We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For a first timer I thought it was good experience and I would do it again.”

Sands Whitewater and Scenic River Trips - Day Trips
Book In Advance
More Info
$63.00*
and up
13 Mile Scenic Float Trip
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Snake River Whitewater and Scenic Float Trips. Regardless if you're looking for a relaxing float or an exhilarating ride on rapids, we've got you covered. Join us for a day on the water where you can enjoy the breath taking scenery and have a day you won't soon forget.
1 review
“For a first timer I thought it was good experience and I would do it again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

The people were very friendly and our tour guide was very informative. The area was beautiful, a good location for a quant scenic tour. We took the scenic and rapid tour both were nice but I do favor the rapid ride because it was more exciting. Another great feature with rapid tours in this area is they have a photo provider, much like a rollercoaster would at an amusement park. Above all, my family and I really enjoyed our experience mostly because you really can't go wrong with a down to earth guide, beautiful weather and gorgeous landscapes.

Helpful?
Thank scareahgraves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    40
    6
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Well, that was fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had a great time on this outing. Everything was very professionally handled. Billy, our guide, had the classic river guide personality and we enjoyed talking to him as we headed down the river (the laughs were plentiful as well). If Billy's available, grab him for your trip. Always felt safe and secure...even one in our party who was perpetually nervous. Rapids were Class 1 and 2, which, compared to similar sized rapids back East, were pretty big. For our group, just the right amount of excitement!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NotMarcoPoloMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
173 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Professional, fun trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Everything I imagined it would be. We met at their business office and then was bused about 45 minutes away to the Snake River canyon area where you put into the river. Actual rafting time on river is about an hour and half, which makes the whole event about 3 hours time. We were in a raft with 8 people and had a blast - everybody paddled and everybody got wet. The rapids were great but not scary. Don't miss doing a whitewater rafting trip!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JCitytraveler701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth the effort and money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

very efficient time wise...did not take the whole 4-5 hours others predicted. Had a great guide, got plenty wet..still fun and not very scary at all (and I am a bit skittish)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank chelisek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
122 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Nice trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We had previously rafted the new river in west virginia so we had high expectations. We booked our trip through their office in downtown Jackson hole, but there were a few details we were not told. We opted for the scenic and raft trip. We understood it to be a couple hrs on the scenic trip, then eat lunch ,then continue on to the whitewater rafting. Upon our arrival, we were then told after the scenic trip we would ride a bus/van back to the main office, then proceed to board another van to take us to the whitewater trip. No big deal, but would have been better if explained prior. Scenic trip is a little long, when you are ready to move onto the rafting. Basic lunch, with bottled water, not iced down. When we arrived back to main office, we were instructed it would be about an hr before we left on the raft trip. We opted to grab an ice cream. The raft trip was nice, but do not expect class IV or V rapids. River was calm, but still beautiful. Our guide(Tom) did a great job, and we met a nice family from Massachusetts.

Helpful?
Thank tfc63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sands Whitewater and Scenic River Trips - Day Trips also viewed

 

Been to Sands Whitewater and Scenic River Trips - Day Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing