We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a scenic area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Evanston
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Evanston
Certificate of Excellence
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a scenic area”
Reviewed May 20, 2008

Stopped here for one night on a road trip. This HIEX felt newer than some of the other ones I had stayed in. The rooms were comfy and quiet. While there is nothing much else to say about the hotel, the breakfast was satisfying. JB's Restaurant, on the other hand, was not. It was nice it was adjacent to the hotel but the quality of the food was horrible. "One of the worst salad bars I've ever seen" said my traveling companion. Besides the cruddy restaurant, the hotel provided some much needed sleep.

  • Liked — Right off the freeway, with no noise
  • Disliked — Not many dining choices
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cps102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    59
    10
    2
    6
See reviews for
60
54
16
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2008

This is a new hotel and extra nice. The lobby is
so pretty, the rooms are large and the beds are very
comfortable. Really nice toiletries in the bathroom.
Very nice breakfast selections. Great place to stay.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed
  • Disliked — There wasn't a thing I didn't like
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JP126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2008

This is an ok motel with somewhat thin walls. Would like to have heard less noise from adjacent room and hall. Bed could have been more comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ejbOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corbridge, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2007

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express at Evanston for one night and thought that it was great. The room was nice and clean and it had a big bathroom.

The complimentary buffet breakfast was pretty standard fare but was fine. If you don’t want to drive anywhere for dinner, then there are two restaurants next to the hotel. One is a standard chain family restaurant (JBs, I think). The other, where we went, is a steaks and seafood place called TCs. It had zero atmosphere but the food was excellent.

I didn’t use the pool at the hotel but the exercise room was well equipped with a good weights machine as well as the more standard kit.

We paid USD 105 for our room and I felt that it was good value. I would have no hesitation in staying there again.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank AA_Corbridge_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2007

The hotel is right off of the freeway. It is clean and has an exercise room and pool. The staff is friendly. The decorations are contemporary. I felt safe at this hotel. Unfortunately, I could hear the pool from my room, but that was okay since it closed at 11PM and I didn't go to bed before then. The breakfast is pretty good. Not the healthiest in the world but there was a lot to choose from, including cereal. I think I gained 6 pounds in Evanston :) Anyway, the exercise room was small, but the equipment was newer and there is a TV and a weight set. The room itself was almost immaculate and the bed was comfy. The furniture was okay and the TV was good. Do I have any complaints? Well, it seems overpriced. However, I was satisfied.

Don't expect to be staying in Hawaii. Evanston is a little town of 11,000 people, with many national food chains and now even a Starbucks. It is much smaller than I originally thought. I had a view of the parking lot and gas station, but come on, what do you expect?

We went to Wyoming Downs, which was fun. I had a winning streak. We didn't see the bull riders, but I will probably go up again to see that. People in Evanston are not overly nice. They are not superficial and I get the feeling that, generally speaking, they don't feel they owe anyone any favors.

Good luck! Have fun!

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jberry28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2007

This is a two year old HIEx located on the west end of town. Easy on and off from I-80. Both exterior and lobby appearance was inviting. Our room 313, which faced the freeway, was a little smaller than normal HIEx rooms. Freeway noise was not a problem. There was a good size work table and lighting was very good. Twin beds were soft and with a choice of pillows. The bathroom was a good size, lighting good and sink counter was a large. All facilities work fine.
Breakfast area was a good size with about 8 to 10 tables. Food selection had both hot and cold items and the attendant continually replenish items. There is a JB restaurant just to the west of the motel. Parking area was a good size.
My only complant was there was no 2007 HI Directorys available to have and the desk person was very indifferent to my request.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank Jimdanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
us
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2007

Staff was very friendly and efficient. Room was clean and spacious. breakfast was decent but OJ was watered down. I will be staying here when I come back next month. I stayed here with my wife and two young daughters and we recommend it for a clean quiet comfortable stay.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
Thank mylokelani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evanston hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Evanston
Hampton Inn Evanston
#1 of 15 in Evanston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Dunmar Inn
Best Western Dunmar Inn
#2 of 15 in Evanston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Evanston
Quality Inn Evanston
#6 of 15 in Evanston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Evanston WY
Days Inn Evanston WY
#5 of 15 in Evanston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Evanston
Comfort Inn Evanston
#7 of 15 in Evanston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
2.1 mi away
Prairie Inn Motel
Prairie Inn Motel
#4 of 15 in Evanston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Evanston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Evanston

Property: Holiday Inn Express Evanston
Address: 1965 Harrison Dr, Evanston, WY 82930-3247
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Evanston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Evanston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Evanston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Evanston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the newest and finest hotel in Southwest Wyoming, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. We are located in the beautiful Bear River valley about halfway between Salt Lake City, Utah and Rock Springs, Wyoming. Evanston is just minutes away from many seasonal recreational opportunities. From Cross-Country Skiing and Snowmobiling in the winter to boating, fishing, and hiking in the summer. You'll arrive to a spacious and beautifully decorated lobby complete with a fireplace. While you're here, relax in our indoor heated pool and spa. Wake up to in-room coffee every morning, and enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast, where we serve hot, fresh cinnamon rolls plus a wide variety of other breakfast favorites. Every spacious room is equipped with a refrigerator, and a microwave. We also offer free high-speed Internet in all rooms. Accommodations range from beautiful spacious rooms to affordable suites and luxurious Jacuzzi suites for that special occasion. You can look forward to a wonderful night away from home. Visit Evanston, WY and Stay Smart at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. All non-smoking rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Evanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Evanston Hotel Evanston
Holiday Inn Evanston
Evanston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing