We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Motel I've ever stayed at!”
Review of Greybull Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Greybull Motel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Greybull
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Best Motel I've ever stayed at!”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Greybull Motel was a great place for us to stay at while on a cross country road trip. They definely lived up to the good reviews I had read before booking. Georga took great care of us even with our late check in at midnight. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mesenbrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    95
    20
    5
    1
See reviews for
142
164
21
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, UK
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

My wife and I, visiting from UK and wanting to stop over 2 nights in Greybull, booked in advance and rented one of the nearby houses owned by the people at the motel, so we cannot comment on the rooms at the motel itself. As others have remarked, the motel is inviting and welcoming, having a floral display which shows a loving hand. The flowers were repeated, on a smaller scale, at "The Beehive", the house nearby we occupied for the 2 nights. This is a small house on one level, making use of the back yard of another property and hence accessed along the back alley. Nevertheless, it is adequately furnished, having quite a large living/dining room and a small but fully equipped kitchen; only the bathroom is a little cramped - having stayed at 9 places during our tour, the memory gets a little dim but I THINK there was no tub, only a shower, but this suits our needs.

Both the bed, and the seating in the living room were perfetly comfortable. The window-based AC unit was a bit noisy, as older ones often are, but we were happy to switch it off at night so that didn't matter. We had two minor gripes: (1) we were warned on check-in (at the motel) that the instant-flow based water heater was a little quirky, and an instructive notice was posted in the house, but in fact the the heater was more troublesome than had been stated; and |(2) whilst the house, all kitchen equipment, bedding (good cotton sheets & pillows! Decent towels!) etc. was very clean on the whole, the cleaner did habitually miss a few less obvious places - cobwebbed table lamp, dusty venetian blinds......but we reported these points to the owner, received an apology and to judge by her positive attitude we believe both items will be attended to very quickly. We would definitely return - the owners deserve the business and we loved the place overall.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usaphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We were on a whirlwind 2 week tour of the USA. After touring Yellowstone for 1.5 days, we headed east through Cody & into Greybull. We were tired & decided to stop early for the day & recharge. You can't miss the Greybull Motel as it's situated on the main hwy into town & your eyes will be drawn to colorful, fully blooming gardens as you arrive. The Motel has a very 'welcoming' feel.
The owners were friendly, accomodating & very knowledgable about the area. We will have to return as there was far too much to experience during our short stay. We are a little fussy about beds & bedding but were pleasantly surprised by how well we slept. The beds were firm but comfortable & the cotton sheets were a welcome change. We later learned that the linens are actually line dried under the Wyoming sun. Wonderful :)
What really impressed me was that although the Motel is completely smoke free, the owners have created comfy sitting/lounge areas outside all the rooms complete with citronella candles, more flowers and ashtrays to accomodate smoking guests.
Overall, this was one of our favorite places to stay. The rates were reasonable compared to Cody or West Yellowstone where we stayed the previous night. The rooms were clean & well equiped with a TV, blow dryer, fridge, microwave & plush bath towels with fresh coffee available in the morning. If we travel this route again, we will definately be staying another night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed here just for one night while passing through town. The owners were great. They waived the $10 pet fee which was greatly appreciated. They were helpful in recommending restaurants. Please be aware that this is a very small town without many options for dinner. We ate at Lisa's which exactly the place we thought it would be...friendly service, frozen/canned foods, and flavorless. However, they did have some semi-local microbrews on tap. We're just used to so many options with fresh foods and local ingredients it was hard to enjoy our dinner there. Anyways, the motel was pretty nice. Very clean, beautiful gardens and lawn, and cozy. The bathrooms appear newly renovated and the carpet seemed newer as well. The decor was just western themed with horses. They ONLY have central air so if you're cold you have to turn on the heat in the room. Another thing that would have been nice would be hooks in the bathroom to hang up your towels. There was nowhere to put them so we just put them on the floor. If we were staying more than one night we would have to get fresh towels every day. We didn't have a microwave or fridge but I saw some in other rooms. Maybe they're only in the 'suites'. If we pass through town again we'll stay here and skip Lisa's.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChelseyandScottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa clara, ca
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

We were late for Yellowstone from Rushmore on a road trip. We didn't want to drive through Cody late at night. We reached after 11.00 and the owner lady reopened her office to accommodate us. The hotel didn't have breakfast and was a bit expensive... They did have good selection of tea and coffee. My wife wanted to wash some travel mugs and the owner got us the dish washing liquid too. We ended up buying some souvenir for Wyoming.

Day-3 on road trip and before Yellowstone, we were already loving Wyoming!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jalpesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, PA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

The owners (or managers?) and the cleaning staff were very nice and accommodating. The place seemed very clean and well cared for in general. The sheets and pillowcases were a tight thread count and cotton (100%?) and the bed was very comfortable. If you are like me, you appreciate not having to sleep between polyester. Minor details which would detract for most people from a "highest recommendation, 5-star rating were (in my room) that the linoleum and wall in the bathroom were a little worse for wear, and the tv was not a flat screen. But the character of the place was top-notch for a downtown motel, and I highly recommend it. Quiet and very solid.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArtistInResidence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
idomin8, Owner at Greybull Motel, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
First of all let us thank you for your positive review of our facility. We take great pride in our property and continually strive to make improvements. Unfortunately, we still have two bathrooms that need remodeling, and you were assigned one of them. These two rooms are scheduled to be completed this fall. All other rooms and most of our guest houses have been completely remodeled. Also on the list of improvements, are flat screen TV's. At the present time more than half of our rooms do currently have flat screens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We came across this Motel after a long day in the car on route to Yellowstone Park.from Mount Rushmore.. We found the reception area spotless and very well presented and the owners were most helpful and friendly. Our room was perfect and we are uable to fault it. Would recommend it to others. Free Wi-Fi so we were able to write this review in our room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burjarab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greybull hotels
0.2 mi away
Historic Hotel Greybull
Historic Hotel Greybull
#1 of 2 in Greybull
174 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone Motel
Yellowstone Motel
#3 of 5 in Greybull
60 reviews
0.6 mi away
Antler Motel
Antler Motel
#2 of 5 in Greybull
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Wheels Motel
Wheels Motel
#5 of 5 in Greybull
25 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sage Motel
Sage Motel
#4 of 5 in Greybull
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greybull Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greybull Motel

Property: Greybull Motel
Address: 300 N 6th St, Greybull, WY 82426-1938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Greybull
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Greybull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Greybull Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Greybull Motel is a vintage "Mom & Pop" twelve room motel that has been lovingly restored. All rooms and cottages are smoke free. Pet rooms are available for a small fee. Improvements include new fully tiled bathrooms, carpet, windows and flat screen televisions. All rooms have a small refrigerator, microwave and hair dryer.The motel is known locally for its lovely petunias and gardens that we welcome our guests to explore. Our outdoor seating areas are quite popular amongst our guests for relaxing after a long day of site seeing. A Lite, healthy continental breakfast is included with your stay during the months of June through October. Wireless internet is also included with your stay and has just been upgraded to a fast, secure system.We also have six, fully furnished, adorable guest cottages that sleep from two to nine people.Your hosts are Michael & Wendy Lannon. We have owned the motel for ten years and are constantly striving to make our guests stay an even more pleasant experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Greybull Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greybull Hotel Greybull

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing