We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Wort Hotel
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Waupaca, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

Staying here is a nice experience. It is quite pricey (everything of quality here is) but I was here during the "off" season (April) and received a substantial discount. The rooms are big and luxurious. There is a fitness room and hot tub available 24 hours for guests. Did not patronize the restaurant or bar but based on the quality of the rooms and other aspects of this hotel I think you can expect a good experience in both. The Wort is located in an area of town with a lot of shops, bars and restaurants. Best of all it is walking distance (3-4 blocks) from the Snake River Brewery which has won many national awards for their high quality beer.

A couple of small complaints: the elevator is not very handy; had to wind our way through a good part of the hotel to find it. Also our room did not appear to have HD TV, only a portion of our TV screen had a picture on it.

All in all, this is a wonderful hotel and if you visit during the right time of year it's a pretty good deal too.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greenteafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    122
    33
    13
    11
See reviews for
134
236
22
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

Stayed at the 'other' hotels in Jackson Hole including the Four Seasons and found the Wort Hotel surpassed all of the others by a mile. Beginning with Ryan at the Front Desk who helped us change our reservations twice. The front desk staff is extremely helpful and make you truly feel as a welcomed guest. They are actually happy that you are there and make you feel it. Dinner reservations, cars, shops, anything you need they are ready to take care of it for you. The hotel itself was a beautiful surprise. The entire place is spotless. Western decor and ambiance adds to the experience. And on top of all of that it's a great value. A superb location right downtown with everything walking distance. All in all - it's THE place to stay in Jackson Hole.

Room Tip: King suite for a couple is gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vince L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

Perfect place to stay in town. Walking distance to great stores,resturants, and shuttle bus. Our room was super cozy and had everything we needed. Front desk was very helpful and informative with fun stuff to see and do. I can't wait to go back and enjoy this beautiful hotel again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littleone333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

Stayimg at the Wort is a must if you want a great location, sophisticated western decor, friendly staff, and wonderful individual attention. It is fun being in town and having access to all of JH 's charms. Drinks and dinner at the Silver Dollar Bar warrants visits especially on Tuesday, Friday, and Saturday nights
when great bands entertain. Watching local dancing is a treat not to be missed.
Am a frequent visitor to JH and staying at the Wort is an unforgettable experience.
It doesn't get any better than the Wort.

Cynthia N
Mamaroneck, NY

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

We cannot say enough about the wonderful hospitality of the entire staff at the Wort during our stay in January. We had planned to stay 2 nights and then go into South entrance of Yellowstone. Due to the tremendous snow fall on the front end and the back end of our trip, we unexpectedly returned to the Wort for 2 additional nights on separate occasions. The Wort personnel treated us like old friends with open arms. They did not try financially to take advantage of our travel misfortunes. The junior suite was roomy and comfortable and we loved the free wine party on Thursday nights. After our stay and completing a survey, we received a nice letter from the manager thanking us for our business and choosing the Wort. We would not stay any place else while in Jackson Hole.

Room Tip: Loved the junior suite on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbury, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights while on vacation.

The only reason I took points from from being a perfect hotel is our check-in. We were coming back from a few days in Yellowstone and arrived at the hotel around 1:30. I understand we were early for the 4pm check-in. We checked-in anyway to let them know we were there early. We were told the room wasn't ready yet (understandably) and they would call us when it is ready. We went to eat at the Silver Dollar Bar in the hotel (great elk gyro!). Knowing we had plenty of time, we ate a leasurely lunch and returned to the front desk shortly after 3pm. We were told the room was still not ready. The room was not ready until a few minutes before the "official" 4pm check-in time. We were once again told, we would be called as soon as the room is ready. This is a disappointment for this caliber of hotel. I would have expected better service and planning. If a guest has already checked-in and is in the building, I would think their rooms would be prioritized. Based on the check-in experience, I was not expecting much.

The mix-up with our luggage (bellman brought up 2 sets of wrong luggage before ours was correctly delivered), only confirmed my lowered expectations.

HOWEVER, after those 2 mishaps, the rest of our stay met and exceded my expectations.

The Wort Hotel is the epitomy of what I have always imagined a "western" hotel to be. From the grand staircase to the decor and artworks, pure perfection!

The staff was great, especially Sean, who valeted our car. He always made sure the snow was brushed off , the windows were scraped and defrosted when he brought the car to us. Kudos to Sean! Every other staff member we dealt with was great and very friendly.

You could not get a better location; it is walking distance to everything in downtown; only a block away from Town Square, where we enjoyed some of the Winterfest activities.

Despite the initial bump with the check-in, I would definitely stay here again, the next time we are in Jackson.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VacationRoRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

I was fortunate to be the event planner on site hosting a small corporate group and I must say that the staff at The Wort could not be more helpful and generous in making sure my group were well attended to. I viewed all their rooms, grands and suites and all the rooms were gorgeous; spacious, beautifully decorated and fabulous artwork throughout. My group loved the hotel, the history associated with the hotel, the integrity of the decor and the staff were true professionals - friendly, helpful, eager to please and delivering 100%.I am looking forward to going back. I highly recommend this hotel - a warm western welcome will await you!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good - I thought for sure I would get some noise sleeping on the ground floor but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelwelll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
0.2 mi away
Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa
1.1 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
0.4 mi away
Rustic Inn Creekside Resort and Spa at Jackson Hole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jackson
Hotel Jackson
#3 of 41 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lexington at Jackson Hole
8.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Jackson Hole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wort Hotel

Property: The Wort Hotel
Address: 50 N Glenwood St, PO Box 69, Jackson, WY 83001-8760
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Jackson
#2 Business Hotel in Jackson
#3 Luxury Hotel in Jackson
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jackson
#8 Family Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wort Hotel is situated just off the famous Town Square in the heart of Jackson Hole, Wyoming -- just a few steps from boutiques, restaurants, art galleries and nightlife¬, including the famous Silver Dollar Bar. A landmark on the National Register of Historic Places, The Wort represents the heritage and heart of this classic Western community. The Wort has 55 luxurious guest rooms designed for comfort and decorated with sophisticated cowboy charm true to its Western roots, including an impressive collection of original Western Art. With outstanding service and amenities, The Wort continues to earn yearly awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wort Hotel Jackson
The Wort Hotel Jackson Hole, WY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing