We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty drive, gotta go that way to Yellowstone! No Elk for us1(”

National Elk Refuge
Book In Advance
More Info
$145.00*
and up
Half-Day Wildlife Safari From Jackson Hole
Ranked #3 of 80 things to do in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A wildlife refuge located north of Jackson, WY that provides winter habitat for Jackson's elk herd. Seasonal hours of operation are listed on the web site for the Visitor Center, Historic Miller House, and Winter Sleigh Ride program.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pretty drive, gotta go that way to Yellowstone! No Elk for us1(”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Beautiful drive, but who knows where the elk were. Didn't see any there, thank goodness we ran into some in Yellowstone or we would have been sad!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dottie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    853
    261
    89
    15
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Elk refuge”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Nice scenery. Elk herds do not enter the refuge until snow on the mountains forces them down for food. Would suggest a visit during the Winter. Note....roads are gravel and very rough in places

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Whitetrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Where's the elk?”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We went to the a Elk Refuge in hopes of seeing at least one elk but didn't. There was a lone bison hanging out and warning of a grizzly bear sighting a few weeks before our arrival which was very exciting. Although the road was pretty rough and bumpy, the trees were turning beautiful fall colors.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peggy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Wildlife Experience”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We have visited the National Elk Reserve several times in the last five years. Our last trip was during Hunting Season. It was interesting to watch the migrating herds avoiding the hunters. They seem to know the Teton National Park boundaries and also travel after sundown when hunting is forbidden. The main road gets jammed at night as they cross over to enter the reserve.

Our favorite time of the year is December and January when it is cold and there are several inches of snow on the ground. At this time, for a small fee, you can enjoy a sleigh ride into the reserve to get a close up look at thousands of handsome bull elks showing off their racks. Even though the rut is over the young males still like to spar in preparation for their challenges ahead. This makes for some great photos.

While visiting the reserve, you might want to treat yourself to a bite to eat across the road at the National Museum of Wildlife Art. Their "Rising Sage Cafe" has wonder views of the National Elk Refuge as well as excellent menu. This has been our longtime favorite for lunch.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nature up close”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We visited the Elk Refuge on our honeymoon, & it was incredible. The guides were very friendly & knowledgeable about the animals, their migration & feeding habits, as well as the conservation efforts of the Refuge to help the Elk survive now that they have become dependent on humans. We drove a lovely sleigh right through the middle of the herd while the staff was feeding them! We also saw two bald eagles nesting as well as a few coyotes that were checking things out from a distance while on our drive. Fantastic place for wildlife enthusiasts.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Elk Refuge also viewed

Grand Teton National Park, WY
 
Jackson, Jackson Hole
Grand Teton National Park, WY
 

Been to National Elk Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing