We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific morning with a naturalist”

Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools is Jackson Hole's original and oldest wildlife safari specialists. Wildlife Expeditions is one program area of Teton Science Schools, a non-profit 501(c)(3) educational organization. We have a well-earned reputation of locating all kinds of wildlife in the Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem. We provide fascinating educational experiences in a fun and relaxed environment. Animals that may be observed during our expeditions include elk, moose, bison, pronghorn antelope, bighorn sheep, mule deer, wolves and bears. All trips are led by our staff biologists in custom safari-style vehicles. High quality optics and amenities are provided for all participants.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We spent a morning with a naturalist from the Teton Science School and it was a highlight of our trip to Jackson Hole.

We were staying at a small lodge, the Bentwood Inn, very close to the science school. Our guide arrived perfectly on time and picked us up at the doorstep. We set off for what was one of the best parts of our trip. We saw everything from coyotes to a bald eagle, moose and elk and a lot of background about migrations in the valley, especially the importance of the pronghorn migration.

It was a terrific addition to our visit to Jackson Hole.

Thank charlottew22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Manager at Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you for such positive feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed your day and that your time spent with Wildlife Expeditions was the highlight of your trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (756)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

455 - 459 of 756 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

Wildlife Expeditions organised a fabulous 5 day trip in Yellowstone Park and Grand Teton National Park, looking for wolves, as a special 60th Birthday expedition for my husband. Just we 2 and Sean, our fabulous guide, who was enthusiastic, attentive, knowledgeable, caring and full of wonderful ideas on how to make the trip even more special. He got us up early to ensure we had amazing sightings of wolves and the first grizzly bear of the season as well as all the other animals and birds. He took us to meet the wonderful Dan Hartman (naturalist)and his wife, Cindy, and made sure I had plenty of practise on the snow shoes until I managed a whole hike without falling over. We bathed in the thermal waters at Mammoth had a picnic with Bison grazing nearby and a wagon ride at the Elk refuge. All our accommodation was comfortable or luxurious and we ate at a variety of different restaurants all of which were very good. A truly outstanding and amazing experience. We are going back again next year at a different time.
Richard and Heather Stanley

Thank HeatherS588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Manager at Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

What an amazing way to spend your birthday! Sean Beckett is an outstanding naturalist and really knows how to customize an experience. We look forward to your future expedition with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Loved the tour, the guide was always anxious to share any information about the park or wildlife we would like to know and show more wildlife. Definetily recommended!

Thank Vitor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Manager at Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for traveling so far to enjoy the wonders of Grand Teton National Park. I am glad that the interpretation you received suited your style and curiosity level. We hope to share more information and entertainment on your next visit to Yellowstone Country. -Jared Baecker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great thing to do while in Jackson. We were tired of skiing and just wanted to see some wildlife and relax. We saw some elk and some buffalo and stayed warm. Our tour guide was very nice. Expect them to talk a lot! The only downside was the price. We thought it was a little expensive, but during the winter there are not a lot of activities to choose from.

Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Manager at Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for taking time to review your experience with Wildlife Expeditions. We are glad you enjoyed your experience. Honestly, I am glad the guide give you constant interpretation. We believe that your tour should be fun and informative. Wildlife Expeditions price point is on the higher end of activities in Jackson Hole but very competitive with companies offering similar services. Once we have paid all of our overhead costs all surplus revenues go directly towards supporting educational programs for children. Wildlife Expeditions is the only non-profit tour operator in Jackson Hole. Thanks again for spending your day relaxing with Wildlife Expeditions. -Jared Baecker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We took the half day sunrise tour with Teton Science Schools and had a wonderful time. We were picked up at our lodge and driven around Grand Teton National Park as well as the Elk refuge and other parts of the valley. Besides wildlife, we got to visit the Teton Science school campus and have hot chocolate and snacks while riding in a comfortable van. We saw Moose, Elk, Bison, Mule Deer, Bald Eagles, Coyotes, Big Horn Sheep and other birds of prey. Sarah would set up scopes when the animals were far away but much of the time they were fairly close. A great day to spend seeing wildlife. This is our second trip with Teton Science Schools. Well worth the money!

1  Thank KBD87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Manager at Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you for your praise of our program. Sarah Ernst is an incredible asset to Wildlife Expedition and enjoys taking care of her guests. So glad to hear that your second experience with Teton Science Schools was such a success. We look forward to having you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools also viewed

 

Been to Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing