We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real old school'”
Review of Virginian Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Virginian Lodge
Ranked #26 of 40 Hotels in Jackson
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

When this place was recommended to us we were worried but it turned out we were pleasantly surprised. My daughter was delighted at the old school ambiance. The rooms are large but sparingly decorated. They could make the rooms really western which would be fun. The place is really clean.The rooms have real keys not plastic cards. It is a big place which is kind of a pain when you need to go to the office. There is a nice restaurant next door which shares the hotels name but not owned by them. The food is good - comfort/country style but not cheep. The location. Is really close to downtown Jackson for shopping and site seeing. We would stay again

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Splash2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (611)
There are newer reviews for Virginian Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

296 - 302 of 611 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

Did a Snake River scenic float trip, then spent one night in Jackson. We did not want to stay longer because of the outrageous prices for hotels in this town. Had stayed at Motel 6 on previous trips, but their rooms are so small and badly furnished, we decided to try the Virginian Lodge. Turned out to be a good decision. The room was spacious, spotlessly clean, and considerably cheaper than Motel 6! I was especially impressed by the remarkable craftsmanship of the people who built the rooms in this hotel. All of the walls, flooring, door frames, fixtures were installed with precision, and the furniture is attractive and solid. The staff was welcoming and eager to please. Parking is right outside the door. Their restaurant is adjacent to the hotel. We had breakfast there, and the food was delicious and reasonably priced. Generally, there is a wait because of the popularity of the restaurant. Highly recommend the Virginian Lodge for anyone on a budget, and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GroupLeaderSJHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Old style lodge, one level. Paneled walls, very old but clean and adequate. Staff was very nice. Free coffee in lobby. Good price for what we got. Beds were comfy. Close to downtown without the noise. Would stay here again

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Veronica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here after the LOTOJA race. The staff is friendly and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. You can tell that it is an older establishment, but it is well maintained. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank Tenisha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This motel is huge and it was the next stop from Yellowstone Tour. The décor is a bit dated but the staff was very friendly and helpful. Easy walking distance to a steak house and a rib restaurant; however, a bit of a walk to downtown Jackson Hole. The room was clean and spacious - large TV and good reception. Breakfast the next morning was awesome. The cook came to each table and asked if everything was ok and invited the tour group to more food.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel after the LOTOJA bike race for the past 5 years and they have, quite possibly, the kindest and most genuine people working there that I have ever found! The rooms are clean, and comfortable, if a bit dated, and the restaurant has a great burger. The pool and hot tub in the courtyard are surrounded by a well-tended lawn and they have beautiful hanging baskets of flowers. The adjoining liquor store has a drive-thru window and if you show them your room key they will give you a free 10 lb. bag of ice; perfect for your cooler as you leave the beauty of Jackson Hole and the Grand Tetons behind. It's not fancy, but it is comfortable and a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room opening to the pool and for a king size bed.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jillianSandy_Utah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We arrived to Jackson from Yellowstone National Park. First of all, We were very surprised to see how big this place is.
It isn't located in the town center, so You'll need a car to get there, but there are some places to eat and buy groceries close by, We had a problem to get food around, because everything closes quite early.
And now to the amenities - The room in general looks old (I'd give it generously 1985). I felt like going back in time, but some people may not like it at all.
The TV was bad - old fat small TV that isn't big enough for the distance from the bed.
The good things - Nice big lawn in the middle, a pool and a big hot tub.
To sum up - It's not a bad choice for a one night stay.

Room Tip: If you want to see the pool and the green choose a room in the inner side, If you want to be closer...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
0.6 mi away
Elk Country Inn
Elk Country Inn
#7 of 40 in Jackson
748 reviews
2.4 mi away
Elk Refuge Inn
Elk Refuge Inn
#24 of 40 in Jackson
113 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jackson Hole Lodge
Jackson Hole Lodge
#33 of 40 in Jackson
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
0.8 mi away
Motel 6 Jackson
Motel 6 Jackson
#38 of 40 in Jackson
725 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pony Express Motel
Pony Express Motel
#18 of 40 in Jackson
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virginian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginian Lodge

Address: 750 W Broadway Ave, PO Box 1052, Jackson, WY 83001-8645
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Jackson
Price Range: $91 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Virginian Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Virginian is a fun place to stay & explore the unique character of Jackson Hole. Conveniently situated in the town of Jackson, The Virginian is the perfect location to access world class outdoor recreation opportunities in Grand Teton National Park, Yellowstone National Park and the surrounding areas. Come experience a taste of the "Old West!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Otel, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Virginian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginian Hotel Jackson
Virginian Lodge Jackson Hole, WY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing