We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great historic, boutique hotel”
Review of The Wort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Wort Hotel
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great historic, boutique hotel”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The Wort Hotel is a pretty, boutique hotel located in a convenient location in downtown Jackson. When you step outside of the hotel you are in the heart of the few square blocks that make-up the center of Jackson.

The rooms are comfortable, and fairly large, with nice bathrooms. The large poster beds and Western style are very welcome after staying in the more modest national park hotels.

You must have the Pheasant soup in the Silver Dollar Grille, located in the hotel. It's absolutely terrific.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor, near the gift shop, are very convenient but can be a bit noisy in the...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank allthedifference
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    125
    33
    13
    11
See reviews for
136
243
22
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Snoqualmie
Level Contributor
202 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The location of this hotel is great as a home base for local Jackson area activities. It is right in the middle of town and you can walk to eat, shop and entertain yourself. Jackson is a pretty small town so you'll run out of stuff to do in the town itself, but the Tetons and Yellowstone are just around the corner.

I chose this hotel for it's locale, upscale style but relatively inexpensive rates (Jackson rates are crazy even in the summer). The hotel is pretty upscale, with the mountain lodge decor and ambience. There are only 2 floors. The bar/restaurant on the main floor, exercise room in the basement. The bar is loud with live music, but we were right above the bar and didn't really hear anything. I chose our room for the size (we had lots of riding gear etc)- we had the Grand Room which was reall perfect. In addition to 2 queen beds we had a couch and a couple of chairs. The beds were comfortable, but not a Heavenly Bed. We were given a free bottle of wine for signing up for their loyalty program. THat was nice. THe view was disappointing...overlooking the roof but with the way the place is designed, if you want the interior rooms to have windows they'd need to look over the roof. They do have reserved parking in the lot about half a block away.

The disappointing thing about this place was the entry to the lobby. It's a very small entry way with a narrow entry and about 4 steps to get to the lobby. The problem with that is that if you're carrying alot of stuff (which we were on our bikes) you had to lug everything up those stairs to the cart. Then, once you get the cart loaded, you've got to go through a maze of hallways to get to the lone elevator back by the loading dock and back of the restaurant. Yuck. Smelled like rotten food. Then once we got upstairs, there wasn't any signage and we spent a couple minutes rolling the cart around the halls looking for our room (they also weren't all in numerical sequence). Had the one bellhop been available we'd have probably been ok, but he was busy. It wasnt a big deal, just not convenient. If I went back on a motorcycle I'd go to one of the hotels/cabins that have the ability to park right outside your room. Sometimes the sacrifice of amenities is worth the convenience.

I found the staff of the hotel luke warm. The bellman and front desk clerk seemed to lack confidence and weren't always around. The concierge was wonderful, however, with good info and presentation.

The restaurant was actually very good. The wait staff were also excellent. We had fun with our waitress.

One last thing that is an easy fix is the task lighting was not very good, especially in the sink area which was really surprising. If someone wanted to put on makeup they'd be out of luck.


Overall, this was a very nice hotel and well appointed (granite in the bathroom, nice robes, good soaps, great decor, etc.). If we weren't on the bikes, I'd have given this place 4 stars rather than 3.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shastaball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
290 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Not cheap, you are paying for location on main jackson square. If you are willing to pay for convenience ok, but you are not paying for luxury, although the rooms are large and a bit better than a marriott courtyard. Breakfast of biscuits. And gravy was excellent. Usually gravy is a tasteless blob but this was excellent, very good toiletries ,mattress is firm ,pillows fluffy but not supportive

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkmcallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Absolutely lovely rooms, with a wonderful bath to soak in after hiking in the Tetons. Just off the main square, in a perfect location. They have a very nice restaurant, with reasonable prices compared to others around town.
The staff are really terrific and very helpful. After just one day, they're calling you by name.
Also, they were extremely accommodating, as I had to cancel just days before I was to attend a conference here in 2011, and they allowed me to use my entire fee, as long as I did so within a year. The Rusty Parrot did not allow any flexibility and I lost all my money there. I think that the Rusty Parrot was reasonable, but the Wort was wonderful!

Room Tip: Only a few rooms in the entire hotel; I'd recommend a room on the first floor, so you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Whenever I fly into Jackson Hole, WY. I stay here. As soon as you walk into the lobby you feel you are transported to what the West should be. The decor is gorgeous. Rooms are always spacious and either a deluxe room or a suite. You cannot beat the location...right in the center of town close to everything.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JettlaggedHoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
224 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We enjoyed The Wort- it is a super clean and nice hotel right beside town square. The staff is attentive and helpful. We were pleasantly surprised by the turn down service. And we ate at the Silver Dollar Grill. Loved reading about the hotel's history. There is nothing "wrong" with this hotel and you will not be disappointed. All that said, it's pretty expensive considering I'm not in some over-the-water island bungalow, oceanfront place or slope-side hotel. We stayed at a different hotel at the beginning of our trip that was a good $150 less and if we came back, I'd stay at the other only because the other hotel was on par with this one in terms of cleanliness and attentive staff- maybe a touch less in "quality", but not enough to warrant an additional $150.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank chamdex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, MA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We spent three nights at The Wort Hotel in Jackson Hole, WY. It's a gorgeous hotel, very Western in style. The lobby is fabulous. Our room was large and beautifully decorated; it may be called either a junior suite or a deluxe room. The location is right in the center of town, close to restaurants and shops, but our room was very quiet. We ate dinner one night in the hotel's Silver Dollar Bar; it was terrific. The staff in the restaurant and the hotel were courteous and helpful--couldn't have been nicer. There's free parking half a block from the hotel. It's a terrific place to stay.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor, and it was very quiet. The rooms on the first floor near the bar/resta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarNeedham_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
0.2 mi away
Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jackson
Hotel Jackson
#3 of 40 in Jackson
473 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rustic Inn Creekside Resort and Spa at Jackson Hole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
8.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Jackson Hole
8.1 mi away
Teton Mountain Lodge & Spa - A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wort Hotel

Property: The Wort Hotel
Address: 50 N Glenwood St, PO Box 69, Jackson, WY 83001-8760
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Jackson
#2 Business Hotel in Jackson
#4 Luxury Hotel in Jackson
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jackson
#8 Family Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wort Hotel is situated just off the famous Town Square in the heart of Jackson Hole, Wyoming -- just a few steps from boutiques, restaurants, art galleries and nightlife¬, including the famous Silver Dollar Bar. A landmark on the National Register of Historic Places, The Wort represents the heritage and heart of this classic Western community. The Wort has 55 luxurious guest rooms designed for comfort and decorated with sophisticated cowboy charm true to its Western roots, including an impressive collection of original Western Art. With outstanding service and amenities, The Wort continues to earn yearly awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wort Hotel Jackson
The Wort Hotel Jackson Hole, WY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing