We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Comfy Rooms!”
Review of Virginian Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Virginian Lodge
Ranked #26 of 40 Hotels in Jackson
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the Virginian. The room was quiet and comfortable. The furniture was slightly dated, however, that's not a huge issue since it was both clean and spacious. The man at the reception gave us a warm welcome and was very friendly. If we come back, we'll certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JasonGlisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (612)
There are newer reviews for Virginian Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

310 - 316 of 612 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

Rooms were clean and spacious. Pool and hot tup were relaxing and well kept as were the grounds. The lobby was very interesting with game and fish mounts adorning the walls. The whole town was within walking distance and the wash & fold laundry was right next door!

Room Tip: Get a room facing the pool it was peaceful and quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lloyd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Thought this was a good location. Bit far for Yellow stone but the tetons and Jackson it self ideal.
The room I felt was a bit dated and could do with an uplift. It was clean and ok as just used to sleep and shower. Lots of towels shower powerful.Staff helpful. Parking could be a pot luck. the pool area and hot tub nice. Little disapointed that children are allowed in hot tub. Was not keen on the saloon on site bit smelly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paws-ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My sister in law decided last minute to change our accommodations from a beautiful vacation rental home about half an hour from Jackson, to this...interesting looking place in the heart of Jackson. I was apprehensive to say the least. Upon opening the door to our (HUGE) room and finding the decor VERY outdated, I made several assumptions. My first two assumptions were that the place would be dirty. and not well maintained. WRONG! I did the white glove test just to show my husband how awful it would be. It was SPOTLESS! Everything worked except for the television. I placed a call to the front desk and they had a delightful man come and fix the tv right away. He said that if I had any more issues to please call right away and they would get a different tv up to my room pronto.

The next morning I had the distinct pleasure of meeting Moises, the housekeeper. He was excruciatingly efficient and GREAT at his job. He was also very pleasant and accommodating.

The next surprise came in the comfort of the bed. I am writing this on our 5th day here and my back is just FINE! That is quite unusual for me.

The kitchenette is adequately stocked, but no frills. There is a fridge, a sink, two burners and basic (cheap) utensils, etc.

The bathroom is small, clean, and adequate.

The noise level is about what you would expect from any motel. Parking was HORRENDOUS at 11 pm on a Friday night.

All in all, I was quite pleasantly surprised by the Virginian. I would recommend it as the location, cleanliness and comfort are great. Still, next trip to Jackson Hole, I think I'm going to go for that beautiful vacation rental home.

Room Tip: We got a kitchenette room on the side closest to town. I would request a room far away from the dai...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I've stayed here a couple times for work conferences now and have always been satisfied. While there isn't all that much to the rooms themselves, they met my basic needs for cheaper than you'll find pretty much anywhere else in Jackson. They even have wifi in the rooms now, which was not the case when I last stayed there two years ago.

The layout of the property is pretty nice; rooms are arranged in a single floor square grid, with an outdoor courtyard in the middle that features a swimming pool & hot tub, along with some chairs for sitting. On a nice day, this is a great place to just chillax and read/internet surf/people watch. For those with rooms facing the courtyard - I've always stayed during the week, but the pool closes at 10pm and I've never had any issues with noise. It also helps that the property is a bit removed from the main drag of Jackson.

Staff seemed friendly enough, though the housekeepers were oddly aggressive. Despite the DnD sign that I always put up, it seemed like I could never leave the room without one of them chasing me to ask if they could clean the room. There were no actual unauthorized entries as far as I could tell, so it was more amusing than anything else.

Regarding location, it's a bit removed from downtown as I stated before. It is slightly less than a mile, or about a 15-20 minute walk. There is also a shuttle that runs free within the city limits that stops a block over. So downtown is still fairly accessible and you don't have to deal with any of the noise, which is always a plus.

I would also highly recommend the restaurant, especially for breakfast. It is such a wonderful thing in life to partake of honest-to-goodness, top quality BACON, and this place delivers (advice possibly n/a for vegetarians). Big crowds can form, even during the week, as others appear to be in the know about the bacon wondrousness as well.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pknight212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Before we got to the Virginian I was a bit apprehensive after reading some of the reviews. We were there for one night (on a bus trip) and I must admit the place exceeded my expectations. The room we had included two queen beds, two chairs, and a desk with a suitcase rack.
The washroom facilities were partitioned off and there was an additional door to the shower/tub and commode.
The room was very clean and well kept. The flat screen TV was more than adequate and the WiFi was pretty darned fast. Comparing their advertised cost to other hotels in Jackson I would not hesitate to return.
The restaurant was homey but the food was fabulous--rather have good taste and reasonable prices than a lot of atmosphere!

Room Tip: Choose a room that opens to the pool to avoid traffic noise.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terrence H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The Virginian was recommended to us by my cousin. It was thankfully slightly out of the 'downtown' of Jackson Hole. While it is an older hotel, it was clean and quiet. The hotel has a pool and hot tub that was spotless. I only had 2 issues. We SPECIFICALLY called the lobby and told them we did not want room service, we were leaving for they day and left our laptops and a phone behind WE DID NOT WANT ANYONE IN THE ROOM. We even put the do not disturb sign on the door. We came back late and everything was moved, all of our electronics, stuff in the bathroom, beds remade, towels gone. We did not want this, it felt very much like an invasion of privacy. The other issue was the fold away bed. It was so old and the mattress was thin, it threw my back out. I could hardly move after the first night. Other than those 2 things I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
0.6 mi away
Elk Country Inn
Elk Country Inn
#8 of 40 in Jackson
749 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jackson Hole Lodge
Jackson Hole Lodge
#33 of 40 in Jackson
349 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ranch Inn
Ranch Inn
#13 of 40 in Jackson
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Elk Refuge Inn
Elk Refuge Inn
#24 of 40 in Jackson
115 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pony Express Motel
Pony Express Motel
#18 of 40 in Jackson
517 reviews
0.8 mi away
Motel 6 Jackson
Motel 6 Jackson
#38 of 40 in Jackson
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virginian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginian Lodge

Address: 750 W Broadway Ave, PO Box 1052, Jackson, WY 83001-8645
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Jackson
Price Range: $91 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Virginian Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Virginian is a fun place to stay & explore the unique character of Jackson Hole. Conveniently situated in the town of Jackson, The Virginian is the perfect location to access world class outdoor recreation opportunities in Grand Teton National Park, Yellowstone National Park and the surrounding areas. Come experience a taste of the "Old West!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Otel, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Virginian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginian Hotel Jackson
Virginian Lodge Jackson Hole, WY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing