We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ranch, great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Goosewing Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jackson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Goosewing Ranch
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great ranch, great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed three nights at Goosewing Ranch and it was great. We loved the ranch activities like horseback riding and driving around with these off road vehicles. The staff was very friendly and made the stay and unforgettable memory.

The first thing I experienced there was the silence - no cars, no airplanes, just fresh air and an inbelievable blue sky over Wyoming's mountains.

The ranch is reachable over a pretty rough dirt road only, some 1 1/2h from Jackson. A bit scary of a drive for a normal car. But if you want to get away from it all, that's your place. Even though they have wifi - shut off you smartphone and enjoy the silence!

The owner is french and obviously does some advertising in Europe. So expect a variety of guests from US and Europe. We enjoyed it a lot actually to have inspiring discussions at the dinner table.

Even though it's a bit pricey it was worth it. Great experience!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    12
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
81
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Berwyn, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We had planned this trip for a long time during the only week when everyone from the many locations where we live could be together. We have loved vacations at ranches previously. With the age range, it was thought that an attempt to find a ranch on-line would be worthwhile. That is how Goosewing Ranch became the location for our vacation.
The ranch is perfectly beautiful with unusually romantic touches in the landscaping..... only one the influences of French hosts.** The cabins are attractive with authentic Western artifacts and most comfortable mattress and pillows. The food is fantastic as well as abundant. Chocolate chip cookies disappeared quickly into younger hands!
The wranglers are extraordinarily competent and charming as well as multitalented. They introduced us to our horses and reacquainted former riders and coached the newest. The horses were quite an interesting mixture of personalities but all experienced with the "dudes" on their backs. Trails are varied and always seem to have an unexpected view or variety of terrain or selection of trees, wildflowers and water.
Our family enjoyed every opportunity day and night from fishing in the pod to line dancing and from the porch to the river. Every member of the staff who introduced activities was kind and helpful. Every member of the staff is an outstanding individual with great respect for the guests and each other. This attitude creates a welcoming environment that pervades Goosewing.
The good fortune of being at Goosewing when Francois' family members were was another high point of the week. Since some of us do speak some French, the opportunity to do so was just one more delight.
Goosewing Ranch will be an enduringly, memorable experience forever.

Helpful?
Thank Balletdancerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband, brother and I stayed at the Goosewing for three days last week. We had a great time. The staff was accomodating and everyone was sweet. Paul was always a pleasure. Justin and Bre the rides were great we can't thank you enough! The horses are in great shape and so is the tack. We are novice riders and we very comfortable on the trail rides. The location is worth the drive and the views are nothing short of spectacular! The cabins are great, the food is good but the staff really makes the stay nothing short of amazing! No cell coverage so unplug and enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Che63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoVA
Level Contributor
133 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed at Goosewing Ranch for 3 days/nights in early August 2012.

Goosewing Ranch is approximately a 75-90 minute drive from the Jackson Hole airport. The latter half is over an unpaved/gravel road. We followed the directions from their website and found them to be accurate. It is remote - no cell coverage and extremely limited wi-fi.

Upon our arrival we checked in and received a brief orientation on meal times, ranch activities and sign-ups, and how to use the ATVs.

Our cabin was nice, though small and the bathrooms could really use a make-over. During the evenings we left the cabin windows open and took advantage of the cold night air. In the morning we turned on the gas heat stove for quick warmth, which was very nice. The cabins do warm up quickly.

The first afternoon we honed our archery skills with Will, the activities director (not on him). We then took a drive with the ATV. Before dinner Goosewing offers up hors d’oeurves which are very nice, though they charge extra for beer and wine. Dinner that evening consisted of a salad, chicken cordon bleu and long beans. Dessert was raspberry sorbet. I would have expected the chicken to be better yet it seemed to be a Costco style chicken breast (that was over cooked) with deli style ham and a packaged hollandaise sauce. Yuck.

Breakfast the next morning (and all mornings) was cooked to order…eggs, pancakes, bacon, sausage, fruit, yogurt, cereal, muffins, coffee cake, juice, coffee. Very nice and a great start to the day.

We signed up for a 2-3 hour horseback ride the next morning. One of the nice advantages of Goosewing is the horses are assigned to the same person for the entire stay. Additionally, they will tailor the ride to the skills of the riders. We took advantage as we wanted to go on a more adventurous ride and have the horses galloping instead of just walking. Laura (a recent college graduate) was our wrangler. Safety was definitely her top priority, followed closely by making sure we were having the type of ride we wanted. She was also very knowledgeable about the area and that made the ride very enjoyable.

That afternoon we went on a long ATV ride. Driving along the trails we were looking for signs of wildlife and animal bones. Will then taught us how to throw hatchets and knives which was very fun.

Dinner that evening was served by the river and consisted of food all cooked in a Dutch oven. The beef was actually very tough, the veggies were ok, the mac/cheese was very good as was the apple cobbler. One nice touch was Goosewing brought in a local cowboy musician to sing Western songs throughout dinner.

The next day we signed up for the breakfast horseback ride. We started with a quick breakfast by the tack room at 6AM, then we started our ride. It was probably in the mid-30sF at start time. Keep in mind this is August. We had to wear layers of clothes because we knew it would get warmer in the afternoon (80sF). The ride was very nice taking us through all types of terrain and culminated with a walk along high mountain cliffs with the Grand Tetons in the background. After a sandwich lunch we headed back to the ranch. Total ride time was about 7 hours but it was well worth the time and I highly recommend it. Unfortunately we did not see much wild life though this is apparently one of the best opportunities to do so. Laura and Katie were our wrangles and both were fantastic.

The afternoon activities included another ATV ride, taking the canoe out on the small pond, and shooting .22 rifles at targets.

Dinner that evening was salad, beef ribs, and mashed potatoes. The ribs were tough and fatty. Dessert was a capable NY style cheesecake. That last evening Will started a bon fire and everyone roasted marsh mellows. They ran out of chocolate so we couldn’t have smores.

The next morning we checked out and were on our way.

One dynamic we found nicely interesting was the international (French) influence. Francois, the friendly owner, is French and returns to France each year where he seems to recruit staff and drum up new visitors. Several of the ranch staff are French students and many of the other guests are French.

Overall we had a very enjoyable time; I went to be exhausted each evening. Our biggest disappointment was the dinner entrees - all the meats were actually very poor, a surprise particularly given the French influence (this is what kept me from giving Goosewing an Excellent rating). Amy, the GM was extremely friendly and provided us the best directions for getting to Yellowstone along with recommendations for stops along the way. I’ve already mentioned how helpful Will, Laura, and Katie were. All the food servers (cannot remember names) were extremely friendly, helpful, and efficient. If there is anything you need, just ask. There is also a nice heated pool on the property, but we were so busy with everything else we didn’t even use it.

Tips: remember sunscreen; drink lots of water

We recommend Goosewing for anyone looking for this type of experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoVAFamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy W, General Manager at Goosewing Ranch, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
"Great Time at Goosewing".... I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your vacation at Goosewing Ranch. Thank you for bring somethings to our attention. We strive to provide all of our guests with excellent service and amenities, including our dinners. We are always looking to improve the overall experience at the ranch, and will be working with local food providers and our head chef to improve the culinary experience that are guests expect. Thank you for spending your family vacation with us at Goosewing Ranch and helping us understand where we could make your great time at the ranch even better.
Thank you,
Amy Worster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Can't thank Goosewing enough for a superb 4 days of ranch life. The accomodation was fantastic, the food superb and the riding was second to none. The ranch were very flexible and catered superbly for the mixed riding abilities of our party. They also put on special rides just to ensure that we all got the most from our riding and were able to see all the beautiful countryside by riding out in different directions each day. They also catered really well for children with some great afternoon/evening activities.
Nothing was too much trouble and the whole experience exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilliard, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We cannot get beyond the WOW factor that GW ranch gave to us. Amy, the general manager, worked with us on getting married on the ranch. This was a first for GW and they were so helpful and accomodating. Francois and his staff were tremendous. The food was great. Horseback riding was phenomenal. So many memories were created for us that will never be forgotten. There are too many names to thank from the wranglers, our "best man" and "maid of honor", the chef who made us a wedding cake and our "photographers". All the staff at GW helped make this a perfect trip for us and a fairy tale wedding. They all will be part of our memories and we WILL be returning! THANK YOU ALL FOR THE MEMORIES!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

We looked at ranches all over Montana and Wyoming...we decided on the Goosewing-it seemed to have all the right balance of activities, riding, food, cabins etc. With 3 boys, no real riding experience but a wife that wanted to do more we needed a place that would cater to our different skill levels.

At the end of the week-we had done every activity we wanted to: target shooting, archery, hatchet throwing, rafting, Grand Tetons, fly fish, pool/sauna, massage, Ranger/Polaris adventures and most of all learn to ride horses well. At the end of the week, our 8 year old was trotting and loping with us on trails, smiling the whole time.

The Goosewing is remote...if you want that (no cell...slow/to no WI-FI) then this is a great spot. The owner is a very gracious host visiting with guest daily. The staff led by Amy is expectational. The entire team-wranglers and hospitality staff were a fine group of young people-engaged very well with our children and made the trip even more special with their various backgrounds and stories. After 2 weeks of being home, we still talk about each of them regulary.

We will go back...have to...just too much fun, disconnecting from the iphones/email/TV so we could connect as a family, surrounded by beatiful scenery, super ranch staff and other wonderful guest....best vacation ever.

Room Tip: 10 cabins-all great....all wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirk Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
0.4 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
1.0 mi away
Rustic Inn Creekside Resort and Spa at Jackson Hole
1.0 mi away
Huff House Inn and Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Elk Country Inn
Elk Country Inn
#10 of 42 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa
0.6 mi away
Parkway Inn
Parkway Inn
#6 of 42 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goosewing Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goosewing Ranch

Property: Goosewing Ranch
Address: 650 W Broadway Ave, P.O. Box 4084, Jackson, WY 83001-8643
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome To Our Jackson Hole, Wyoming Summer Vacation Guest Ranch!Here at Goosewing Ranch, we combine the lifestyle of ranching in the Wyoming wilderness with many of the modern refinements that make your visit with us especially enjoyable.At 7,400 feet, the valley is the host to some of North America’s most spectacular game: elk, moose, mountain sheep, antelope, bear, eagles, geese, cranes, and much more, not to mention fantastic scenery. The Gros Ventre River, home to native cutthroat trout, runs through the meadows of our historic ranch.Our Jackson Hole dude ranch offers comfortable lodging in eight private guest cabins and three larger 2-bedroom cabins for bigger families. Complimentary wireless internet is provided throughout the Ranch. With its large stone fireplace, the main lodge serves as a central gathering place for dining or relaxing. A loft with a pool table and television overlooks the main room. Fireplaces, wood-stoves, a hot tub and swimming pool add to the cozy atmosphere. A large selection of beer, wine, and liquor compliments an eclectic, seasonal menu.We invite you to come share this corner of North America’s wildest country just as it has been for over a hundred years – a working ranch reborn as an isolated retreat deep in the Gros Ventre River Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Goosewing Ranch Hotel Jackson
Goosewing Ranch Jackson Hole, WY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing