We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice rooms for an older property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Dunmar Inn
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Evanston
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice rooms for an older property”
Reviewed July 23, 2008

We found ourselves without a reservation and a booked solid town in Rock Springs WY. (Something to keep in mind with the local oil boom in the area)

The local Holiday Inn helped us locate this hotel (it was an unexpected late night 1.5 hour change of plans) my thanks go out to those that helped us.

Anyway we were surprised when we got to our room here. It looks as though the hotel had been renovated entirely, and older motel ambiance gave way to a brand new interior with all new furniture. Very nice beds!

We did not spend much time here, but were quite happy with room 751. We received a rate of $107.99 a night, with all taxes included.

A great clean roadside stop & highly recomended.

  • Liked — Room is very well appointed & comfortable
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Bazza13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    132
    49
    18
    11
See reviews for
116
128
38
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2007

We were disappointed in this motel after a hard day's drive from WA state. We usually stay in Ogden but decided to push the extra hour to Evanston. Won't do that again!
This is an old motel, probably quite the beautiful motel in it's heyday (50's?). Now, it's trying to mask a heavy smoke odor in the room and has a housekeeping staff that lets bedding go unchanged so that we found hair on the pillow and bedsheets. The front desk clerk was very unfriendly and unhelpful. Can no one manage even a smile anymore? We won't be back. Keep driving!

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank coloradofamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
163 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2007

Very nice property off of I-80. Nicely decorated -- even upscale for this part of the country. Room was nice and comfortable.

Added bonus was Legal Tender restaurant in the hotel. Delicious meal with great salad bar. Number of good selections, including croissant sandwiches, which were ample servings.

All in all, one of our best experiences of our vacation.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank MidwestLiketoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2007

We stayed here two nights (August 15 &16). The hotel is nice and clean and the rooms we had had two king beds in the room and an accordian door that you could close to divide the sink area and bathroom from the bed area of the room. The air conditioners in the rooms worked great. No continental Breakfast. Pool was ok, hot tub was nice. The restaraunt that is on site is expensive for dinner $13-$50 a plate, so we ate some where else. The staff we dealt with were great. We scheduled wake up calls and they did the wake up calls which was great. IF we stay in Evanston again I would stay here again.

  • Liked — DThe rooms were really clean.
  • Disliked — the location.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cjokasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midway, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2007

Moved here after a hell night at the Comfort. If you can ignore the busty blonde in the parking lot, you should be able to tolerate a night here. Clean and recently remodeled. The low point was a drunken lodger who threatened to kill someone's pet dog just outside the lobby. Evanston is a terrible place. Avoid it.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GatlinburgGadfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, OR
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2007

Stayed 2 nights at this hotel on a recent business trip. Stayed in a recently remodeled room.. Bed was great. Room was larger than normal. Breakfast at restaurant was superb. Free wireless internet.

  • Stayed November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JackSparrowOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2007

One word: HAIR. There was hair on the pillows and on the sheets. Frankly, I don't think they'd laundered the sheets since the last stay... but I arrived with my family at 11:30pm and was too tired to deal with it.

The door was drafty and difficult to regulate the heat.

The television speaker was broken and you couldn't turn it up loud enough to hear it.

Old facilities.

Window in the shower/bathtub.

NO continental breakfast.

BUT I was only paying in the $60.00 range so what can you expect.

  • Liked — Close to Interstate
  • Disliked — Dirty and old and no free breakfast
  • Tips/Secrets — stay somewhere else
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank trekker69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evanston hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Evanston
Hampton Inn Evanston
#1 of 15 in Evanston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Evanston
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Evanston
Quality Inn Evanston
#6 of 15 in Evanston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Evanston WY
Days Inn Evanston WY
#4 of 15 in Evanston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Evanston
Comfort Inn Evanston
#7 of 15 in Evanston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
1.7 mi away
Prairie Inn Motel
Prairie Inn Motel
#5 of 15 in Evanston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dunmar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dunmar Inn

Property: Best Western Dunmar Inn
Address: 1601 Harrison Dr, Evanston, WY 82930-3204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Evanston
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Evanston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Evanston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Dunmar Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Best Western, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Dunmar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunmar Hotel Evanston
Best Western Evanston
Evanston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing