We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You would NEVER know it's a chain!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Backcountry Delicatessen - CLOSED

Backcountry Delicatessen
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
922 reviews
393 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 709 helpful votes
“You would NEVER know it's a chain!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

We needed to find a place for sandwiches for a long day on the road the next day. I basically picked this place off a Jackson Hole tourist map, and I made the right choice. Small and somewhat inconspicuous, it has a somewhat eclectic menu board. We both picked the "Pilgrim" - Turkey, cranberry sauce, sweet potato and stuffing with mayo, on a baguette. The proprietor assured us that it would be fine until the next day of refrigerated. He was right. They were delicious! Other menu selections looked equally appetizing. Again, we found a tasty, cost-effective alternative in JH (or Denver, Fort Collins, or Steamboat Springs!!!
This will definitely be a stop on all future visits!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HowlnBubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    11
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Terrific & Creative Take Out Deli”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Expansive, creative menu of cleverly named sandwich with various meats, yummy veggies, gourmet cheeses made fresh while you wait. Menu highlights those sandwiches which are delicious toasted. Also they offer a design your own option which includes wraps. Daily sandwich specials over and above the regular menu. Today's sandwich was hot turkey, artichoke and cheese with other tasty condiments served hot. Although not a vegetarian, I am partial to their hot sandwiches with eggplant, artichoke, roasted tomatoes and field greens with balsamic vinegar. Good salads and breakfast sandwiches to round out the selection. This is our choice to take on hikes, picnics or day trips. Interior is small with 3-4 seats at a counter so basically it's to-go. We just walk in and order but seems many people call in orders to come pick up.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OneHappyFamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Best sandwiches in town & prices, The Godfather is a must try!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Local weekly or bi-weekly patron, the little italy breafast sandwich will change your life,very wide choice of meats and cheeses, build your own sandwich menu has a ridiculous amount of choices, very fair prices and portions are generous. My favorite is the the european part of the menu, the Godfather is by far my favorite, the Grand, and the Dolomite are equal compaions.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JacksonChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bribie Island, Australia
Level Contributor
565 reviews
257 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Great soup, sandwiches & buffet breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed the buffet breakfast which was well priced, fresh & plentiful. Couldn't understand why more people weren't taking advantage of what we thought was a good deal. It's a terrific Deli with excellent staff. Highly recommend.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaggieB75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect Lunch for Our Picnic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We picked up box lunches for our picnic in GTNP. Excellent food. We ordered on line and the lunches were ready when they said they'd be.

I was using an iPad - theire mobile site worked great but the original site is hard to use with a mobile device.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank B0ilermaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Backcountry Delicatessen also viewed

 
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing