We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Jackson Hole Must”

National Elk Refuge
Book In Advance
More Info
$145.00*
and up
Half-Day Wildlife Safari From Jackson Hole
Ranked #3 of 80 things to do in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A wildlife refuge located north of Jackson, WY that provides winter habitat for Jackson's elk herd. Seasonal hours of operation are listed on the web site for the Visitor Center, Historic Miller House, and Winter Sleigh Ride program.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
1,033 reviews
578 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 423 helpful votes
“A Jackson Hole Must”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

You have to stop here if you drive in or out of Jackson Hole. You might not see Elk if you go in the summer since they all move up north for the season but, the visitor center is well with taking the time to visit. The staff is very friendly and informative and you might get some great information to help you plan your trip to the park. There is also a museum, short film to watch and a gift shop.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    832
    256
    86
    15
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
flushing, ny
Level Contributor
272 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Wrong time of year for elk - July”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

The brochure says there are thousands of Elk here in season; unfortunately, July isn't season & since they have free range, they're all in Yellowstone now. Would love to come back in the fall & winter though. Expansive grounds & nice bike/walking track for viewing.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jm g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
310 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
“Great, informative & friendly visitor center”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Great one-stop visitor center for a refuge with spectacular habitats for wildlife spotting. We have only visited twice, both timed after the elk moved north, but we still managed to check off some of the "hope to see" animals on our list. Well worth the time and drive.

Tip: Drive out to and beyond the Miller House for more wildlife viewing opportunities.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris_K_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC
Level Contributor
224 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Elk? We didn't see any”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Disappointed we didn't see any elk. In fact, the only animals we did see were a couple of pronghorns. There were several wildflowers in bloom across the open land. I expected the road to loop around back to the entrance, but we just reached several dead ends and had to backtrack to exit the way we came in. While the road is not paved, it is relatively smooth and suitable for a sedan.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ruup4adventure2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A must place to visit when in Jackson Hole!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

This is a combo museum, refuge and park assistance. Small museum with viewing was staffed by very nice and helpful staff. We learned about much more than the elk that reside there. The museum features a short movie about the animals and season of Yellowstone. They also have a gift shop, half of which is a resource center to pick up materials or get advice from staff on everything from shopping, hiking, dining or even weddings int he park or surrounding area.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Elk Refuge also viewed

Grand Teton National Park, WY
 
Jackson, Jackson Hole
Grand Teton National Park, WY
 

Been to National Elk Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing