We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Day!”

Barker-Ewing Whitewater
Ranked #1 of 75 Tours in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: It's the Coolest Thing You'll Do All Summer! We've set the standard for Whitewater Rafting and Scenic Float Trips in Jackson Hole, Wyoming since 1963. We deliver The Trip of a Lifetime! Our mission is simple: uncompromising safety and unsurpassed personal service. Leave rush hour behind as our seasoned and knowledgeable staff brings their best in offering you a refreshing pace in roomy boats. Whether whitewater rafting or scenic floating, we invite you to join us on the Snake River this summer!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We loved everything about Barker-Ewing. We took the float/breakfast/white water rafting trip and would really recommend it! During the float portion we got a chance to spot wildlife, including many American Bald Eagles. The breakfast was delicious and a great segway to white water rafting. It was fun, wet, and exhilerating. Being with my daughter I researched their inmpeccable safety record -that was a must. Worth every penny, and affordable.

1  Thank AlexP496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barker-Ewing, Owner at Barker-Ewing Whitewater, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Hi AlexP496-
Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your Breakfast Combo trip in July. It's so nice to hear when a river experience resonates with one of our guests. We truly take pride in the trips we are privileged to share and hold your safety in highest regard. It sounds like the trip, from whitewater rafting to spotting eagles to eating a hot breakfast, hit the spot for you and your daughter! Thanks again for sharing.
Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,984)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,723 - 1,727 of 1,984 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I did the overnight rafting trip late in July. It was my first rafting experience but it won't be my last, although it will be hard to top the one we took with Barker-Ewing. Without a doubt, the most fun I've had in a long time. The float was relaxing, the food for dinner and breakfast was delicious and the rafting in the morning was exhilarating. The highlight of the trip was our guide Tristan who did an awesome job all the way around. Loved the stories and s'mores shared around the campfire.

1  Thank Sally K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barker-Ewing, Owner at Barker-Ewing Whitewater, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thanks for your kudos, Sally K!
It was Tristan's 4th season with us, and hopefully he'll be back for a 5th! You had the experience we hope for everyone! I hope you'll come back again and again. Thank you for sharing, Sally.
Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We had the most wonderful trip on the river! It was a beautiful, sunny day in July, and it was just about perfect from start to finish. Our guide, Andrew, was terrific - knowledgeable, skilled, and friendly. He really was great at spotting eagles and talking about the areas we passed through. Lunch was delicious, and the spot was lovely. A little shaded nook just off the river with picnic tables and a sanitizing station. Listening to the rapids was a very pleasant way to end the day. This is a company that was recommended to us while out at dinner, and it is the only company we'll use on return visits to Jackson. Absolutely fabulous!

Thank Carrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barker-Ewing, Owner at Barker-Ewing Whitewater, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Hi Carrie S!
Andrew's guided for us for 4 years, and I hope he returns again this summer. Thanks for the great feedback! We are so lucky to partner with the Snake River Ranch and have our very own private riverside camp to serve lunch and dinner. We strive to go above and beyond, and little touches like the sanitation station and wildflower table arrangements are just a couple! I'm glad you had a wonderful time and hope you'll head west to Jackson Hole again one day. Thanks Carrie!
Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Well-organized. We were bused to the loading dock and had extremely knowledgeable and fun guides who provided us with a lot of fun facts about the river, the wildlife, the sights and people we came across along the way, and it was obvious our safety was a priority with them the entire time. We took the 75-minute ride, and everyone in our party in both rafts enjoyed the experience.

Thank Tyson P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We took a trip out West, starting in Jackson Hole and working our way up through Yellowstone and Glacier to do some hiking. I wanted to have a fun adventure for our first day. This was the only full day we stayed in Jackson Hole

We arrived late the day before our raft trip only to find a note at our hotel that Barker Ewing was cancelling as they did not have enough of a head count to make it worth their while

When they took our reservation, and our money, there was NO fine print stating they had the right to cancel.

My conclusion is that this outfit cannot be trusted to honor your reservation. If you go with them, it is "buyer beware"

We were quite disappointed as we did not have adequate time to come up with a "plan B"

- Disgusted traveler

Thank KayakCrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barker-Ewing, Owner at Barker-Ewing Whitewater, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

KayakCrazy-
Please know that we never want to cancel a reservation for anyone but, unfortunately, we do have guidelines regarding safety in numbers and the need for a minimum number of paddlers on our whitewater trips. In early and late season, bookings tend to be slower and our reservation staff go to great lengths to try and book new reservations only where other guests are already reserved. During the booking process, we always try to get an email address, a contact cell phone number and lodging the night before the river trip in the event we need to reach a guest. I'm glad we at least had your hotel, as it appears it was the only way we could attempt to contact you the day before. If we had a contact number, we could have informed you earlier perhaps. It's hard for me to know if you booked directly with us or through a hotel concierge, but either way, I'm very sorry that this was your experience, as it was never our intention. I hope you were able to book a whitewater trip with another company and enjoy your day in Jackson Hole after all.
Heather Ewing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barker-Ewing Whitewater also viewed

 

Been to Barker-Ewing Whitewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing