We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great history, very short drive from Oregon Trail Ruts!”
Review of Register Cliffs

Register Cliffs
Ranked #2 of 4 things to do in Guernsey
Attraction details
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
“Great history, very short drive from Oregon Trail Ruts!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

It is a shame, that so many people, long after the pioneers carved names on the wall.

However it is definitely worth a stop, especially if you are interested in learning about the Oregon Trail. You will here about Cliff Registry at several different Oregon Trial museums, across the country.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank usroadrats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    19
    7
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Middleboro, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Being from the East, I didn't even know anyplace like this existed. Reading the old dated names chiseled into the rocks is amazing and thought provoking to say the least. It's a shame that people that have come along since those pioneers went through this area, thought they had to carve their own names and dates over many of the old ones. I guess true history doesn't mean as much as having their own name on a rock. I would highly suggest anyone going to this area to check this out as well as the wagon trails nearby.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LSUE F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden, CO
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“worth the drive”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

this is a bit of a drive, but fun to see all the names and dates! Fun to wonder about the monotony of the trip - broken up by register cliffs/rocks - along the way! Would love to see if names appear on more than one along the trail!!

Helpful?
1 Thank momcheers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Did they write their name here?”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I loved reading many of the still legible names and dates. I searched for surnames from my family history and saw some possibilities. Were they my kin?

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank davenmanja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Did I waste my time for this?”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Long drive out to the cliff. Good size cliff to see, but it appears that every moron from all over has left thier mark in the soft stone.
Impossible to tell the old from the new, as many folks have tried to duplicate old signatures.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RangerAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Register Cliffs also viewed

 

Been to Register Cliffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing