We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool place”

National Elk Refuge
Book In Advance
More Info
$145.00*
and up
Half-Day Wildlife Safari From Jackson Hole
Ranked #3 of 81 things to do in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A wildlife refuge located north of Jackson, WY that provides winter habitat for Jackson's elk herd. Seasonal hours of operation are listed on the web site for the Visitor Center, Historic Miller House, and Winter Sleigh Ride program.
Grand Prairie, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very cool place”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Took the wagon out to the herd . Not enough snow for the sleigh Had a great guide, Richard. He was very knowledgeable about the history of the preserve and animal behavior

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Miggy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    861
    265
    92
    15
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fun and informative”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

A really neat experience! Traveled on a wagon (not enough snow for the sleighs) complete with warm blankets! Our cowboy guide was extremely knowledgeable and fun. My 5 year old nephew was captivated from start to finish! We were taken very close to the elk and provided with a lot of very interesting information. The kids were given bingo cards and encouraged to find all the objects shown for a prize. (which all kids received no matter what). The visitor center (which is where we obtained tickets and boarded a bus that took us out to the Refuge) was really nice. The people were helpful and friendly and they had a nice selection of things to purchase. A great time!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MamaPearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worthwhile Experience”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Elk Refuge was Fun and informative and a great way to spend time experiencing something new in Jackson Hole. The gathering spot at the Visitor Center was well worth the time also. Many things to see there and its free, but the refuge is a fee, but worth it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank lm23Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun experience”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

It was only $18 a person and was really cool to be pulled along a sled in the winter through the Elk Refuge. There were so many Elk to see and the tour guides were very friendly and informative! Worth the hour or so to visit!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank erietravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Incredible experience”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This was highly encouraged by our hotel concierge and I am so glad that we did this. This was an amazing experience, and at only $18 a ticket you can not go wrong. I loved the opportunity to go out on the refuge in a horse drawn sleigh...there are blankets on the sleigh but be sure to dress warmly. I could not believe that we were taken literally right in the middle of the herds of elk...we were just a few feet away. We saw some coyote as well wandering about. Our guide was very informative and funny. The tour was about 45 minutes then you have a chance for photo pops with the sleigh and horses if you choose. It was a wonderful way to learn about the history of the refuge and the area.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lovestotravelnewmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Elk Refuge also viewed

 
Jackson, Jackson Hole
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 

Been to National Elk Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing