We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lights and shadows”
Review of Motel Pioneer

Motel Pioneer
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hulett
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Motel Pioneer
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hulett
Reviewed December 12, 2013

They gave us a bedroom downstairs with no kitchenette (apparently all the other ones have one) and the wi fi did not work.
This motel is ok if you stay one night: it's cheaper than other accommodations in this area and close to Devil's Tower.
I'd stay there again just because we usually travel in a budget and we stay outdoor almast all the time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penelope72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
There are newer reviews for Motel Pioneer
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 12 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Motel Pioneer is the quintessential, 'you get what you pay for' so for $60 it was a bargain. We were so exhausted after a 12 hr day on the road, the place was an oasis. It's definitely dated but was clean & comfortable. I had no trouble connecting to WIFI, unlike several other reviewers have stated. Our fridg worked fine & the TV was a nice big box size. The owners were very friendly & helpful! The town of Hulette is 'Small Town USA'. The only café serving dinner was ridiculously overpriced but the market was amazingly stocked! Should've bought dinner from there. Got coffee bright & early at the local convenience/gas store. The Belle Fourche River that runs thru town is picturesque & charming. Over all, we enjoyed our visit to the area!

Room Tip: For the value, Motel Pioneer is a nice place to stay.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jody5459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Very outdated room, looked like 70's decore. Was told there was Wifi but there is not, our friends stayed too and they also had no Wifi. Fridge in room didn't work, room had a moldy smell to it. Very dated. Owners were polite and friendly. If you can lower your expectations it was a decent value at $60. Would not stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManimalChozenBreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Super affordable, clean and neat, did not give me the "ickies" like bad motels can. I would have rated it 5 stars, but there was an undistinguishable odor in the room that did not bother me, but I have a bad sniffer.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esstrojenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed here a couple of nights while we were exploring NE Wyoming. The couple who run the motel were friendly and helpful. The location is at the north edge of town, and it was a very short walk to a deli, several taverns, and a grocery store. We also took a long walk up the hill to the golf course to check out the views up there.
The room and the building itself are clearly overdue for a full renovation. The fixtures were dated, as were the furnishings. However the room appeared basically clean and neat, and the plumbing fixtures all worked fine. Anyone staying here shouldn't expect a modern, newly-built motel such as you find at the large chains. This is a small mom-and-pop motel in a very small town, with low nightly rates, so adjust your expectations accordingly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed in Hulett, WY on the way to Devils Tower NM as it's only about 9 miles away from the monument. Pioneer Motel had a good price for Devils Tower area.
The owners were not overly friendly, but the motel was very clean. The bed sheets, the towels, and the bathroom were all clean, and the room had a tidy appearance. Our double queen room had cable TV and a fridge. No microwave and no coffee maker as you're not allowed to cook in the room. The motel supposedly had a free WiFi, but there was no trace of it in our room. Maybe it just depends on the room location within the property. There is not much around, and the only grocery store in town closes early. There is a bank with an ATM not far away and a place where they serve decent though overpriced burgers. Overall, would stay there again mostly for the price and cleanliness.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SecretAgentBubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hulett
0.1 mi away
Best Western Devils Tower Inn
22.3 mi away
Bear Lodge Motel
Bear Lodge Motel
#1 of 5 in Sundance
288 reviews
22.4 mi away
Best Western Inn At Sundance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hulett Motel
Hulett Motel
#2 of 3 in Hulett
117 reviews
22.3 mi away
Budget Host Arrowhead Motel
11.8 mi away
Sawin' Logs
Sawin' Logs
#2 of 4 in Devils Tower
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Pioneer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Pioneer

Address: 119 Hunter St., On the corner of Highway 24 and Hunter St., Hulett, WY
Location: United States > Wyoming > Hulett
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hulett

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing