achieved. We cannot offer you a refund nor can we grow from the experience or make positive changes to correct what was wrong on your trip in order to improve our services for other guests. It is unfortunate that the tour was not what you were expecting. I am not sure how you booked your tour but we are always available to discuss the details of our trips and we never promote our wildlife excursions as anything other than road based tours. Again I apologize you were so dissatisfied. It would benefit both parties if you could send a quick email describing your experience and we can hopefully both benefit from this experience.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Hunt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    3
    1
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
palos verdes estates,ca
1 review
“A fantistic way to see the beautiful wildlife”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Besides from being knowledgeable and an extremely nice person, our wildlife adventure was wonderful...much more than we expected....I would recommend this tour to everyone. It is the only way to see the magnificent area of Jackson and the Tetons....BEAUTIFUL...and thank you Johnathan,,,Chuck and Bobbie White from Palos Verdes, California.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank chuck w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
1 review
“Grand Tetons”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

We spent several days in Jackson and booked the evening tour of Grand Teton Park. Our guide Kris was right on time to pick us up and off we want on our adventure. We saw everything we wanted and Kris was so great to stop whenever we wanted or when we thought we had spotted another of nature's wonders. Lots of false spots for sure.
We saw bald eagles and osprey fishing for dinner, moose, deer, prong horns, beaver, elk and had a close up adventure with hundreds of buffalo.
The greatest thing was seeing a fine young man, Kris, who was so interested and enthralled with mother nature and everything she has to offer us. He never forgot our place within nature's abundance and what we mean to the Eco-system. Great job Kris!!!
We recommend this adventure to everyone and will absolutely do it again.
Thank you Kris and Grizzly Country Wildlife Adventures.
Frank and Lei Testa
Fort Worth, Texas

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The only way to see the wildlife!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

They take care of everything! We could have never found the right spots plus all the information on the area was priceless
Chris was wonderful!

Helpful?
Thank Teresamitbusch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best way to see Yellowstone!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

This group made touring easy after hours of travel to get to Jackson The last thing I wanted to do was get back in the car and try and navigate Yellowstone. Thankfully, Jeff to the rescue! He picked us up in his Denali - leather seats and decked out. Just the way I like to ride around. Our 10 hour tour turned into 12 hours but you'd never have known. Jeff knew EVERYTHING from flowers to trees, to rocks and the history of the park. He was delightful as was Mike who took us the next day on a 4 hour Teton adventure. He also knew where to go and took us off the beaten path. This adventure group is the outfit to travel with when you are in Jackson, WY!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Krisbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grizzly Country Wildlife Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Grizzly Country Wildlife Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing