We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TV troubles”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Evanston
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Evanston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed the nights of Aug 2 and returning home on Aug. 13, 2013.
The Aug. 2 night was fine. It was a nice hotel - clean, comfortable, price was right. Breakfast buffet average.The night of the 13th, we had just come past a new forest fire east of SLC and wanted to see about it on TV. Well, all the channels worked except the one that was covering the fire and one other one. Called the desk and they sent the manager up. He tried everything he knew to do and had a lengthy conversation with the cable company. Still the HD channel did not get fixed and was not fixed even in the morning when we checked out. I thought maybe some compensation would be offered but such was not the case.
The manager was not in yet when we checked out so couldn't mention it to him.
I realize it was not the hotel's fault, but it was a little irritating.

Room Tip: I believe this was in room 320 if I remember correctly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunshine810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMEVWHY, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Evanston, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are glad that your stay on the 2nd was good. I apologize for the tv troubles that you experienced during your stay on the 13th, it was an unfortunate incident, it was frustrating for us as well, to not be able to solve the issue for you immediately. Since that time, we have been able to ensure that all of our HD channels are available and working in our guest rooms. We hope that you will provide us with the opportunity to host you again in the future. I’m sorry that I was not available at the time that you checked out. If you have any concerns, please do not hesitate to bring it to the attention of any staff member, as we all want to make our guests’ stays as pleasant as possible. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 207 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

This Holiday Inn was a pleasant new place to stay. Our room was comfortable, very clean, and better than we expected. Check in was fast and very professional. We did not expect as nice a place as this in an interstate hotel for the weary, We would stay again for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markwr99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMEVWHY, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Evanston, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear guest, thank you for taking time to write a review of your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our clean, comfortable guest rooms. We are glad that your experience with our staff and facilities exceeded your expectations. We try to make each of our guests' stays as enjoyable as possible. We hope to have you as a guest again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We chose this hotel based on high ratings from tripadvisor and were very disappointed. Our room had not been cleaned well at all. As a former housekeeper I can attest to what is a clean room versus a room that needs some cosmetic touch-ups. I do not understand how a housekeeper can leave a white bathroom tub with hairs stuck to it. They were very clear. My daughter pointed out the sunflower seed shells next to the bedside table (not ours either). Tired and needing rest we agreed to ignore this oversight. What could not be ignored was when we pulled back the bed covers and found more hair on the "clean" linens. We called the front desk and upon our request were moved to another room the manager assured us was very clean. In this "clean" room were more hairs stuck to the toilet and when my husband went to plug his phone charger behind the bedside table discovered a used plastic cup. Needless to say we had a very unpleasant, restless sleep. In the morning the guest clerk asked my husband how the stay was- he told her. Her response was, "oh yeah that housekeeper must have cleaned that room too. We'll have to talk to her." No apology, no discount, no attempt to make this experience any less unpleasant.

If that was not enough, the evening manager thought it was okay for his young children to be unattended in the hotel pool for well over a half hour. We could not fathom how any parent, never mind a hotel employee would thing it was acceptable to assume the other guests would watch your children. It made it very awkward and made us nervous for the children's safety.

This will be our last time staying at this hotel and possibly at any other Holiday Inn Express. We would NOT recommend this place.

Room Tip: Skip this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NT2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Evanston, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear NT2005 ,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate your interactions with the staff prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Friendly "like home" welcome at the front desk. Quiet, calm atmosphere. A little run down but clean. I felt the price was a high. TC's restaurant next door was a bonus, good home cooking, wide variety (including steaks) on the menu with a full bar.
Holiday Inn breakfasts always disappoint me, so I skipped that entirely.
As with many other hotels, it forever baffles me why ice buckets, coffee makers, glasses and coffee cups are in the bathroom. Uck.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CindyARobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMEVWHY, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Evanston, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear guest, we appreciate your feedback. We enjoy welcoming each of our guests. During our busiest season, we hope that the quiet, calm atmosphere helped you to relax and enjoy your stay with us. Cleanliness is very important to us, thank you for noticing that. We hope that during you next stay with us you will enjoy some of our complimentary breakfast items such as our warm cinnamon rolls, biscuits and gravy, bacon, scrambled eggs, sausage, and omlettes. We will check into the possibility of rearranging the location of the items in the guest rooms. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Our great experience started with the gentleman who helped us at the front desk. He was super friendly, and seemed happy to help us. We were exhausted from our road trip through Utah, and when we came upon this place we hoped we could get a room. He said we were in luck and they were near full, but ended up having the perfect room for our family. There was cold water with lemons and limes in it in the lobby, which was quite refreshing. The kids also enjoyed the free cookies that were at the front desk. Our room was clean, and the pool, although small, was too. We swam for a couple hours which was a great way to wind down. Breakfast the next day was great, and we left this place feeling refreshed and ready to hit the road again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jilly070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMEVWHY, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Evanston, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. All members of our staff are happy to help our guests in any way that we can. We are glad that we had room for your family, and glad that you enjoyed the refreshing water and cookies upon arrival. Also, it is nice to hear that you were able to make good use of our pool. Our hot breakfast was a great way to start your next day on the road. We hope that you will return to stay with us during your future travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel while in Evanston for a wedding. The hotel has everything a business or short-term traveler needs and none of the useless stuff. Absolutely the best staff I have come across in many a hotel stay: pleasant, helpful and human. The free breakfast actually tastes good and the beds are comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMEVWHY, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Evanston, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear guest, we thank you for writing a review about your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your interaction with our staff. It is good to hear that you had a good night of rest in our comfortable beds and a refreshing breakfast that tasted good. We hope to have you stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

As soon as I walked into this hotel, I felt welcomed and comfortable. The desk clerk gave us bottled water and some snacks because they could tell my girlfriend and I had been on a very long drive that day. The room was clean, and had all of the amenities I could ask for. Would definitely stay here again if coming through this area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMEVWHY, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Evanston, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear guest, we appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. All of our staff value each and every guest of our hotel. We welcome our guests one at a time. We are also glad to know that you enjoyed our guest room, and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evanston hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Evanston
Hampton Inn Evanston
#2 of 15 in Evanston
341 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Dunmar Inn
Best Western Dunmar Inn
#1 of 15 in Evanston
511 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Evanston
Comfort Inn Evanston
#7 of 15 in Evanston
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Evanston
Quality Inn Evanston
#6 of 15 in Evanston
121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Evanston WY
Days Inn Evanston WY
#5 of 15 in Evanston
510 reviews
2.1 mi away
Prairie Inn Motel
Prairie Inn Motel
#4 of 15 in Evanston
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Evanston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Evanston

Address: 1965 Harrison Dr, Evanston, WY 82930-3247
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Evanston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Evanston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Evanston
Price Range: $95 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Evanston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the newest and finest hotel in Southwest Wyoming, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. We are located in the beautiful Bear River valley about halfway between Salt Lake City, Utah and Rock Springs, Wyoming. Evanston is just minutes away from many seasonal recreational opportunities. From Cross-Country Skiing and Snowmobiling in the winter to boating, fishing, and hiking in the summer. You'll arrive to a spacious and beautifully decorated lobby complete with a fireplace. While you're here, relax in our indoor heated pool and spa. Wake up to in-room coffee every morning, and enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast, where we serve hot, fresh cinnamon rolls plus a wide variety of other breakfast favorites. Every spacious room is equipped with a refrigerator, and a microwave. We also offer free high-speed Internet in all rooms. Accommodations range from beautiful spacious rooms to affordable suites and luxurious Jacuzzi suites for that special occasion. You can look forward to a wonderful night away from home. Visit Evanston, WY and Stay Smart at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. All non-smoking rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Evanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Evanston Hotel Evanston
Holiday Inn Evanston
Evanston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing