We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The Excellent Buckrail Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buckrail Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jackson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buckrail Lodge
Save
You added Buckrail Lodge to your Saves list
110 E Karns Ave, Jackson, WY 83001   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Excellent Buckrail Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Looking for a great place to rest and relax after hiking the Tetons? Look no further! The Buckrail Lodge is the place to stay! The staff is VERY accommodating and has lots of insight on fun things to do and see while you stay in Jackson. There is an open area for picnicking, or getting to chat with neighbors and trade stories. You park directly outside your room, which is great incase it rains!

The bathroom was a nice size, nice water pressure from the shower, and always had clean towels. The vaulted ceilings are awesome, and make the room feel really massive. The decor of the rooms is Very Original to the Buckrail and has a great Western setting, with pine furniture, deer on the lampshades, an awesome desk, and the log-cabin style walls.

We enjoyed meeting Moxie! She was a darling doggy! Janet the owner was very friendly, and there is a hot tub for any guests to use. We will stay here again. Book very far in advance! Buckrail lodge is well known, and is only open for certain times during the year.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    66
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
72
105
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carson City, NV
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This place is not for the week end warriors or partyers. My husband and I just stayed here and the room was spacious, beds were very comfortable. Bathroom clean and a good size. They have a beautiful area with picnic tables and trees to read under or just relax outdoors. The neighbors were quiet and respectful. It is walking distance to Snow King mountain with the Alpine Slide and the climbing wall. No extras like a pool or fitness room. Our room had cathedral ceiling so it felt very open and large.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryC5412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driggs, Idaho
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed at the Buckrail to take advantage of Robert Walter’s 20th Congress, a free jazz concert at Snow King one block away. We had debated staying at Snow King or the Buckrail. I’m glad we chose the later.

First of all, ironically, this is the closest hotel to Snow King Mountain, not the Snow King Hotel! Secondly, the hotel is quiet, and the landscaping, especially during our hot arid summers, is impeccable and refreshing to see. There are numerous chairs/tables sitting out on the well manicured lawn, shaded by tall mature trees. Many different types of birds fly about and every room has a lovely hanging flower basket in front(which gets watered from an automatic drip system I noticed). The rooms are spacious, clean and the log walls between each unit really created an extra special quiet area versus your typical motel drywall. Finally, Jan the owner is a lovely woman and its nice to see an owner so highly involved in her property. You can tell she cares.

It really is a special place and different than any other place in jackson due to its unique location and style. When people mention that it is far from town, really? Its less than a half mile walk to town square, on flat roads, through a pleasant residential neighborhood. Most people that live in Jackson hike/walk or bike 5x that amount everyday.

She doesn't have online reservations, but if they don't answer, just leave a message and you'll receive a prompt return call during business hours.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueBirdDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reidsville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The outside of the Lodge was pleasing, the grounds well groomed and parking was convenient. The rooms have a high ceiling and include air conditioning. The staff was friendly and efficient. The back of the room faces a fence and a street, but it was still quiet.

Room Tip: It is a little bit off the beaten path, but was convenient to down town and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

When you go to Jackson - stay here! Away from the busy down town, yet mere blocks from it, this place was the perfect quiet spot to rest after exploring the area. All the woodwork is beautiful as are the wonderful flowers all around the place. Our very large room had two very comfortable queen beds, a desk, sitting area and a large ceiling fan. The bathroom was huge, and well appointed. You park right in front of your room, and can sit on the small "deck" area in front of your room as well. There is a large yard in front of the units that have plenty of different places to sit, and the first night we were there people were taking advantage of the great weather and playing cards at one of the tables. A nice experience and a good value in the midst of the high prices in Jackson.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humble, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was our first trip to Jackson Wyoming and we really enjoyed our stay at Buckrail Lodge. The location of the Lodge at the bottom of the mountain made for a really nice view. The room was cozy and clean. Compared to other lodging rates, we thought Buckrail was a good deal. Janet, the owner. was extremely helpful and made our stay a very pleasant one. We would
definately stay there again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 19zardoz69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here for one night. The rooms are cute, very clean, and comfortable. We liked relaxing out on the lawn star gazing. One note - the a/c is the type that shuts off after it's reached the temperature. No big deal for most. As a light sleeper who is used to sleeping with some form of white noise this did not translate into a good night's sleep. Other than that it was great!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diswish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
1.2 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
0.5 mi away
Elk Country Inn
Elk Country Inn
#11 of 42 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 stars 619 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parkway Inn
Parkway Inn
#5 of 42 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 stars 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rustic Inn Creekside Resort and Spa at Jackson Hole
0.4 mi away
Huff House Inn and Cabins
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 49'er
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckrail Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckrail Lodge

Property: Buckrail Lodge
Address: 110 E Karns Ave, Jackson, WY 83001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Buckrail Hotel Jackson
Buckrail Lodge Jackson Hole, WY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing