We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic - know what to expect”
Review of Virginian Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Virginian Lodge
Ranked #27 of 40 Hotels in Jackson
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We booked a large room with 3 beds as we were travelling with 2 children. We were horrified when we were shown our room: very outdated, run down and on the side of the road. We told the staff we would have to go somewhere else the next day as we felt very uncomfortable. Even though they had told us at check in that the hotel was full, by miracle another room became available. It only had two beds and no fridge but it was on the inside of the hotel complex right next to the swimming pool. We liked this new location, even though the room was very basic, and had a good stay.
It is a very large hotel, with a bar, lounge, swimming pool. It is a good place to go to with older children.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is on the inside of the hotel complex next to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bargy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (622)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

368 - 374 of 622 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2012

Great location, real friendly staff and that's really all I should say.
I was disappointed to find an OLD motel that has seen better days. If I could, I'd buy it, tear it down and build a new (probably national franchise) hotel as the location and size of the property is super.

Room Tip: get one in the back tier facing into the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ted T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed here one night through our Caravan Tour going from Mt. Rushmore to Yellowstone to the Grand Tetons.

We did not get to spend much time here at all seeing we were out all day sightseeing with our tour. This is by no means an upscale hotel, but it was clean and the views were really nice. The grounds were really nicely kept as well. It looks much bigger in pictures but is nice just the same. We were put in a double room where the beds felt really small. We are not use to full size beds.

We did not have time to use any of their amenities like the pool or hot tub, but they looked clean from what we saw. There is no coffee maker in the room which we usually like to have a cup before heading to breakfast, but not a big deal. They had the tour group in a separate room for breakfast which was really nice. They provided the usual buffet type food, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, oatmeal etc.

The lodge did have free Wi-Fi which was great! There is a liqueur store next door and one on the premises. We didn’t notice the one at the lodge until morning, seeing it was in front of the lodge and our bus pulled into the side. They had reasonable prices at the one next door. There is also a laundry facility on site which I’m sure can be of great use if you have time to do your laundry.

Our tour group was dropped off in the nearby little charming town of Jackson Hole, where we got to explore the shops (which were a little expensive) and went to the Million Dollar Cowboy bar where they use saddles for bar stools…. again a little pricy for a beer , but it was a great photo op. Later that evening our group also went to dinner/show at the nearby Bar J Chuckwagon, which was great and very funny!

We enjoyed our short time here at the Virginian Lodge and would recommend it for a comfortable, clean place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank elsplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

For the price, it was a great stay, very friendly people, beautifully kept, the flowers were a very nice touch! Nice atmosphere, close to downtown. I would most definitely try and get a room inside the courtyard by the pool. Beautiful green lawn and quiet. They have wide variety of postcards and offer postage and a mail drop too.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShellB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The interior photos of this hotel were a marketing stroke of genius! But do not be deceived- this is a typical 1970s roadside motel that lacks any ambiance or character. It was basically a plastic hole in Jackson. If you are looking for a nice place to stay, this would not be high on the list. But if you are looking for clean and functional with TVs older than you are, then this is the place to be! Skip the restaurant entirely!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank lorriek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Typacilly Lodge, a small room, with 2 beds, small bathroom, old TV and 2 chairs. Room was clean but nothing more, Staff was not friendly, according to our voucher we had the room form 2:00 P:M: but by arrival, the staff wouldn't let us have the room before after 4:00 P.M
Location just beside the noisy HWY, and 20 minuttes walking distance to town.
There was a restaurant with the hotel, but with no permission to serve wine with the food, and unfortuneltly no other restaurant in the neighborhood - and water with a steak tasts terrible!!
We also had to drop the breakfast, at morning the restaurant was totally overcrowded, and guests were waiting in rows to get a table, so we setteled for a pair of free cups of coffee in the lobby, and took the breakfast somewhere along the tour

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are away from the hihgway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stayed here as part of our Caravan Tour Company Trip. Room faced the courtyard so noise was not an issue. Room had three beds (tripple room) and was quite large with a table, two chairs, microwave and fridge. Simple yet very functional for what we needed. Wifi and the wake up call service in the AM worked very well. Breakfast was ok...First time in Jackson Hole but thought the town was nice and if I came through town again...would consider it for the right price.

Room Tip: get a room facing the courtyard....quiet and nice view. .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tim805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
0.9 mi away
Ranch Inn
Ranch Inn
#13 of 40 in Jackson
624 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jackson Hole Lodge
Jackson Hole Lodge
#35 of 40 in Jackson
359 reviews
0.8 mi away
4 Winds
4 Winds
#32 of 40 in Jackson
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Alpine Motel
Alpine Motel
#28 of 40 in Jackson
76 reviews
0.8 mi away
Antler Inn
Antler Inn
#17 of 40 in Jackson
630 reviews
2.5 mi away
Flat Creek Inn
Flat Creek Inn
#16 of 40 in Jackson
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virginian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginian Lodge

Address: 750 W Broadway Ave, PO Box 1052, Jackson, WY 83001-8645
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 40 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range: $92 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Virginian Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Virginian is a fun place to stay & explore the unique character of Jackson Hole. Conveniently situated in the town of Jackson, The Virginian is the perfect location to access world class outdoor recreation opportunities in Grand Teton National Park, Yellowstone National Park and the surrounding areas. Come experience a taste of the "Old West!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Otel, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Virginian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginian Hotel Jackson
Virginian Lodge Jackson Hole, WY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing