We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Dunmar Inn
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Evanston
Certificate of Excellence
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Met expectations”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

After getting our money back at the Prarie inn.. we came here... Great Military winter rate.. Double king beds...All interactions at the front desk were top notch.. Bedding and room clean, bright and well maintained.... Coffee and pancakes included in the price.. fruit and granola bars for the road...safe brightly lit front door.. JB's down the road for take out salad bar and sandwiches...Good experience...Train noise probably affects all the hotels.. Heat blower noisy..

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lynneelu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunmarInn, General Manager at Best Western Dunmar Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for writing a review to TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the beds and the linens and the Free breakfast in the Restaurant. And we are proud to be able to give our Guests a Government discount. We hope you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    137
    49
    18
    11
See reviews for
121
131
38
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Went for business. When we left, we forgot something in the closet. We called them and they shipped it right away. It was clean and comfortable. We would definitely stay here again if we are ever in the area. It was great, especially when you compare it to the other inns that were falling apart in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunmarInn, General Manager at Best Western Dunmar Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for writing the nice review to TripAdvisor about our Hotel. We are happy to hear that the items you forgot made it home to you safely. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
347 reviews
302 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Older but well maintained property: in summer the grounds are beautifully manicured & in winter, they do an excellent job of clearing the snow. Park directly in front of your door which makes it so much easier to load/unload luggage, laptops, ice chest, etc. The rooms are spotless & spacious w/flat screen TV, fridge/micro, free wifi w/strong signal. Not plastic but real glass water glasses & coffee cups. Gleaming bathroom with plenty of thick, fluffy white towels, & great water pressure. Slept well on wonderful beds with quality linens (including actual fitted bottom sheet, thank you very much!) and lots of nice fat & soft but not too soft pillows. Have stayed here before & will definitely stay here again. We enjoyed a memorable dinner at the "Legal Tender" restaurant on property & ps: Leslie took good care of us at check in :-)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LINDA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunmarInn, General Manager at Best Western Dunmar Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We are so happy to read all of the things that you enjoyed about our Property and very excited to read that you also enjoyed our Restaurant. Leslie will be delighted to know that she was able to make your stay a pleasant one.

We hope we see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Trip Advisor had given this hotel a 2.3 out of 5 so we were not prepared for the great hotel and experience we had. The new seven layer mattresses were out of this world. You can drive your car right up to the door. The whole experience reminded us of the way the great motor lodges ran in the fifties and sixties.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunmarInn, General Manager at Best Western Dunmar Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for the great review! We are so happy you enjoyed our Property enough to let others know that we do provide a great place to stay in Evanston!

We hope you will stay with us again if your travels ever bring you back this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, ID
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed at the Dunmar on a stopover during a Thanksgiving road trip, after an awful experience at another hotel in town. The staff at the Dunmar was friendly and helpful, and gave us a great rate even though we were calling at the last minute.

The room was large, clean, and featured some mid-century charm. We also liked the general hotel layout of several low-slung, one story buildings, as opposed to a traditional multi-story property.

Breakfast came with the room, and was a sit-down in the restaurant featuring coffee, juice and pancakes. Tasty!

Thumbs up to the Dunmar for their customer service and their hotel. We will stay again if we stop in Evanston in the future.

Room Tip: Tuesday night is karaoke night at the on-property lounge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamiMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bluff, California
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Best bang for the buck. Always clean and great staff. I've stayed in many Motel 6 in the last 2 years due to my job. Most are refurbished with hardwood floors and nice tables for laptop. copier, meals, and the showers are very nice. The Hi-speed internet is a bit sluggish but for the price it is the best buy out there if you are paying the bill !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Leumas100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I was relocating from Oregon to Iowa and made this my second stop on the drive. Never done more than pass by Evanston on the freeway and I was sorry I missed it previously - a nice town - and a great night's stay.

The hotel is large, all on one story with separate buildings - but my room was clean, toasty warm and very, very quiet. Lots of cars in the lot when I woke early to get on the road - but I never heard any noise from the lot or adjacent rooms.

The restaurant was EXCELLENT and you get a free coffee or tea, juice and plate of pancakes with your room - I added some bacon and got out of the place for less than $7 and I am a big tipper. Just a truly undiscovered gem. Great friendly and responsive staff. Freeway and local attraction access simply excellent. If you have reason to stop on I-80 - by all means give them a try.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sawbuck57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evanston hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Evanston
Hampton Inn Evanston
#1 of 15 in Evanston
310 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Evanston
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Evanston
Quality Inn Evanston
#6 of 15 in Evanston
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Evanston WY
Days Inn Evanston WY
#5 of 15 in Evanston
462 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Evanston
Comfort Inn Evanston
#7 of 15 in Evanston
108 reviews
1.7 mi away
Prairie Inn Motel
Prairie Inn Motel
#4 of 15 in Evanston
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dunmar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dunmar Inn

Property: Best Western Dunmar Inn
Address: 1601 Harrison Dr, Evanston, WY 82930-3204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Evanston
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Evanston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Evanston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Dunmar Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Best Western, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Dunmar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunmar Hotel Evanston
Best Western Evanston
Evanston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing