We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trying to please”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Gillette
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Gillette
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Staff honored our requests for pet-free, quiet, top-floor room.

Plus: Contemporary design. Two elevators --- 1 central & 1 at the end. Luggage trucks were available. Decent (not large) size vanity but marginal lighting. Good, cooked breakfast w/plenty of choices. Microwave & refrig plus good sized LCD TV & chest of drawers.

Minuses: Toilet noisy & shower operation not easy, Tub did not drain. Hang-up area (vs doored) closet. Samllish room w/one chair & reading area. Soft bed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pfcoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGillette, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gillette, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear PFCoach;
I appreciate the time you took to write a review on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express. Our team is constantly looking for ways to improve and your feedback allows us to make improvements.
Thank you for bringing the bathroom items to our attention so we can fix them for our next guests. The Smart Start breakfast is full of excellent choices that allows our guest to start of their day right & our team understands the importance of making our guests happy so thank you for noting these items in your comments.
Thank you for being our guest at the Holiday Inn Express, Gillette. We appreciate your business and do hope you will be our guest again soon.
Best regards,
Debby Zolnoski
General Manager
dzolnoski@timberlinehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Gillette
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 246 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

This was a nice hotel to stay in for the night. Courtesy staff. Clean rooms and food area. Breakfast was good. The one thing I did not like was the hard water. Our toilet sounded like a 747 taking off while filling up! We laughed about it but I know that the front desk had to hear it every time it flushed!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruce120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGillette, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gillette, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear friend,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express. I appreciate your feedback as it allows us to continuously improve our product and service.
I am glad that you were able to find humor in the loud toilet while you were here! Our maintenance team is currently working on fixing this so we can avoid any noise disturbances in the future.
I appreciate the comments you made about our courteous team, breakfast and cleanliness. Our team works very hard to impress our guests and they enjoy hearing when they succeed!
Thanks again for taking the time to write a review. We hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express Gillette soon.
Best regards,
Debby Zolnoski
General Manager
dzolnoski@timberlinehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This hotel was overpriced by a third. We listened to one neighbor coughing and another's TV preferences. The morning coffee was awful. If I hadn't been so tired after a day of driving, I'd have walked out the front door when the clerk told me the price of a room for 2.

Room Tip: Good rooms are probably available in other nearby motels.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthfieldKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGillette, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gillette, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Northfield Ken,
Thank you for sharing your impressions. Guest feedback, whether positive or negative, is an important tool in providing quality guest service.
I apologize for the noise and poor coffee you experienced during your stay. Because of your feedback we are working with our coffee distributor to improve our coffee service for our guests.
Thanks again for your comments. I do hope you will consider giving us another opportunity to restore your faith in us. Please contact me directly if I may be of further assistance.
Best regards,
Debby Zolnoski
General Manager
dzolnoski@timberlinehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We enjoyed our stay. Pool was smaller than usual. Loved that the air conditioning fan was quiet and a good background noise for sleeping, we didn't use the fan we brought. Big LG tv. Comfy beds. Several plugs in the lamps to charge electronics. Breakfast was typical hot/cold selections with the exception of pancakes instead of waffles. Several State Troopers spent the night in this hotel. Walking distance to several resteraunts including Applebee's and Old Chicago. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank MrsLUVStravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGillette, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gillette, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear friend,
Thank you for the fabulous review! We love hearing from our guests, especially when they are talking about our "really nice rooms".
Thank you for being our guest. We are looking forward to seeing you on your next trip through Gillette, WY.
Your friend in hospitality,
Debby Zolnoski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We are traveling to the to the west coast with truck and 5th wheel trailer. We had a truck breakdown 20 miles away today and needed to stay over to get it fixed. Although the 800 reservation line told me they were full,a call to the hotel by the agent requesting assistance got us a room. We have a very nicely appointed room with a king bed. It is well appointed. You would hardly know it is a handicapped equipped room as well. Thanks so much. Terry.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank tmichaeltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGillette, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gillette, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Terry,
It was our pleasure to have you as our guest this week. We were happy that we were able to find a room for you while your truck was being repaired.
Thank you for your fantastic comments on Trip Advisor, we appreciate the time you took to write a review on your stay.
We hope you the rest of your journey went well.
Thanks again for being our guest.
Best regards,
Debby Zolnoski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My seventy-nine year old mother and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Gillette, Wyoming for the night of Thursday, June 6th, 2013. When making our reservations online, we requested a room on the top floor, away from any noise, and that is what we were given. I was recognized as a Priority Club member, but not as a Platinum member, and received a free bottle of water.

The medium-sized non-smoking room included two queen-sized beds, each with four pillows on them, a clock radio, one office chair with a desk, a comfy chair, a large HD television with remote that had an a decent channel selection, free Wi-Fi and wired connections (if you had your own cable), a mini-fridge, a microwave, and a coffeemaker.

The large-sized bathroom included three sets of towels, a hairdryer, bottles of shampoo, conditioner, and hand lotion, as well as two bars of soap. The shower had a handle to get in, and also “sort of” had a handle on the side to hold on to, so both my mother and I could steady ourselves. We found that the toilet was extremely noisy when flushed, and the bathroom fan, which turned on with the light switch, was also noisy.

The hotel has many amenities, including a heated indoor pool and a limited fitness center, as well as a free breakfast bar. There are many restaurants and shops nearby.

I cashed in my Priority Club Rewards points and received Room 322 for free. Overall, the room was extremely clean and very comfortable, and despite the noisy bathroom fan and toilet, we would definitely stay here again. When my mother and I go on holidays, we like to stay at hotels that make us feel like we are at home, and our room certainly did just that.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank macmaroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGillette, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gillette, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear friend,
Thank you for being our guest and writing a review on your recent stay with us and noting that the hotel was extremely clean and comfortable.
I apologize for the noisy bathroom and wanted to let you know that we were able to repair the fan.
I look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Gillette, WY.
Thanks again for being a Platinum member.
Best regards,
Debby Zolnoski

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our family enjoyed the night after booking this HI through the 1800 number. Very pleased with the clean cool rooms. We enjoyed the breakfast that was well stocked by a friendly attendant. Our kids enjoyed the pool and wished to stay a second night but our trip was planned out. The extra cost is worth a clean room that has a great breakfast to enjoy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEGillette, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gillette, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear friends,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Gillette, WY. We hope you enjoyed your trip to Devils Tower as much as you enjoyed our hotel!
Our team appreciated that you noticed the cleanliness of the property as it's something we work really hard at.
Thanks again!
Debby Zolnoski

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gillette hotels
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Gillette
2.0 mi away
Arbuckle Lodge Gillette
Arbuckle Lodge Gillette
#2 of 25 in Gillette
664 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Gillette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gillette
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gillette
2.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Gillette
TownePlace Suites Gillette
#6 of 25 in Gillette
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Gillette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gillette

Address: 1908 Cliff Davis Ave, Gillette, WY 82718-5580
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Gillette
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gillette
#1 Business Hotel in Gillette
Price Range: $97 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Gillette 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Holiday Inn Express offers the very best lodging in Gillette, Wyoming. The hotel has a great location at the intersections of I-90 and HWY 59, and is within close proximity to shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The expanded continental breakfast, with numerous hot & cold selections will be a great way to start your day. We offer complimentary wireless high speed Internet in all guest rooms and public areas. The business center is equipped with a work station and printer. Our indoor pool, hot tub and fitness center are a perfect way to relax and get your work out in for the day. All guest rooms have 42" High Definition televisions along with fridges and microwaves for your comfort. Gillette is the corridor to the Black Hills of South Dakota, Devils Tower National Monument, Vore Buffalo Jump, Bighorn Mountains, Keyhole State Park, the world famous Sturgis Motorcycle Rally. The hotel also participates in the IHG Rewards program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gillette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gillette Hotel Gillette
Holiday Inn Gillette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing