We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AWSOME!!! Trip of a lifetime. Plus some tips for you.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Togwotee Snowmobile Adventures

Togwotee Snowmobile Adventures
Ranked #13 of 72 Tours in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We offer snowmobile and snowcoach trips of a lifetime to Yellowstone National Park as well as snowmobile trips in the National Forests. Come explore Wyoming's famous Continental Divide for some of the best and most picturesque riding in the lower 48; soak in Granite Hot Springs after you play in some powder; enjoy lunch at luxurious Brooks Lake Lodge after a day of snowmobiling; or check out the abundant wildlife on our Gros Ventre Trip! We have something for everyone. We love what we do and it shows!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Lockers / storage
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“AWSOME!!! Trip of a lifetime. Plus some tips for you.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Made the last snowmobile trip of the year at Yellowstone with our guide Ray. What an adventure!
We started our day with being picked up at our Hotel by Ray. We then went to a good buffet(included) breakfast. We knew we were in for a long day so we loaded up on French Toast, Waffles, Eggs, and Bacon.
We then went to the Togwotee Store were we geared up in snowmobile suites, boots, gloves. Signed our waivers and headed out for the hour plus ride to Yellowstone.
Once there Ray gave us a thorough explanation of the operation and safety of the snowmobiles and the do's and don'ts while on the trail to Old Faithful.
We followed the paved road that was now covered in many feet of snow, making a few stops to see some great views and take many pictures. Each stop Ray gave us great insight in the history and geology of the area.
Once at Old Faithful we watched the Geyser go off on time and had good lunch.
We then made our way over to some great thermal features for some awesome pictures that included some Bison keeping warm. We continued on back to our starting point making a few more stops along the way for more great pictures, and the return trip to our hotel :- (.
I cant not say enough about our Guide RAY! He was very entertaining, knowledgeable, and really loves his job and it shows. He even did a good job entertaining my 11 year old son Hunter with the some ambush snowball fights. Job Well Done Sir!
If you are planning a trip like this I suggest the following:
1. Dress in warm layers, you can shed some off if need be.
2. Bring a thermal ski neck to cover your neck and cheeks, the air will curl under your face shield and you will feel it.
3. polarizing sunglasses are a must! the sun and snow combination are very harsh on your vision.
4. Eat well before the trip, and bring a energy bar for your pocket this is a ALL DAY TRIP.
5. Moisture wicking or wool socks NO COTTON. especially if your a rider and not driver.
6. Do not attempt if you are not in somewhat decent physical shape.This is a 120 mile ride and the Sleds are very easy to operate, but do require some physical ability that will be required for about 8 hours. Yes you will be ready for a hearty meal when it's over
7. Bring a decent camera on a neck strap, you will take pictures of things you will want to remember for the rest of your life.
8. Enjoy the ride.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank tim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    14
    7
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
“Daniel made the snowmobile trip the most fun thing we did in Jackson!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Snowmobiling with Daniel was the most fun experience of our trip to Jackson. He was so personable, fun ,great communicator. He was very good at explaining all of the safety tips. We will go again next year and tell everybody we know to request Daniel. It makes the experience so much better when you have a great guide...jan

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Rough ride”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

We took this firm for a one day trip into Yellowstone to see Old Faithful in the winter. They use a "snowcoach" which is actually just a van with the tires removed and a triangle of track in place of them. Unfortunately, it is NOT a very comfortable ride. It does go through snow easily but is like you would expect riding on a triangle would be...rough! Since this was a one day trip it was a lot of riding in the van. One guest was actually ill from the ride. The driver was very nice and helpful but the van is not equipped well with no steps for easy access and other limitations. While at Old Faithful we had an opportunity to see the other vehicles used by tours to the area and they were much nicer and an easier ride! This is a great, long day trip but not with this vehicle!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank reviewerabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Great Snowmobiling Day to Grand Canyon of Yellowstone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Lauren at Togwotee took the time on email in advnce to answer my questions. I was a first timer. So this helped me decisde to use Togwotee.
It would be a long day with 120 miles RT on the snowmobile, so important to go on a good weather day. They allowed us to postpone our date once a blizzard was forecast for our reserved day.
Daniel picked us up promptly at our hotel early am and was very welcoming at that early hr. He was a terrific guide to have for the entire day-- very professional ! He took time to explain how to drive and safety for the day. Then he gave us good information about the sites we stopped at and answered any addtnl questions of the group.
I read reveiws re breakfast not being good-- we found it delicious and plentiful at Elaven restaurant where we ate after gearing up and before the drive north to Flagg Ranc to the snowmobiles.
We wore our usual ski clothes but liked their gloves and boots better, and put on their clothes over ours.
Since it was sunny much of the day (yeah!), we removed our own jackets underneath and put them in the small daypack we brought along. Lunch was also very delicious and plenty to carry us through the afternoon. I did bring my own botle of water which I did drink throughout the day when stopping for sites. So I would highly recomend Togwotee- all went perfectly well , as hoped ofr on an expensive outing inot Yellowstone. It was a thrill and beautiful.
Thank you again to Daniel for making the day!.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank dajwaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradfordwoods, PA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

My husband and I never were on a snowmobile before. Our guides (John, Mookey, Matt and Murf) made us feel comfortable in all situations. The tours are well thought out with a variety of terrains. We went on the following trails: Gros Ventre (in white out conditions), Greys River and Granite Springs. Each was a new exciting experience that will not be forgotten. Our trip to Yellowstone with the snow coach and Mike as a guide was filled with beautiful scenery, geographic and historic information and laughter. All in all it was an adventure that we are glad we took.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Togwotee Snowmobile Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Togwotee Snowmobile Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing