We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”
Review of Virginian Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Virginian Lodge
Ranked #26 of 40 Hotels in Jackson
Reviewed July 7, 2013

It is not the best motel or the worst. It is just OK. Some people call it "character" some call it dingy. The rooms date to the 50's (except for the flat screen tv) but they are clean. Layout of the facility is a little awkward in that you have to find the cut through to the restaurant or walk all the way around the buildings. Breakfast was ok and the cafe was decorated nicely. All in all if you just want a place to lay your head at night it is ok.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (621)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

337 - 343 of 621 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

I stayed here on a recent trip on my way to Yellowstone and the experience was not disappointing! The room was very spacious, quiet and comfortable. I would really rate this 4.5 stars, but the beds could have been more comfortable which is the only thing that could use some improvement. Otherwise, the shower and bathroom fixtures worked great and were very clean. There was plenty of hot water and I could not hear the neighbors at all in the room I stayed in. I stayed in the motel portion of the lodge and the only people I could hear were people walking by outside. The A/C also worked very well which was nice as it was very warm during my stay. The lodge has a restaurant, bar and pool, but I did not use them during this visit. The room and tv are a little dated, but definitely served the purpose. The room rate was very reasonable given the summer tourist season and would definitely stay here again. If you are looking for a fancy, deluxe resort, this is not your place, but if you are looking for a 1 or 2 night stay, this lodge will suite your needs well.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have plenty of parking and are the furthest from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This was our second trip to The Virginian. My daughter and her family stayed at the RV park, my husband and I had a room right close to their site as did my son and his girlfriend. Bonnie at the RV park was just wonderful. The park had free coffee every morning, clean showers and restrooms and a pretty view of the mountains. When we checked in to the motel the staff could not have been friendlier. In fact every single staff person we dealt with was very friendly, but in a genuine way, not phony. Our room, while not fancy was clean and comfortable. The kids and grandkids loved the pool. We appreciated that upon presentation of your room key you got a free bag of ice. But we put the ice machine to good use, too! We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Rooms nearest the RV park tend to be noisy in the early morning when the RVers are leaving. The RV...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were on a road trip across the US, my husband, myself, 18-yr old son and mother-in-law, so finding a room that would accommodate 3 beds was hard. We happened to come across The Virginian Lodge. From the outside it didn't look like much (kind of dingy), but once you step inside the lobby it is quite nice. The decor is very lodge-like, quaint and lovely. The service at the front desk was prompt and friendly. Everything in Jackson WY was pretty pricey since it is a tourist town, but this motel gave us a good rate. The room was large and clean. The beds were very comfortable, and the shower was nice. All in all we were very happy with our stay at this motel. We would stay there again if we ever return to Jackson Wyoming.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanders3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We were very fortunate to have found this place. We stumbled on it by accident. We were given a spacious room with a pretty great rate. It is a beautiful and quaint place, but also very accessible. The staff was very friendly, and the room was clean. The Virginian Restaurant had excellent food with a very enjoyable staff. We highly recommend this lodge!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karington G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Our initial impression was VERY bad. We arrived at 10:00 (RV park) and immediately told be could not check in until after 2:00 We were told that we would have to "Park in the street"...Come on. (We did observe the next camper though did go right in and did not come out....wonder why?) This "Resort" needs to understand the RV community that we travel to sites to try to experience a full day in their area (this place does not understand that...and to "park in the street" not a customer friendly response ). Since we had a 2:00 rafting experience we could not settle in until after 6:00. (You May want to change your greeter or at very least work with her)
When arriving back at 6:00 the experience changed. Tee front desk was friendly, helpful and check in a breeze
The sites are adequate (though over priced).. The showers were clean (though very small) the restroom clean. Plenty of hot water (at 6:00 a.m.) The restaurant closes at 9:00
I will probably find another place next time though.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We felt this hotel was just a step or two beyond a Motel 6. Rooms were clean, but drab and circa 1960's. Buffet breakfast was "uninspired". Room layout was inconvenient, requiring a long walk from/to entrance.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
0.9 mi away
Ranch Inn
Ranch Inn
#13 of 40 in Jackson
620 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jackson Hole Lodge
Jackson Hole Lodge
#35 of 40 in Jackson
357 reviews
2.4 mi away
Elk Refuge Inn
Elk Refuge Inn
#23 of 40 in Jackson
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Antler Inn
Antler Inn
#17 of 40 in Jackson
625 reviews
2.5 mi away
Flat Creek Inn
Flat Creek Inn
#16 of 40 in Jackson
380 reviews
0.8 mi away
Motel 6 Jackson
Motel 6 Jackson
#38 of 40 in Jackson
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virginian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginian Lodge

Address: 750 W Broadway Ave, PO Box 1052, Jackson, WY 83001-8645
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 40 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range: $91 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Virginian Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Virginian is a fun place to stay & explore the unique character of Jackson Hole. Conveniently situated in the town of Jackson, The Virginian is the perfect location to access world class outdoor recreation opportunities in Grand Teton National Park, Yellowstone National Park and the surrounding areas. Come experience a taste of the "Old West!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Otel, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Virginian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginian Hotel Jackson
Virginian Lodge Jackson Hole, WY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing