We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place & People!”
Review of Snow King Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Snow King Resort
Ranked #15 of 40 Hotels in Jackson
San Francisco
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place & People!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I've stayed at many hotels, and this is certainly one of the best. We were in Jackson under the worst possible of circumstances (a death in the family), and the staff at the hotel bent over backwards to make our time in Jackson as easy as possible. They happily extended our stay on a daily basis as we worked through our difficult tasks, and they even went so far as to remove all newspapers from the hotel that covered the accident, so as not to cause the family any additional pain.

We had heard from many locals that this place used to be run down, but had recently been remodeled. It really shows. The rooms were a good size and very clean and the beds were very comfortable- really important since we were there for 6 nights. Also the wifi worked the best of any of hotel I have ever stayed at. Whether you were in the room or in the common areas- it was always fast and easily accessible.

The common area downstairs off the lobby is a great place to hang out, and we spent a lot of time there relaxing, and napping, after tackling our difficult tasks. The sofas and chairs were nice and comfy. The fire was kept burning to hold off the chill. You could have food and drinks delivered from the restaurant upstairs. It was so comfy, we spent more of our time there than in our rooms.

The location doesn't really get more perfect if you're staying in Jackson. It's two minutes drive from the downtown square (easily walkable during the summer months). It's right at the base of their ski area, so you can just hop onto the slope straight out the door of the hotel, or you can make the 10min drive (or shuttle) to Teton Village Ski Resort. It also sits just a bit higher than the town, so the view from our windows was of the mountains in the far distance.

Our meals in the resort's restaurant- Hayden's Post were unexpectedly good. The food was fresh and inventive. I highly recommend the Green Eggs & Ham for breakfast- the sauce was amazing, and the poached eggs were perfectly cooked. Dinner was just as good, but there were too many good dishes to choose just one to highlight.

Lastly, although we didn't use them, there is an outdoor heated pool and an outdoor hot tub located just outside of the common area, so you could hop out, come inside and dry off by the fire. They both looked well maintained.

The only thing I would change about our stay would be the circumstances, which brought us there. Other than that, I cannot speak more highly of the staff and the resort, and I would highly recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geoff_young, General Manager at Snow King Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for the kind response! It is good to hear that the staff was able to assist you and your family during a very difficult time. Please feel free to let us know if there is anything else we can do to assist if you need to return to Jackson Hole.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    268
    166
    87
    62
See reviews for
350
271
41
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I’ve only been in Jackson once, and it was under extremely trying circumstances. The Snow King made our stay amazing.

I’ll get into details of the hotel -- which was excellent -- but the thing that truly set the Snow King apart was the staff. The staff at the Snow King were unparalleled.

Jackson is remarkable for the warmth and friendliness of the people who live here -- and the staff at the Snow King seemed to be a distillation of that to its purest form.

Aside from the staff, one thing that was so welcome were the great public spaces to sit by the fire. A great place to sit at the end of the day, to wait for folks to meet up, or simply to sit and read a book.

The rooms were delightful, and the beds, pillows, and linens were absolute top notch. I loathed getting out of bed in the morning they were so nice.

In terms of location, the hotel is nice and close to downtown, so you can just walk down there for dinner / lunch, but there’s also a great restaurant in the hotel -- Hayden’s Post -- with great food, but also a great casual dining restaurant -- The Lift -- a quick walk / drive down the road (literally 1000 feet away at the base of the Snow King ski area.)

And as far as access to things to do, aside from proximity to downtown, the hotel is at the base of the Snow King hill, and a quick 20 minute drive to the Jackson Hole Ski Resort. A great base of operations for activities in the valley.

I would wholeheartedly recommend the place to friends and colleagues, and look forward to staying there in the future!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petekazanjy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geoff_young, General Manager at Snow King Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Resort on TRIPADVISOR. I understand that it was a very unfortunate situation that occured and am glad that we were able to be of assistance. Please feel free to let us know if there is anything else we can do for you or your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This was a perfect winter vacation!. We stayed in a beautiful 4 bedroom condo that was far nicer than we could have ever hoped for. The furnishings were top notch, the staff was terrific and incredibly helpful. The concierge - Debra Garner was outstanding , and the guys in the ski rental shop were equally as good, Lee in particular. We would definitely return!

Paul A.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geoff_young, General Manager at Snow King Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for the great comments regarding you recent stay. I will also pass along your comments regarding Debra, she is truly an asset to the Resort. Please come visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed here 12.26 - 12.29 2013 and were a family of six in the condos above the hotel. I will echo the other reviewers opinions regarding the excellence of the accommodations and the staff. I wish to offer a special shout out to Manager Mike (don't have his last name or initial) who went to great lengths to assist us when we had some unique logistical challenges when our return flight was delayed. We have stayed at some of the finest hotels in the world, and I can comfortably say his customer service was truly world class. If I had any negative to say, its that the ski area is limited, so as skiers we were at a disadvantage to the facilities in Teton Village. That said, it's location adjacent to town makes it a great place to stay. And please add an honorable mention to Barry the transportation manager.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clif S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geoff_young, General Manager at Snow King Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for the great comments regarding you recent stay. I will also pass along your comments regarding Debra, she is truly an asset to the Resort. Please come visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

While staying in Jackson Hole from Dec 26-29, we were amazed at how professional the staff handled our stay. The one issue we had was handled promptly by Manager Mike, who went above and beyond his required duties to ensure that we had a pleasant experience. My hat's off to Mike, Stephen (Steve), and the girls at the front desk who were always ready to greet you with a smile. We will be back, no doubt!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curtis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geoff_young, General Manager at Snow King Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
It sure sounds like we were able to "Exceed your expectations". It is so good to hear that the Front Desk team left such a great impression. Thank you for sharing your comments and please come stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moab, Utah
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Was up in Jackson for a couple of weeks in Sept. The Hotel had just finished its renovation and WOW did it look good. The Pool and Hot Tub were very nice. Room Furnishing looked great - (They might want to look at finishing the window coverings) but that is small compared to the rest. Food was very good - oudoor dining impressive on the deck. I had the chance to meet the a few of the managers there: Jean and Brandon. Both were very professional and had a positive vision for the property.

The property is a short walk to town and is a true full service venue in Jackson. The Concierge was great at reccoemmending many of the activities - especially the ones that occur in the town square like the Farmer's Market.

Room Tip: Get one of the higher floor rooms with a view of town or the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geoff_young, General Manager at Snow King Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Yes, the renovation is finally complete! Thank you for recognizing Brandon and Jean. Both of these individuals are committed to "making the difference" and it is apparent they were successful. Please come visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I stayed here from Dec 18th through Dec 22nd, as a first time guest and it was fantastric. The decor is beautiful throughout the lobby and the guest rooms, and the resturant/bar is stunning. The bed sheets are the softest I have ever felt. The front desk staff was fantastic including Mike G, and bellmans Barry and eric J, the bar tenders including J M were fantastic and make a mean bloody mary. I had a fantastic stay. If anyone is thinking twice dont. Its located in a great location, a small walk to the town square and located next to Snow King Ski Mountain, which has an ice skating rink and an tube park, great for family fun. It is also on the bus line that comes about every 15 min, so you can take a bus to most places. Thank you Snow kIng for a great stay!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wyadvgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geoff_young, General Manager at Snow King Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
It sure sounds like you enjoyed your first visit to SNOW KING. It also sounds like you enjoyed all of the winter activities Jackson Hole has to offer. Hopefully, we will see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
1.4 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
0.9 mi away
Rustic Inn Creekside Resort and Spa at Jackson Hole
0.7 mi away
Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Teton Mountain Lodge & Spa - A Noble House Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel Jackson
Hotel Jackson
#3 of 40 in Jackson
473 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel Terra Jackson Hole, A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow King Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow King Resort

Property: Snow King Resort
Address: 400 East Snow King Ave., Jackson, WY 83001-8495
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Jackson
#4 Spa Hotel in Jackson
#10 Business Hotel in Jackson
#14 Romantic Hotel in Jackson
#14 Family Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Snow King Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether it's time to visit Yellowstone and Grand Teton National Parks, float the Snake River or catch that perfect cowboy powder Jackson is known for, Snow King Resort provides the ideal location for your adventures. Located at the base of Snow King Mountain Resort and just blocks from the historic Jackson Hole Town Square, the resort offers beautifully appointed guest rooms and Jackson's hottest restaurant, Haydens Post. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Snow King Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snow King Resort (Grand Vista Lodging) Hotel Jackson
Snow King Hotel
Snow King Resort Jackson Hole, WY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing