We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!”

Mad River Boat Trips
Book In Advance
More Info
$125.00*
and up
Cast Iron Riverside Dinner and Super Smalls Boats Whitewater
More Info
$72.00*
and up
Snake River Scenic Float with Teton Views
More Info
$79.00*
and up
Classic 8-Mile Snake River Whitewater
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Is it the guide? Is it the river? Is it the experience? Here at Mad River, we believe it is all three. Whether you choose a relaxing scenic float or an exhilarating whitewater adventure, you'll find our entire crew prides themselves in providing the very best, most exciting river trip you can take in Jackson Hole. Come, take a trip with Mad River. We guarantee it will be one you remember for a lifetime.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We took the scenic float trip 8/24/12 with Dan as our guide. Dan was great, very personable, easy to talk to, had good explanations for our many questions and we had some good laughs along the way. The trip was beautiful, well organized and throroughly enjoyable. We were very happy we chose Mad River!

Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MADRIVERJACKSONHOLE, Manager at Mad River Boat Trips, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dan wants to thank you for your kind words and is happy to hear that you had a great time on the Snake River with him. Taking a scenic float is a great way to see the abundant wildlife and gorgeous landscape Jackson Hole offers. We appreciate you taking the time to share your trip with us and others. Thank you for choosing Mad River and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,063)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

964 - 968 of 1,065 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

I have had the pleasure of going on 4 Mad River trips and have enjoyed every single one of them! The staff is professional and welcoming. The guides were engaging and safety conscious. Even the novice rafter in our most recent group was at ease and said that rafting was her favorite part of her adventure in Jackson!
Our point of contact was Paige and she did a great job of accommodating our needs.
It was alot of fun and I highly recommend rafting with Mad River!

Thank VivianRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MADRIVERJACKSONHOLE, Manager at Mad River Boat Trips, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Our crew at Mad River are grateful to have the opportunity to take you rafting for a 4th time! It is always nice to hear when people have had a memorable experience while visiting Jackson Hole. Everyone wants to thank you for your kind words and we are looking forward to seeing you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We're so glad we chose Mad River. Their guides were very experienced, their equipment was clean and new and we really enjoyed the stop for lunch. I liked that they offered booties and wetsuits for rental, but provided water resistant jackets at no extra cost. They also offered digital cameras to rent, which was so great, since we could just use our own SD card. The river was less challenging than I expected (I previously rafted the Chatooga) but the experience with Mad River was very good.

1  Thank Vanessa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MADRIVERJACKSONHOLE, Manager at Mad River Boat Trips, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

It was a pleasure having the opportunity to take you down the Snake River while visiting Jackson Hole. All of our staff are thrilled you had a great time with us at Mad River! Our guides value what they do and love to hear when people have a blast on the river with them. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and please travel safely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

a local suggested we use this company for our rafting trip, and we are glad we did. We dropped by the office on the main road into town, signed up for the eight mile whitewater, and within the hour were on a bus headed to the launch point.
The trip was invigorating, and the guide, I believe his name was Nate, was friendly, funny and very knowledgeable about Jackson. He was more than happy to answer any and all questions. He put everyone at ease.
There were children aboard, and they really seemed to have a good time, so It is an experience that appeals to all ages. The nature views were incredible, We even got to a see a bald eagle soaring from tree to tree across the river. All in all, a memorable, and incredible experience.

Thank billemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MADRIVERJACKSONHOLE, Manager at Mad River Boat Trips, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. Everyone here at Mad River is thrilled that you found the trip "invigorating" with our very friendly and knowledgeable guide Nate. He wants to thank you for your compliments and is glad that everyone on the raft had a fun and memorable experience! All of us appreciate you and can not wait to see you again on the next rafting trip! Travel safely home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Not cheap and not 3.5-4 hours as advertised, more like 1.5 hours net rafting, the rest is form signing and bus ride to and from the river. The photos are way overpriced but of course we bought them. GREAT FUN!!!

2  Thank West_U_2005_2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MADRIVERJACKSONHOLE, Manager at Mad River Boat Trips, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to review Mad River Boat Trips in Jackson Hole, Wyoming. All of the guides and staff here are so glad to hear that you and the family had a fun time on the Snake River with us while visiting the beautiful area. Thank you for choosing us for your rafting outfitter and we hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mad River Boat Trips also viewed

 

Been to Mad River Boat Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing