We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good bagels, avoid the "refrigerated" items.”

Pearl Street Bagels
Ranked #28 of 146 Restaurants in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
hjf46
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good bagels, avoid the "refrigerated" items.”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stopped here for a quick breakfast as we headed into the park. We purchased a bag of bagels, a container of honey walnut cream cheese, milk, and yogurt, all to-go. The bagels were amazing, chewy and moist. We bought several different flavors of bagels for our large family and they were all fantastic. The cream cheese was also delicious. Unfortunately, we discovered that the milk and yogurt from the case were completely warm. It was only a few minutes after purchasing, so I don't think the problem was on our side. They were so warm that I did not feel comfortable eating them. I would have returned them, but we had already loaded our whole family into the car and were driving out of town, so I didn't want to take the time to go back and return them. Oh well. At least the bagels were good!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hjf46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather G, Owner at Pearl Street Bagels, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
We're so happy that you and your family enjoyed your bagels and cream cheese. We were very concerned to hear that you felt the refrigerated items were warm, however, and looked into it right away. While the reach-in cooler is in the correct food-safe temperature range throughout, items toward the front tend to feel a little warmer due to the frequent opening of those sliding doors. We have been keeping an eye on it and adjusted it to be as cold as possible for the front items without freezing those toward the back. Thank you for bringing this very important issue to our attention. Food safety is of the utmost concern for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    100
    33
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cute, locally owned shop, fresh bagels - YUM!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Ate breakfast here in July 2013 after staying the night at the Antler Inn. This is a super cute, locally owned bagel shop. I had a bagel with cream cheese, but they also have breakfast sandwiches. The staff was very friendly and the bagel was excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda_I0wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather G, Owner at Pearl Street Bagels, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thanks so much for coming in to see us while you were staying in the area. We're so glad you enjoyed your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“See Yelp review.”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Review by Elizabeth G at yelp.com. Great bagels, but need to be toasted---no toaster available, so says the tattoed woman behind the bar, "They're fresh, we don't toast."

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank E G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather G, Owner at Pearl Street Bagels, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thanks for your opinion. I read your Yelp review as well. People tend to be passionately divided on the great "to toast or not to toast" debate - kind of like Democrats and Republicans on a lot of issues. Never the two shall meet. Since we've taken a stand on the side we believe in since opening our door 23 years ago, we will obviously continue to back the no toasting policy. I would like to stand up for our employees, too. We have an incredibly friendly and dedicated staff (yes, many of them have tattoos, so it is difficult to say who exactly helped you.) that works hard to ensure every customer through the door has a good experience. If you were in during one of the many times there is a line out the door, you can understand why they also try to get people what they want as quickly as possible in order to minimize everyone's wait time. I'm sorry that being told twice where your tea would arrive came off as rude to you but am happy to hear you would come in and see us again (or at least send your husband in with the order...)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Why won't you toast my bagel?”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Cute place...nice people and I wanted to like it so much but they refused to toast my bagel. They said, "we don't do that." Perhaps true bagel aficionados don't believe in toasting bagels but that's the way I like it and as the customer, shouldn't I have the option.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling_Teenagers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather G, Owner at Pearl Street Bagels, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thanks for coming in. Glad you liked most of the things about our shop. As far as the toasting goes, I'm sorry if you felt you weren't able to get exactly what you want. We understand that some people like their bagels toasted. However, it has been our policy from the day we opened our doors 23 years ago that we don't toast (and in fact, have no toaster on site). It is a difficult thing for the baristas to have to tell people that they can't get them toasted, and they try to do it in the friendliest way possible. A good many of our local customers who are familiar with the policy and do wanted a toasted bagel will take them home and toast them there. Otherwise, the bagels come out of the oven fresh and hot regularly throughout the day. Combined with your favorite topping, we think that's pretty hard to beat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fast but not fastfood”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Jackson Hole in the lunch hour is very crowdy, and certainly if difficult to find a good place to eat. A japanese food give us the complain, but luckily we found the nice place, with an excellent bakery but not just pastry they offer also good burguer and nice salad, even a very good salmon. So if you visit for a short time Jackson Hole go there, and Will find an excelent place for a beer, for a fast dishes and good bakery

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank berry1961_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather G, Owner at Pearl Street Bagels, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We're glad you found us and were happy with the food and service. Just to clarify for others who may be visiting: we don't actually serve beer or burgers, but do have a wide variety of sandwiches, salads, and drinks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pearl Street Bagels also viewed

 
Jackson, Jackson Hole
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 

Been to Pearl Street Bagels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing