We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware Of Room 116”
Review of The Wort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Wort Hotel
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The Wort is a lovely, beautiful hotel especially at Christmas. The staff is very nice, the rooms very well appointed. I just cannot understand why they would ask guests to stay right next to the lobby. Our room was adjacent to the front door. All night long and early mornings we could hear others arriving and departing. For a special Christmas brunch in the lobby, the coat rack was placed in front of our door. For the rate that is charged for this room, i expect to have a better location. The manager office is across the hall. Why not switch? If you don't get stuck in room 116, it is a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask for your room assignment first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hungrytraveler21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (602)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 602 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2012

Although it seemed like all places in JH were quite costly, this was by far the most expensive. It was certainly nice, comfortable, clean, etc. but our opinion is not worth the price we paid. Good location (although parking is down the strret a bit) room very well appointed, clean, comfortable, etc. Loved the Silver Dollar Bar, gift shop fabulous (although VERY expensive) but all in all, overpriced.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank njean49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Beautiful hotel especially at Christmas time! They think of everything it seems to make your stay enjoyable. Plenty of nice towels, glass dispensers with wonderful Lemongrass soap, shampoo, conditioner, lotion, cookies, etc!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boatgirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

The Wort is on the National Registry of Historic Places and rightly so, old time Western decor abounds so if that's not your thing you may not like the look of the hotel. VERY cozy and beautifully decorated for the holidays when were there. Super location in downtown Jackson - right off the Square. The staff was terrific- even cleaning the snow off of our rental car for us. Very reasonably priced during the shoulder season of early December, valet parking or self-parking - your choice.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

What a fantastic historic hotel! Very clean, fresh flowers and Starbucks coffee in the room (with real cream in the fridge). A little noisy at night since my room was directly over the Silver Dollar Bar but I still was able to get a good nights rest. Perfect location for shopping the square. I would return again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This hotel is a lovely spot in the middle of Jackson, a great spot from which you can walk to shops and restaurants. The rooms are beautifully decorated in an UNDERSTATED western theme-leather chairs, wood-hewn poster beds, subtle cowboy quilts, faux-suede decorative pillows, faux-hide lamps. Normally I'd be grossed out by a stuffed bear on my bed in an upscale hotel, but even the bear looks right and welcoming. It's super cozy and elegant. Amenities are great. Staff is friendly, lobby is gorgeous. Highest recommendation for sure-don't hesitate!

Room Tip: Upper floor is quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJfromCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel is located right downtown, just a block from the town square. It is convenient to all of the shops, restaurants, art galleries and museums in Jackson. Despite being a historic hotel, this place was completely rebuilt after a disasterous fire in the 80s and has been updated and remodeled several times since then.

We have stayed here four times now and have never been disappointed in the hotel or the service. The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed. It is a wonderful place to stay. The on-site restaurant is very good as is the bar food in the Silver Dollar Bar. Not to be missed is the Snake River Grill, located just a few blocks away.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ovid21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
0.2 mi away
Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jackson
Hotel Jackson
#3 of 40 in Jackson
589 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rustic Inn Creekside Resort and Spa at Jackson Hole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Lexington at Jackson Hole
1.1 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
8.1 mi away
Hotel Terra Jackson Hole, A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wort Hotel

Address: 50 N Glenwood St, PO Box 69, Jackson, WY 83001-8760
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Jackson
#2 Business Hotel in Jackson
#4 Luxury Hotel in Jackson
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jackson
#8 Family Hotel in Jackson
Price Range: $185 - $546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wort Hotel is situated just off the famous Town Square in the heart of Jackson Hole, Wyoming -- just a few steps from boutiques, restaurants, art galleries and nightlife¬, including the famous Silver Dollar Bar. A landmark on the National Register of Historic Places, The Wort represents the heritage and heart of this classic Western community. The Wort has 55 luxurious guest rooms designed for comfort and decorated with sophisticated cowboy charm true to its Western roots, including an impressive collection of original Western Art. With outstanding service and amenities, The Wort continues to earn yearly awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Wort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wort Hotel Jackson
The Wort Hotel Jackson Hole, WY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing