We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, well maintained (and RV park too)”
Review of Virginian Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Virginian Lodge
Ranked #25 of 40 Hotels in Jackson
Georgetown, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Clean, well maintained (and RV park too)”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Older motel, but very well maintained. Another family member stayed at the Motel 6 (which had just been updated). Motel 6 was $109 per night. Virginian was $135. Virginian was substantially larger, and nicer. It wasn't luxury, but Motel 6 had white walls with one orange wall, and felt substantially lower quality than the Virginian. While the Virginian is older, it has good maintenance. The pool area is beautiful. Some of us were traveling with a fifth wheel camper, and there was an RV park behind it -- so it was nice that family could be in the same location. Restaurant on site with GREAT breakfast at a very affordable price. Also good lunches/dinner. Yes, price of room was a little high - but not for this tourist area. A nice mid level price considering the location, and in the center of it all. All staff at restaurant, motel and RV park were very courteous and helpful.

Room Tip: Some rooms open to parking lot, some open to pool area - so request depending on your preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2017Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    250
    184
    51
    33
See reviews for
189
233
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We booked this hotel based on a recommendation from another couple we crossed paths with during our travels after we commented on the high cost of accommodations in Jackson. The hotel is a bot off the beaten path and is definitely dated a bit but considering the cost versus the competition it wasn't unexpected.

Check in was quick and smooth although I almost felt I was inconveniencing the clerk by expecting him to check me in. Once checked in we found a clean and fairly large room. The room was very basic with no extra's like a fridge, microwave or coffee maker.

We made use of a very good guest laundromat and were pleased with the amount of machines and the setup.

I had trouble getting any useable wifi signal and when I called the front desk the clerk was anything but helpful. Basically we were in the furthest corner of the property and they had no solution. I noticed several other guests in the lobby using laptops so I'm guessing ours wasn't the only room that had poor signal.

Given the price versus the competition and the fact the place was clean we'd stay again even with the spotty service and poor wifi.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Boston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed two different nights while on vacation in Yellowstone. Once on the way into the area and once on the way out. Both nights provided comfortable, clean accomodations with a decent price (considering the area). I would not hesitate to stay there again. One tip, if you have an ice chest with you, take your room key to the attached liquor store for a free bag of ice...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatrickH488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Old style motel. Stayed here after driving thru Grand Teton NP. Clean. Outdated. No breakfast. Jackson can be pricey so if you are cost conscious there is no reason not to stay here. Fit our needs but we were on a 10 day budget Yellowstone, Grand Teton, Mt Rushmore, Badlands, Devil's Tower, Great Salt Lake, and wind Cave tour.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank okietraveler2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This is an old-style motel, I used to stay at places like this when I was a kid! There is nothing "wrong" with this hotel, however it is a little outdated in the decor category. The rooms were clean - we had two double beds and the old-style desk and drawers connected to the wall where the TV is located. Old-Style bathroom-around-the-corner with a water closet for the shower and toilet. The LOCATION is excellent, walking distance to all town attractions. You're surrounded by small mountains - one of our party crossed the highway and climbed the mountain to the north! (go JP). The motel grounds are very well taken care of - a beautiful little green surrounds the pool/patio area - the grounds keeper obviously takes pride in his work! Pool and hot tub are clean. I would recommend my friends stay here as long as they're not expecting 5 stars and 5 diamonds.......

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the courtyard - convenient to the pool/patio. You will not be able to check in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyndi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Hotel lobby is nice lookin western place. The outside of the hotel is kinda rough lookin and you can tell its older. The rooms are decent size but are in definate need of an update. Got paneling on the walls. The tv and furniture are old. Beds kinda sit low to the ground. For $150 bucks youd expect a better lookin room. No breakfast. Decent walk into town. Kinda rough surroundings. But I guess its a place to stay. Id recommend trying to book another place though.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kidron733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Convenient, clean. Vey friendly staff. Free bags of ice for coolers. Comfortable, nice and warm outside pool, Quiet. Would recommend for a stay in Jackson

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Dmplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
0.9 mi away
Ranch Inn
Ranch Inn
#14 of 40 in Jackson
572 reviews
2.4 mi away
Elk Refuge Inn
Elk Refuge Inn
#24 of 40 in Jackson
93 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elk Country Inn
Elk Country Inn
#8 of 40 in Jackson
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
0.6 mi away
Jackson Hole Lodge
Jackson Hole Lodge
#33 of 40 in Jackson
340 reviews
0.8 mi away
Motel 6 Jackson
Motel 6 Jackson
#38 of 40 in Jackson
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virginian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginian Lodge

Property: Virginian Lodge
Address: 750 W Broadway Ave, PO Box 1052, Jackson, WY 83001-8645
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 40 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Virginian Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Virginian is a fun place to stay & explore the unique character of Jackson Hole. Conveniently situated in the town of Jackson, The Virginian is the perfect location to access world class outdoor recreation opportunities in Grand Teton National Park, Yellowstone National Park and the surrounding areas. Come experience a taste of the "Old West!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Otel, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Virginian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginian Hotel Jackson
Virginian Lodge Jackson Hole, WY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing