We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The Zen of Winter” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amangani

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amangani
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Zen of Winter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed at Amangani for ten days last winter, so this review is long overdue. I am getting ready to book another two week stay this winter (the ski package) at the end of January 2014. While the resort is very expensive, the architecture and aesthetic experience are unparalleled. The staff are excellent, and the service very personalized. Moreover, I felt like I was at home rather than at a hotel. The food is outstanding, and the Amangani ski lounge and staff at Jackson Hole Mountain Resort are an added bonus. I found the spa treatments, particularly the massages after long days of skiing, to be outstanding. Most of all, I enjoyed the calm and peaceful atmosphere at Amangani and the chance to escape the hustle and bustle of the typical ski resort village at the end of the day. I can't wait to return this winter!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    39
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
67
134
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
151 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had an excellent stay at Amangani and we found the service to be better than at Amangiri. On the otherhand the design of the hotel is not as spectacular as Amangiri. Food was good and I would for sure stay here again if I would return to Jackson hole.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claes71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

First ill say If coming to ski, this isn't the spot, as on mountain would be my preference. But for any other season, and to be close to the fabulous town of jackson, look no further. It is VERY pricey. It's not for everyone. But if you have the money or it is a special occasion, prepare to be treated like family. Not overdone or robotic like the ritz Carlton employee mantra "it's our pleasure." They will remember your name, your likes and dislikes, anticipate your needs and then exceed them. Every tour they booked was perfection. The food menu is limited but delicious, and they will make you anything off menu too. I mean anything. The rooms take full advantage of the view...even when sitting on the toilet :) The rooms are understated and plenty big for us and our 5 yr old. If you have we'll behaved children or even loud ones at the pool, they are very welcomed - even giving slippers and a robe for his size. My son loved the carved bear trinket as a gift too.

The hotels sweeping views, including herd of cows, are truly breathtaking. I've never experienced service like this in my life and we've been to many 5 star hotels. The town of jackson is amazing - a real slice of the old west. It's not easy to get to, but the opportunity for adventure and pampering awaits. Go and enjoy every minute of it!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thereadbaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

I am just completing a five night stay at the Amangani with my wife and three young children. Indeed, this is (hands down) the finest hotel we have ever stayed at.

The service is A++++.
The facilities are A ++++.
The setting is A++++.
The staff is A++++.

The only downside is cost - expensive, but worth every penny.

A peaceful, relaxing place to spend some vacation time.

Worthy of repeat visits, year after year.

Room Tip: All are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
91 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

An outstanding resort that is beautifully decorated and that is staffed with personnel who were highly attentive and who provided a very personalized and impeccable service - we were totally besotted. Understated decor reflected the location of the hotel viz. copious amounts of dark wood and stone/slate motifs throughout the property - the hotel fits in with its surroundings - we love it. Layout of our room was designed to maximize the clients' view of the spectacular mountain range and valley below, including from the bathtub and shower stall. Housekeeping comes by multiple times a day to tidy the room and re-stock room with supplies. Concierge are around 24/7 to help with just about everything - from offering suggestions for activities to opening up the shop after hours (for aspirin) - who does that! Took advantage of guided tours by hotel staff of local wildlife and Yellowstone park. Guides were absolutely fantastic - they were very informed, engaging and entertaining. Coordination of activities was also impeccable - viz arranging early breakfasts and lunch picnics; they were in the car already when we got down to the lobby. The pool was perfect for lap swimming and the gym was sufficiently sized and equipped for the number of guests. Pool staff were incredibly attentive - checking in periodically for any needs. The spa facility, while unassuming, offered great massages - which offsets the lack of a waiting area. Singular restaurant offered a limited but adequate menu. Needless to say, we have become a fan of the Aman chain - cannot wait to visit the other properties throughout the world.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Seng100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, PA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Situated on the edge of a bluff 7000' above sea level, every suite at Amangani offers a stunning view of the Tetons and the valley between Jackson and Wilson, WY. The facility is done in an understated but beautiful western motif that is perfect for the area. Natural materials (stone, wood and tile) abound throughout and provide the appropriate complement for the relaxed atmosphere of Amangani. Even the staff seemed to speak in hushed tones as they went out of their way to assure that our every need was met. We stayed for four nights and would have stayed longer had the facilty not been sold out.

Stewart, the general manager, and his cohort Yuko greeted us each morning as we headed down to breakfast. Both are skilled conversationalists and invariably asked if there was anything they could do to make our stay more pleasant. The restaurant was as expected, serving a varied and delicious if somewhat limited menu. We took most of our meals outside on the veranda overlooking the fabulous scenery.

At check-in we were given a tour of the facility by a staff member before being shown to our room. Once there a bellman brought a complementary bottle of wine as a welcome gift. The suites are of generous size for two and have a large balcony which provides a sweeping view of the valley and mountains. Our suite was impeccably clean and beautifully furnished. The view from the shower area needs to be seen to be appreciated.

The activities that can be arranged by the Amangani staff are worth looking into. My wife and I took a scenic float trip on the Snake river as well as an evening wildlife tour with a private guide. I spent a morning with a professional photographer who provided great tips on how to improve my photography. He also took me to scenic areas that a tourist would be hard pressed to find. During the time I was touring, my wife had a massage at the Amangani spa which she enjoyed immensely.

I can say without reservation that Amangani had become our favorite hotel in North America. We will be back.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank B Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Have been going for a few ski seasons, and think its nice that it isn't right on the piste. Ski resorts are often chaotic with ski equipment and skiers coming and going, and this does not occur here, peace and tranquility prevail. Also feel that all the equipment often causes a lot of Nicks and scratches making everything look terrible. Not here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hnya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
6.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Jackson Hole
1.8 mi away
The Wort Hotel
The Wort Hotel
#11 of 41 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hotel Terra Jackson Hole, A Noble House Resort
6.4 mi away
Teton Mountain Lodge & Spa- A Noble House Resort
6.4 mi away
Snake River Lodge and Spa
Snake River Lodge and Spa
#4 of 7 in Teton Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amangani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amangani

Property: Amangani
Address: 1535 N East Butte Rd, Jackson, WY 83001-8727
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Jackson
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jackson
#4 Luxury Hotel in Jackson
#5 Spa Hotel in Jackson
#10 Family Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amangani 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amangani (peaceful home) clings to the crest of East Gros Ventre Butte, some 2,135 metres above sea level, and affords magnificent views of the Grand Tetons and Snake River Valley. The resort evokes the atmosphere of the American West, from its redwood panelling to its blazing logfires. Amangani is an all-season resort. The winter highlight is skiing, while in spring, summer and fall the surrounding wilderness areas of Grand Teton and Yellowstone National Parks are amongst the many attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Amangani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amangani Hotel Jackson
Amangani Resort Jackson
Amangani Jackson Hole, WY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing