We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Evening In The West”

Bar-T-5 Covered Wagon Cookout
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Evening In The West”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

My wife and daughter (15) and I attended the Covered Wagon Cookout and found it to be a nice "taste" of the West. The thing I really appreciated, and that I feel is evident throughout the evening, is the deep comittment the staff makes to providing an experience of the Old West. The evening starts off with a group gathering and a couple of old west stories are told before getting on-board an authentic covered wagon being pulled by magnificent beautiful work horses..You enjoy a great ride up the canyon (and back in time) as you head to the covered ampitheatre which serves as your dinner place and show place.The food is absolutely fantastic prepared in Dutch Ovens- This is completely western american comfort food- and it is extremely comforting! The show gives you a great feel of the old west through singing/dancing/stories and audience particiaption. Again, a fantastic staff keeps the evening authentic to the old west and they place their heart and soul in it. This is a must do when in the Jackson Hole area- an evening in the west well spent and deeply enjoyable!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank BlueSkyChaser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    95
    20
    13
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fun & memorable!”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

What a fun evening!! You start out at the evening with a little talk at the HQ, and then board your horse drawn, covered wagon and wagon train out to the dinner/show site.

The buffet dinner includes: salad w/ranch dressing, BBQ chicken, roast beef in gravy, corn on the cob, bar-t-5 baked bean, & dinner rolls. Beverages include lemonade, water, hot chocolate & coffee. Covered dutch ovens of blondies are brought to the tables. Dinner is by no means gourmet. Considering the number of people they serve at a site with no kitchen, its better than one would expect. However the beans are yummy & my daughter who doesn’t care for beans got seconds.

After dinner, they pass around blankets and serve hot chocolate & coffee. Once everyone is settled in, the show begins.

This is family friendly, corny, slap your knee, goofy joke entertainment with a western band thrown in. They get everyone involved from the kids to adult members of the audience. It was great!

The staff is awesome and pulls double/triple duty. Most of the staff are seasonal college students. We found out a little bit about them during our wagon ride. They play different parts from driving the wagons, to food service or prep, clean up and entertainment. A very memorable evening!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank kcstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A perfect evening”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I loved this covered wagon cookout. The entire experience was a blast. Great food, great ride, great scenery. Friendly workers too. Any age would love this adventure. Horses, fun stories, and cowboy hot coffee. Loved it! Make sure to bring bug spray!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Cassidy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
164 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“We could hardly wait for it to end!”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This is the single thing we would have not wasted our money, but mostly a blown up night of our time, doing. The wagon ride provides lots of promise, and was fun getting up in the canyon. But when you get to the site, the food buffet is just awful. There is boiled meat, white dinner rolls, runny baked beans, and overcooked chicken…nothing for my 8 year old son to eat. Just because there are trying to reenact the pioneer days, we didn’t expect to eat like one! It’s a dry affair, and I would have paid $10 for a beer if someone offered. Then the “entertainment” starts, with some decent singing that goes on too long. But the worst is the character playing an early pioneer who cracks a lot of crass and marginal sexist jokes that just are terrible. Worse, there is no way out. It’s at least a mile plus up into the canyon, through a residential area, and your cars are left behind…so you are stuck. Finally getting back on the wagons, we sat there for 10 minutes while the actors dressed as Indians worked the crowd, letting tourists take pictures, of women dressed as warrior Indians in one case…it felt like they were working to build up tips, and it just drug on. It was a dreadful wait for nothing, and we could hardly wait to get back to our car!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidMarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

the people involed in this attraction went above and beyond to make you welcome ,the ride in the wagons, the show while you were in the wagons, and the actual show at the end and the food was to die for all in all excellent

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank terrucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar-T-5 Covered Wagon Cookout also viewed

 

Been to Bar-T-5 Covered Wagon Cookout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing