We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seemed like a good idea.”

Bar-T-5 Covered Wagon Cookout
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
350 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Seemed like a good idea.”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Sounded good, chuckwagon drive, barbecue dinner and western entertainment. But none of it was good. food could have been a lot better, entertainment was fairly hopeless, singers couldn't sing, and you couldn' even have an alcoholic drink and ignore it. Couldn't wait for it all to be over. A few days later we went to a similar event in Bryce canyon , which showed how it could be done.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank george g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    95
    20
    12
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Spring, TX
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So .... So”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Chicken was moist and delicious .... the rest of the food was just so...so. It was a little cheesey ..... I guess it's something to do once and experience it. The show was so ... so.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SHUM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
331 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great fun, good value and an amazing evening!”
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommend this if you are in Jackson. Wagon rides are memorable, food was very good, entertainment is fun and family friendly.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank E B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
124 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening entertainment”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The thing that sets this apart is the ride in the covered wagon to the cookout site. That is why we chose Bar T 5 over other chuckwagon dinners in the area. Everyone is loaded up in covered wagons drawn by work horses (ours were Belgians) for the two mile ride. The drivers are very knowledgeable about the area, the horses, almost anything you wanted to ask and visited with everyone during the ride. You have preassigned wagons and tables which helped things move faster and kept everything well organized. The owners were very friendly and helpful and entertaining. The food was delicious and plentiful and the entertainment was great. I highly recommend the Bar T 5 covered wagon cookout.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank obitwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
1,186 reviews
649 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,235 helpful votes
“We enjoyed it!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Very well organised and set up. I really enjoyed it. The food was nice- nothing fancy but nice all the same (BBQ chicken, beef, salad, speciality beans, corn, 'blondie' brownies for desert, lemonade, water, tea, coffee, hot chocolate). It's really the entertainment and experience that is the selling point. I felt it was well worth what we paid. The singers and musicians were fantastic. The whole 'show' they put on is entertaining. They choose people to take part in different parts just so you are aware! The wagon ride was good fun and nice to have done. I would definitely recommend doing this, it's good fun!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank champkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar-T-5 Covered Wagon Cookout also viewed

 

Been to Bar-T-5 Covered Wagon Cookout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing