We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rusty Parrot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2007

Rusty Parrot is clean, has some charm, food was good ,the bed very comfortable; but I think the service is lacking. There was just an air of "there it is, get it yourself" when in the restaurant. If you had never been there, the obvious protocol was NOT obvious. No food room service. The servers were indifferent to assisting us each time we went to eat there. I felt as though no one was minding the store...or overseeing the quality of service. So it was nice but not that great as far as I am concerned.A bit of a disappointment after reading some of the reviews.Front desk gave us detailed information drawn on a map on how to go to a certain location of a wedding only to find out he was about 20 miles off and we almost missed the wedding due to his directions that he drew on the map.

Stayed: August 2007
3  Thank customer1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (619)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

571 - 577 of 619 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2007

This inn had such a high rating when I researched it, I guess I was expecting a bit more. The room was just fine but nothing fancy. A regular-sized hotel room with a small window, small bath.

The nicest part of this inn is a cozy living room area as well as a library area that are nice for curling up with a book, something I was not able to do with 3 young, active children! The inn serves lemonade, cookes, tea, etc all day in the living room which is a very nice touch. The breakfast is included in the room and was just lovely.

I felt like the atmosphere was very refined and serene and didn't feel comfortable with my little kids there. Not that anyone made me feel uncomfortable, I just felt like there were a lot of adults wanting to relax and I really didn't want to disturb them.

The concierges are helpful with booking activities, and the location across from Jackson Square was fantastic as there was a lovely art show going on at the time.

I understand that some of the rooms have fireplaces, so perhaps they are a bit more special, but considering we paid about $450 for a basic room, I'm not sure I'd be willing to pay more for a fireplace room!

The inn had a small jacuzzi on a deck outside the libary area which was nice. No gym. There is a spa that is supposed to be nice, but it looked just like one or two rooms to me. Didn't get a chance to try it.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pamom12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2007

We stayed at the Rusty Parrot for 5 nights this August. They greeted us by name the moment we stepped out of the taxi. The front desk help were all VERY friendly and helpful. They made all of dinner reservations for us and were knowledgeable about events and happenings in the area. They would have reserved guides and activities for us as well, but we chose to book privately with our own guide. Greg Falk of Upstream Angelers was the best, he took us fly fishing, to Grand Teton and to Yellowstone in his SUV. I can't imagine a better private guide for the area. The breakfasts were cooked to order and fabulous. Our room was very pleasant and clean. The bed and pillows were really comfortable and the linens were fresh and clean. The location was great, just a few blocks walk into the center of town. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: August 2007
Thank mossclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2007

The Rusty Parrot is definitely a luxury place to stay. The beds and bedding are out of a dream. The complimentary breakfast is one you could expect to pay $40+ for anywhere else. The afternoon cookies are served warm and fresh. The staff is highly trained and top notch. This was our third stay and each time we've treated ourselves to a massage at the Sage spa, which is heavenly. When we think of a trip out west, there is nowhere else we'd rather stay. If you are looking for a romantic place, this is it. If you are looking for the highest quality and comfort, this is it. You can easily walk through town from here. Yellowstone is just over an hour away. You might as well plan on a repeat stay if you are coming for the first time. It's the best in the west hands down!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ShowMeTheMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2007

We just returned from a 12 day vacation driving by motorcycle from Lead, SD to Jackson Hole, WY. We did the bike week and decided to further out on our adventure.

We did not have any reservations and came upon the Rusty Parrot. I had searched this resort at home from the beginning and hoped to have stayed here. Well, we sure did. It was very, very quaint and pretty. We did pay $385.00 for the night and had the lower lever room #106. The only thing my boyfriend did not like because of the price, is that we had a basement sort of room with a bumper of a car for our scenery! For me, I loved the bathroom and we both loved the jacuzzi on the deck while drinking martini's!!!

The breakfast was to die for!!! I would definitely go back next yr. Really, nice place and good service!!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ISLANDS722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2007

My family and I stayed overnight at the Rusty Parrot on the drive back from Yellowstone to the Salt Lake City airport. Travel + Leisure's World's Best Survey rated the property #1 in North America, so we obviously had high expectations. Our room was somewhat bland, but the high quality of the items and attention to detail showed. The outdoor hot tub with views of Jackson was a nice amenity. The lodge's complimentary breakfast was excellent, as well as the afternoon snacks in the lobby. The best aspect of the hotel was the service. The bellhop gave us a tour of the room and offered to get our ice; also, the staff addressed everyone by their first name. The concierge provided us with a map and directions back to Salt Lake City. Although a very well-run hotel, this certainly isn't the best in the country. Because of the $500 high season rate we paid, the experience was somewhat disappointing. Seeing that the Parrot was rated #1 in 2005, I was astonished that the lodge didn't even score in the Top 100 the following year.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank howard11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2007

My wife and I stayed for four nights, 5/1-5/4/07. It is a perfect place to be pampered. The rooms were great, and the whirpool in the room, not the bathroom, was great for us. Mary Jane at the front desk, was great host. She gave us ideas on what to do and see, especially the Wildlife Tour. That was really neat, we saw many animals.
The food was excellent. The breakfast are included in the price of the room. You go down at YOUR leisure!! We ate dinner twice, and loved it. I had the Elk, and it was better than beef, and really tender. My wife was really impressed, so we will be going back in the near future. I cannot say enough good things about this place, except to say I wish all the hotels would treat you as good as they do.
Thanks from Virginia, Greg & Sandy Woodworth

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gregory W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jackson
Hotel Jackson
#3 of 40 in Jackson
577 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rustic Inn Creekside Resort and Spa at Jackson Hole
8.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Jackson Hole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Teton Mountain Lodge & Spa - A Noble House Resort
1.0 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
7.9 mi away
Hotel Terra Jackson Hole, A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa

Address: 175 N Jackson St, P.O. Box 1657, Jackson, WY 83001-8521
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jackson
#1 Spa Hotel in Jackson
#3 Family Hotel in Jackson
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jackson
Price Range: $256 - $540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The standard of the lodge industry, it is located in downtown Jackson, a stroll from all the touristy, but feels almost like country living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rusty Parrot Hotel Jackson
Rusty Parrot Jackson
Rusty Parrot Lodge And Spa Jackson Hole, WY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing