We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely dining in Jackson”
Review of Wild Sage

Wild Sage
Reserve with OpenTable
Wild Sage is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 144 Restaurants in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Gill
Transit: START Bus public transit stops 2 blocks from hotel/restaurant.
Mountain Home, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely dining in Jackson”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The menu was ambitious, but the chef came through. The quality of the food and the service were exceptional! Nice, quiet ambiance amid the frantic touristy pace that is Jackson in late summer.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Youngblood2871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    30
    25
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The food is good, but otherwise tired”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is my 2nd visit to Wild Sage and it confirms my memories of 3 years ago. The food is good -- better than most of what Jackson has to offer -- but certainly not on par with the great restaurants of the vacation towns in the US. The prices reflect excellence, which isn't delivered. My starter was a tomato and blue cheese salad with a wonderful mint dressing; it was a really nice riff on a caprese. My main was the special of the day: opakapaka over broccolini with opah cheek, served with jasmine rice. It was way way way too salty. The presentation was nice and simple on both dishes, which is a needed contrast with the room, which is capital W Western in theme. (You can buy a turquoise necklace on your way into the dining room.)

The wine list is solid, with old and new world choices.

Service is okay; the room is a little tight and my seat was next to the bussing station, so I had a good look at the water pitcher and the coffee urns. A nicer way to say that would be that I had a kitchen view...

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoesToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“How do they do this in the middle of nowhere?”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I went here with my family who can be quite picky when it comes to fine dining. Needless to say we were not disappointed. The grilled rabbit, lamb sausage aamuse bouche & the heirloom tomato salad were all on par with high end restaurants in any big city. The truffle oil bread was delicious & I normally hate truffle anything. The weakest points, unfortunately were the entrees. The buffalo ribeye, while very good was a little over-salted & the pheasant saltimbocca had some dry areas and wasn't a traditional saltimbocca-the cuts of pheasant should've been smaller and had stuffing in each. Overall, the experience was definitely worth coming back for.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whatitdothug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We chanced to wander into this outstanding restaurant based on an Internet recommendation. It far surpassed our expectations.

The hotel in which it is located, and the physical facility, is very well executed mountain architecture and furniture, in full accord with an upscale view of Jackson Hole. The restaurant itself is a smallish, cozy room giving visual access to the kitchen/food prep area.

The menu focused on steak and game, in keeping with Jackson Hole attitudes. We selected a ribeye of bison and a beef tenderloin. Both were excellently cooked and served. Wine pairings were excellent. Desserts were surprisingly tasty. A banana creme brûlée was unusual and tasty. But a huckleberry mousse was a surprising and excellent mixture of many tastes with an outstanding result.

Service was excellent throughout.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TexasTraveler42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer Island, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Only 4-star restaurant in town”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Amazing and creative chef! Our group tried salt water and local fish, lamb and beef. All were superb. They have an extensive wine selection.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Sage also viewed

 
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 

Been to Wild Sage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing