We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“learned so much!!!”

Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools is Jackson Hole's original and oldest wildlife safari specialists. Wildlife Expeditions is one program area of Teton Science Schools, a non-profit 501(c)(3) educational organization. We have a well-earned reputation of locating all kinds of wildlife in the Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem. We provide fascinating educational experiences in a fun and relaxed environment. Animals that may be observed during our expeditions include elk, moose, bison, pronghorn antelope, bighorn sheep, mule deer, wolves and bears. All trips are led by our staff biologists in custom safari-style vehicles. High quality optics and amenities are provided for all participants.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Our senior biologist, Paul Brown, picked us up at our hotel at 6am and greeted us with coffee, hot chocolate, and muffins! since we are a family of 6 we decided to pay a little extra to have a van to ourselves. Paul immediately brought us to a spot where we watched 2 young male grizzly bears. He told us all about these specific bears and his binoculars and scopes made them seem so close! among other places, he brought us to a beautiful pond off a long dirt road, where we watched a trumpeter swan swimming. It was fantastic being the only people there, obviously a place we would NEVER have found on our own. Paul was incredibly knowledgable. It was so great to be able to ask any question I thought of about anything I saw, and he knew the answer! He taught us so much about the wildlife, their habitats, and the landscape of GTNP. He even knew all about the trees/shrubs/ flowers that we saw, which really interested me. This was the absolute highlight of our week in Jackson Hole and worth every penny. I recommend doing this early in your stay because you will learn so much useful information about the parks and the wildlife. thanks Paul!

Thank NiskayunaJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Manager at Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you for the kind words regarding Paul. Paul has been a key member of the Teton Science Schools community for over 12 years. His guiding experiences are unmatched by others in the ecosystem. Paul has worked as a wolf researcher in Yellowstone and his insight into the day to day ecology of the region is exceptional. We are proud of Paul and his passion for educating others. Thank You - Jared Baecker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (798)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"sarah ernst"
in 35 reviews
"bison"
in 245 reviews
"paul brown"
in 18 reviews
"mule deer"
in 64 reviews
"non profit"
in 16 reviews
"old faithful"
in 56 reviews
"day trip"
in 48 reviews
"grand tetons"
in 53 reviews
"jackson hole"
in 66 reviews
"black beans"
in 53 reviews
"big horn sheep"
in 34 reviews
"trumpeter swans"
in 22 reviews
"sunrise tour"
in 17 reviews
"his enthusiasm"
in 14 reviews
"saw elk"
in 23 reviews
"spotting scope"
in 23 reviews
"geothermal features"
in 11 reviews
Filter

421 - 425 of 798 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

As a family of five, with a 14, 12 and 6 year old, we spent 12 hours touring Yellowstone with Mark Byall. We saw so many different features of Yellowstone Park the day just flew by, even for my six year old! We showed off all of the pictures we took and all three of our children were able to share specific facts Mark told us about Yellowstone to our family and friends. Much to our delight, Mark took us on our second tour of the vacation and we saw two wolf cubs at Grand Teton National Park! Our vacation together as a family would not have been nearly as memorable if it hadn't been for Mark, his enthusiasm for our family adventure and all of the cool facts he presented to us! Great Time!

Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Manager at Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you for the kind words about Mark and your expeditions. It is always a pleasure to be able to spend several days with our guests. Having the ability to customize the experience to the guests desires is paramount. We are thrilled you enjoyed your time with Mark. We hope to see you in the area again. Thank You - Jared Baecker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is definitely the way to see what Grand Teton & Yellowstone National Parks have to offer. Took the 12 hour all day expedition with Sean Beckett as our guide. Sean was very knowledgeable and able to point out many wildlife sightings that, if going alone, would have missed. Not even 15 minutes into the trip, saw a bull moose up close. Plenty of elk and bison were seen. Very fortunate that we actually saw a couple of wolves supposedly very unusual for this time of year and during mid-day. Sean timed our viewing of Old Faithful just right as we did not have to wait long at all for it to erupt. By far, this day was the best of the entire week's vacation. In addition to being very knowledgeable, Sean was very hospitable, enthusiastic, and friendly - a natural guide. I would strongly recommend seeing the parks via Wildlife Expeditions.

Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Manager at Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Wow, wolves at midday in summer, a treat for sure. Thank you for the kind words about Sean, his style and demeanor. Sean is a natural guide. We appreciate you choosing to travel with Wildlife Expeditions. Thank You - Jared Baecker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

After completing our morning expedition with biologist Mark Byall, my wife and I were so glad that we had chose to sign up for the experience. At this point of our vacation, we had already visited Teton and Yellowstone National Parks on our own and seen bison, elk and deer - however on our expedition with Mark, he was able to provide us with tons more fascinating information about the park's wildlife and ecology which made the experience so much more memorable. In addition to being extremely in-tune with nature, Mark is also an especially enjoyable and personable guide. He even brought tasty muffins, coffee and tea for breakfast for us. If you have an opportunity to request your guide, we highly recommend and give two-thumbs up to Mark!

1  Thank hornchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Manager at Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you for allowing Wildlife Expeditions to enhance your already successful vacation. Mark has the personality to make everybody laugh and enjoy. We are thrilled that his passion for wildlife and wild places came through. Thank You - Jared Baecker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Me, my wife and our 21 months old son had an amazing sunset wild life expedition tour last week on 24th July. Our guide was Dawson Smith. He was really knowledgeable of the area and the wild life eco system in the Grand Teton area.
We spotted a beaver, had a great view of a moose, then drove through the vast swathe of land for an up close view of the bisons followed by a bit distant view of Elks.
Beyond the spotting of the animals, it was great to get a perspective of the local area, history of the park and overall education of the big issues relating to nature in the area from Dawson.
He was really flexible to our needs and we thoroughly enjoyed the conversation while experiencing the tour.
Subhasis,
los Angeles, California

Thank Subhasis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Manager at Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience. Wildlife Expeditions aims to please. We were fortunate to be able adjust your expedition to accommodate your families needs. Dawson is an amazing person to facilitate your experience in Grand Teton. Dawson has spent many years studying and living in this landscape, his insight is keen. We appreciate your comments, thank you. - Jared Baecker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools also viewed

 

Been to Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing