We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff and Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed for 3 nights at the RPL&S in Jackson. We had a downstairs room (105) that was clean and well decorated. Very nice bathroom, towels, etc. The bed and linens are great. The most outstanding thing about this small hotel is the quality of the staff and service. We had drinks delivered to the upstairs deck and the library and also enjoyed breakfast each morning. My only complaints (which I have yet to share with management) were unreliable water temp in the shower and a thru-wall air-conditioning unit that made some horrific noises. If these issues were addressed, I would offer a higher rating. If I return to Jackson, I will probably stay elsewhere and save a little money. We spent very little timein the room anyway.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hunter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (597)
There are newer reviews for Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 597 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2012

Nothing but good memories of this small hotel that husband & I enjoyed for five romantic nights in February.
What we loved:
1. Daily breakfast- the best breakfast I've ever had. Never been so excited to eat at a hotel each morning. Seriously delicious!! Dinner at Wild Sage was very good too!
2.  All the Nice little touches like fresh baked goods, hot chocolate and cider set out each afternoon.  They delivered filtered water as part of room service, it was great not having to pay extra for water or drinking tap water when we came back exhausted from snow boarding!  Also, the staff brings firewood and lights fireplace in your room.
3. Very cozy and intimate feel.   Friendly Staff always called us by our name {mr and mrs}

What you should know:
1.  Pictures of hotel and location make it appear as if there is better view and closer to nature than in reality.  This wasn't a big deal for us since for this part of our vacation we were more interested in proximity to the city and not needing a car, but you should know the hotel sits directly on a street and the views are not picturesque.
2. During our stay, the hotel's complimentary shuttle to and from the mountain was only one time per day. We had to use the city shuttle or taxi a couple of times because the hours weren't convenient for us.
3.They do turn off Jacuzzi fairly early and it was quiet after the restaurant closed.  Upon returning to the hotel after a late night out, husband and I did feel as if we were sneaking into our parents home! :)
Would definitely recommend for couples looking for a romantic, intimate hotel with superb dining!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fritzandlacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

First, kudos to the staff -- they are so professional and gracious without feeling hotel corporate. The rooms, restaurant and common areas are very comfortable, clean and cozy (especially enjoyed the outside fire pits and seating on the porch outside). Food is delicious! I initially made reservations at another lodge, but due to poor reviews, I changed and made reservations at the Rusty Parrot -- so glad I did! I would highly recommend to my friends and would certainly stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheVAHoneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

The Rusty Parrot staff is great. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Location of the Lodge is convenient to shops and restaurants. After a day outside we were able to park the car at the Lodge and walk to dinner. We would stay at the Rusty Parrot again and have already recommended it to our friends.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WarmWxDreamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We (couple, early 30's, no kids) stayed here in the beginning of July. We stayed in a room with a jacuzzi, but unfortunately never used it (weather was too hot). Rooms are spacious, the hotel is very clean (housekeeping was very thorough), the beds are really comfortable, and the amenities are quite nice. No views to speak of though, but if you are just sleeping in the room, then who cares. They bring you little chocolates when they turn down the room (toffee some nights, truffles with nuts on other nights), which was a nice touch. They have filtered water and provide 2 glass bottles for you, but you have to request for the staff to fill it up and the cleaning staff takes them away each day whether they are full or not, which was a little odd, but whatever. In the afternoons, they have a plate of some cookies or sweets in the den (very yummy), along with lemon or cucumber flavored ice water. In the mornings, they have free coffee and a wide selection of teas in the restaurant. These small touches made our stay really enjoyable.

The hotel is a convenient distance from everything. It is walking distance from the town square, which is great if you have dinner plans (most of the good restaurants are in the town square) followed by Moo's ice cream (go! i am not an ice cream fan, but we visited this place several times during our trip. ice cream is not too sweet and fluffy. i don't know how else to describe the texture, but i loved it). The hotel is also about a 15 minute drive from Teton National Park, which was perfect if you want to do a lot of animal viewing and hiking, or other outdoorsy activities. The supermarket is about a 5 minute drive if you want to bring a picnic lunch on a hike, and has everything you need.

I tried out the spa - it was fine. Got a facial (the air is so dry here, so this helped keep my skin hydrated and feeling smooth during our trip) and a massage. Both were average, nothing special. We did not eat at the restaurant - it was quite pricey and i feel like we actually had better luck with the more casual places in Jackson (such as Cafe Genevieve and Snake River Brewing). The only thing that was a little strange was the service, particularly the front desk. The front desk usually had only 1 or 2 people there and they were always on the phone (with customers), so you'd stand there for 10 minutes with an easy question and no one would even look at you. Why not just staff one other person as a concierge? It was usually the bellboys that would try to help you out, but only if you were lucky enough to have one of them pass by. We once asked a woman at the front desk to refill our water bottles and she said they (the hotel) didn't do that and then by chance a bellboy came by, and said he would do it for us. Really weird. Not a big deal and it certainly did not ruin our stay, but it was worth noting. Other than that, the bellboys were helpful, friendly and very responsive. If you are looking for somewhere that is remote and in the middle of nature, this is not it, but it is convenient and all the little perks made our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jesslin114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

The Rusty Parrot has taken a page from my favorite spa, Rancho La Puerta. The aromatic scents, spa services,and even the cucumber water are simply divine. Gone is any corporate coldness and manufactured cookie cutter furniture. Delightful greeting and tour on arrival. It's difficult not to "parrot" the other reviews, in one word the Rusty Parrot heavenly!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happytravelers62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

The Rusty Parrot is unquestionably the best hotel in Jackson. The accommodations are welcoming, clean and luxurious without any pretension. Rooms have all the amenities one could want including down comforters, lots of pillows, chocolates left with evening turndown service, and plenty of storage space. Homemade cookies are available in the afternoon and coffee is served 24/7. The food in the Wild Sage restaurant is wonderful and we looked forward to a fabulous breakfast each day. But what puts this hotel ahead of the others is the staff. There is nothing the staff will not do to help you- from making reservations to setting up adventures and activities to recommending the best places to see and to eat to jumping the battery on a rental car. Lovely spa services are available as well. Location is convenient to town. Stay here if you can!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RT/DT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jackson
Hotel Jackson
#3 of 40 in Jackson
557 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rustic Inn Creekside Resort and Spa at Jackson Hole
8.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Jackson Hole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
7.9 mi away
Teton Mountain Lodge & Spa - A Noble House Resort
7.9 mi away
Hotel Terra Jackson Hole, A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa

Address: 175 N Jackson St, P.O. Box 1657, Jackson, WY 83001-8521
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Jackson
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jackson
#3 Family Hotel in Jackson
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jackson
Price Range: $257 - $541 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The standard of the lodge industry, it is located in downtown Jackson, a stroll from all the touristy, but feels almost like country living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rusty Parrot Hotel Jackson
Rusty Parrot Jackson
Rusty Parrot Lodge And Spa Jackson Hole, WY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing