We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very outdated but fairly clean.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel Pioneer

Motel Pioneer
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hulett
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Motel Pioneer
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hulett
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very outdated but fairly clean.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Very outdated room, looked like 70's decore. Was told there was Wifi but there is not, our friends stayed too and they also had no Wifi. Fridge in room didn't work, room had a moldy smell to it. Very dated. Owners were polite and friendly. If you can lower your expectations it was a decent value at $60. Would not stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ManimalChozenBreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Super affordable, clean and neat, did not give me the "ickies" like bad motels can. I would have rated it 5 stars, but there was an undistinguishable odor in the room that did not bother me, but I have a bad sniffer.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank esstrojenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed here a couple of nights while we were exploring NE Wyoming. The couple who run the motel were friendly and helpful. The location is at the north edge of town, and it was a very short walk to a deli, several taverns, and a grocery store. We also took a long walk up the hill to the golf course to check out the views up there.
The room and the building itself are clearly overdue for a full renovation. The fixtures were dated, as were the furnishings. However the room appeared basically clean and neat, and the plumbing fixtures all worked fine. Anyone staying here shouldn't expect a modern, newly-built motel such as you find at the large chains. This is a small mom-and-pop motel in a very small town, with low nightly rates, so adjust your expectations accordingly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Blue Planet
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed in Hulett, WY on the way to Devils Tower NM as it's only about 9 miles away from the monument. Pioneer Motel had a good price for Devils Tower area.
The owners were not overly friendly, but the motel was very clean. The bed sheets, the towels, and the bathroom were all clean, and the room had a tidy appearance. Our double queen room had cable TV and a fridge. No microwave and no coffee maker as you're not allowed to cook in the room. The motel supposedly had a free WiFi, but there was no trace of it in our room. Maybe it just depends on the room location within the property. There is not much around, and the only grocery store in town closes early. There is a bank with an ATM not far away and a place where they serve decent though overpriced burgers. Overall, would stay there again mostly for the price and cleanliness.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SecretAgentBubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hulett
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Devils Tower Inn
22.3 mi away
Bear Lodge Motel
Bear Lodge Motel
#1 of 5 in Sundance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
8.8 mi away
Lytle Creek Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Sawin' Logs
Sawin' Logs
#2 of 4 in Devils Tower
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
22.3 mi away
Budget Host Arrowhead Motel
7.4 mi away
Diamond 7 Bar Guest Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Pioneer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Pioneer

Property: Motel Pioneer
Address: 119 Hunter St., On the corner of Highway 24 and Hunter St., Hulett, WY
Location: United States > Wyoming > Hulett
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hulett

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing