We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Treasure”
Review of Rockpile Museum

Rockpile Museum
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Gillette
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Campbell County Rockpile Museum serves as the local history center for the residents of and visitors to Campbell County with the mission of collecting, preserving, and interpreting the history of Campbell County and northeast Wyoming. Exhibits boast a variety of topics, including archaic arrowheads, Winchester rifles and carbines, coal mining, homesteading and ranching, and leather-working. There are also several hands-on stations to provide kids with a fun learning experience. Open 9:00am - 5:00pm Monday through Saturday. Free.
Wyoming
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our Treasure”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We live in a small town (30,000) which was about 15,000 about 15 years ago. This is an area rich with history, nothing earth-shaking, but so interesting. The Rockpile Museum offers all that and features traveling exhibits to enhance your experience. We go back every so often to reconnect with this community's roots.

Helpful?
2 Thank winedivaWyoming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    34
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wyoming
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“family fun”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

family friendly, educational. great staff. will come again. My kids really enjoyed their time. There was nothing we did not enjoy

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank kclmarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo
Level Contributor
121 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Nice little museum”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stopped here to stretch our legs and ended up really enjoying this museum. It has nothing to do with rocks, but rather focuses on local and regional history. They have a lot of artifacts and displays that give a good picture of life in early Wyoming. Worth a stop.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank uncle_stu66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cordova, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't be fooled by the name -- It's great”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We liked the firearms, antique toys, and the schoolhouses and tar-paper shack in the other building The small gift shop has some really cute toys as well as postcards, etc. Very reasonable.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Charley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper, Wyoming
Level Contributor
198 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A Great & Informative stop”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Good Historical museum...Friendly people....a little out-of-the-way but on the old main road through Gillette...

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank JC E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rockpile Museum also viewed

 

Been to Rockpile Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing