We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place....one recurring complaint”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Dunmar Inn
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Evanston
Certificate of Excellence
Chugwater
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good place....one recurring complaint”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The Dunmar is unique to other large places I have stayed at in that, while it has over 100 rooms, they are all at ground level spread over about 2 acres of land. They have a bar, restaurant and banquet facilities on site and all three are very good.

My complaint is the reservations system and how the staff deals with requests on arrival.

My fraternal organization has a dinner at the Dunmar every year. Some of us travel over 200 miles to get there and, naturally, wish to stay where we eat (and drink). We annually request that we all stay in the same area, yet when we arrive we find ourselves spread all over the complex. The staff is generally unwilling (or unauthroized) to make changes. How tough is this request, Dunmar??

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chugwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    138
    50
    18
    11
See reviews for
121
133
38
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montana
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

If you want to get any sleep at all, don't stay here. There is a bar in the middle of the grounds and all the rooms have exterior doors that face it. When I stayed (3 nights, during the week), there were people partying it up LATE every night. It was so obnoxious, I didn't get any sleep and will never stay again! But, the rooms were clean & spacious and the front desk staff was friendly!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jessicatraveler32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We stayed here during a snowstorm when we could not get home. We were happy to find that the Inn had a room for us at the last moment and at a great price (military rate).

Room Tip: The rooms are in various buildings around the property, opening to the outside with parking right in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joster1137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

When I went to the restaurant, I waited for 20 minutes for a hostess to show up to seat us. No one ever came. So I went to the front desk to talk to a manager about it and the lady was on the phone talking and laughing with someone, obviously a personal phone call. After 10 minutes I walked away. POOR SERVICE. No wait a minute, NO Service.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We stayed for a week. The rooms were not very clean and everything was outdated. We had two rooms and one of the connecting doors wouldn't open and the staff couldn't open the door. The restaurant and the service were not very good. The only thing I liked was the bed. It was very comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HisGirlCooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Clean rooms and grounds. Has a restaurant and lounge on site.
Friendly staff and nice pool.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddandoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwick, ny
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

This hotel appears to have been a "no name inn" in the past. The rooms were comprised of single story buildings scattered around the complex - very unusual for the Best Western style. However, the interior of the room was decorated as a Best Western and had the comforts of one. The beds and pillows were very comfortable, as was the rollaway bed we ordered. Instead of a breakfast nook, where you served yourself, you ate in a restaurant - but were only able to order pancakes with the voucher - making the "free breakfast" very limited, and little variety. The staff were very pleasant and we were overall pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregoryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evanston hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Evanston
Hampton Inn Evanston
#1 of 15 in Evanston
313 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Evanston
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Evanston
Quality Inn Evanston
#6 of 15 in Evanston
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Evanston WY
Days Inn Evanston WY
#4 of 15 in Evanston
464 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Evanston
Comfort Inn Evanston
#7 of 15 in Evanston
108 reviews
1.7 mi away
Prairie Inn Motel
Prairie Inn Motel
#5 of 15 in Evanston
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dunmar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dunmar Inn

Property: Best Western Dunmar Inn
Address: 1601 Harrison Dr, Evanston, WY 82930-3204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Evanston
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Evanston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Evanston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Dunmar Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Dunmar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunmar Hotel Evanston
Best Western Evanston
Evanston Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing