We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Lodge!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buckrail Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jackson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buckrail Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Ashburn,VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome Lodge!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2008

We stayed 2 nights at Buckrail and absolutely loved it. A fantastic location with lovely views.Right in the ehart of jackson- walking distance to a lot of fabulous restaurants.
Family owned and run, its a well maintained propert.The rooms were spacious, bathrooms were large and spotless.
The log feel was so cozy.
They recommeded good restaurants and things to do.They also own Solitude float trips - unfotunately the trips were sold out.
We loved it and would love to go back.

  • Liked — Cozy log cabins
  • Disliked — Na
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sanganee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    71
    11
    0
    0
See reviews for
76
112
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, pa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2008

We were heading to Jackson and then on to Yellowstone on a family vacation. Booked a hotel based on internet reviews in Yellowstone first and asked those folks if they knew anywhere in Jackson. The owner of that hotel said that they personally knew the folks who owned the Buckrail in Jackson and we should try there. It turned out to be a good choice for us.

The people who greeted us were very nice. We were exhausted after flying from PA. The owner told us to "rest well"...very nice thought. The log cabin rooms are set up in a row with adequate parking. The photos of the rooms you see are accurate. There is no pool; they do have a hot tub which we did not use. The bedding was clean and not shabby. The towel service was more than enough. There was a hair dryer, shampoo, lotion, and shower cap (does anyone use those?).

The airconditioning worked well and was ample. The room was adequate size with 2 queen beds for me, my husband, and two teens 17 & 15. The bathroom was a good size and fixtures were recently updated and very clean. They had wireless internet, which is important for us (we're small business owners).

My only comment is that there is no exhaust fan in the bathroom. The ceilings are high, so that helps. The walls are finished logs. I noticed some mildew action way up high near the shower, but the whole shower was very clean and there was no smell whatsoever.

Our room was made up in a timely manner every day and was always immaculate.

If you're looking for exercise rooms and mints on your pillow, go somewhere else (and in Jackson you will pay dearly for it). The Buckrail Lodge is a great place if you're looking for clean, friendly, basic accommodations, which are fairly priced.

  • Liked — Clean & fairly priced
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Treehowz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2008

We spent two nights at the Buckrail Lodge in June 2008. I booked it based on reviews from TripAdvisor and I was not disappointed. It's located at the southern end of town, which is great because it's away from the traffic and crowds around Town Square-yet it's still close enough to walk. It's very quiet & peaceful and you have a view of the top of Snow King Mountain from the back window. Check-in/out was very quick & friendly-they even let us check-in several hours early. I think we paid $115 per night. The inside kind of reminded me of a modern day version of Laura Ingall's cabin. It was very charming with a western theme and all the furniture made out of wood. It was also extremely clean. Two queen beds, 2 large padded chairs, writing desk w/chair, small fridge, hairdryer, nice-size bathroom. If you have kids, right across the street is Amaze'N which offers a giant maze and gem mining. It took my 9-year-old 18 minutes to complete the maze; my 7-year-old gave up after about 25 minutes. If you can do it in 10 minutes or less you win a prize.

  • Liked — Quiet location, Price
  • Disliked — Low-flow shower
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QueenBee9801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton landing
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2008

We stayed at the Buckrail for 4 days in early June and can't say enough about the property. We loved everything about it. The rooms and bathrooms had lots of room and were always spotless. The grounds were very clean and had beautiful flowers. I loved the location being where it was on a quiet back street. You could either take a nice walk to town or we never had trouble finding a parking spot in town. The owners went above and beyond with anything you needed and were always very pleasant. If I ever get luckey enough to go to Jackson again I will for sure stay at the Buckrail.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2008

I can not say enough about the Buckrail Lodge and the wonderful place that it is. We have stayed at the Buckrail for 5 years now and this year will be our 6th. I hope she never sells the place and if she does, she calls us first so we can buy it. I dont understand the review where the guy said it was expensive, apparently he has not checked around on other places to stay in town. The location is ideal, within walking distance to uptown (5 blocks) where it is very hard to find a parking spot. It is very quiet at night, away from the uptown crowd and traffic. The owner is very attentive to every need and has the neatest property complete with flowers and lounging area in her garden area. She always has time for her customers. The rooms are always clean and very modern with pine furniture and updated amenities. I have yet to find a bug or a cobweb let alone a dust ball in the corner of the bathroom. I count my lucky stars that I found her place when we first started to look for places to stay in Jackson Hole. Truly a bargain in every way and a place that you will return to again and again.

  • Liked — Cheap place to stay considering it is Jackson Hole
  • Disliked — Not a thing!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MountainLover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2008

This place doesn't look anything like the photo on the website (there are some houses behind it and the property is a lot smaller now) but it is a great value for the money. The pillows are thin and the walls are thinner, but the owner, Janet, is nice and helpful and will lend you glasses and an opener for the wine and help you cool down the hot tub if necessary.

If you book #12, which has one queen bed, beware of the washing machine in the utility room next door. It shakes the doors and walls when it operates!

You can easily walk to restaurants and stores in the town. It is in a great location.

  • Liked — Location, price, and friendly owner
  • Disliked — Rooms were not thoroughly cleaned
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank tyropower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
87 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2007

We were only able to stay for one night as this small property was booked for our second night in Jackson......we hated to move.
With the exception of the prior reviewer (overpriced?) all of the other trip advisor reviews describe this property exactly as we found it:
Small, 12 room, motel style, log cabin exterior and interior, immaculately clean with surprisingly nice amenities, a friendly helpful on site owner, and close to town (a 5 minute walk). I can only surmise that the negative reviewer is mixing up this property with someplace else. It was very inexpensive for Jackson, it is literally 5-6 blocks from the center of town and the property never implied that the room included breakfast. So read that review with skepticism.......
We moved to a large, highly rated Best Western for our second night and really missed Buckrail.
If you go there, do not expect a 5 star resort property or a reliable chain; it is local, charming and simple: perfect for experiencing the west!

  • Liked — log cabin decor and immaculate room.
  • Stayed September 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bcqajbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
1.2 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
0.5 mi away
Elk Country Inn
Elk Country Inn
#8 of 41 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rustic Inn Creekside Resort and Spa at Jackson Hole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Huff House Inn and Cabins
0.6 mi away
The Lexington at Jackson Hole Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Ranch Inn
Ranch Inn
#17 of 41 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckrail Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckrail Lodge

Property: Buckrail Lodge
Address: 110 E Karns Ave, Jackson, WY 83001-8531
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Buckrail Hotel Jackson
Buckrail Lodge Jackson Hole, WY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing