We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special, but the Econo did the job for us”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
EconoLodge Evanston
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Evanston
Putnam, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Nothing special, but the Econo did the job for us”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This Econo Lodge is average all the way, but we got a free night with our Choice Hotels points, so we were okay with it. The place is pretty beat around the edges, but we did not encounter the cleanliness issues that other reviewers have mentioned. The bed and shower were OK, the wi-fi worked fine, and the TV had a good selection of channels. Breakfast was pretty lame, but so are most low-end hotel breakfasts. If you don't go in with unrealistic expectations and just want to bunk for the night, this place will do you fine. If you like to walk for exercise, the entrance to the Bear River Greenway is right across the street, and that is quite nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadTripRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    10
    11
    13
See reviews for
6
16
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We arrived in the afternoon, the parking lot was deserted......which should have taken the clue and kept on driving but we had made a reservation. The exterior looked awful. The corridors were dismal. The room was dusty and dirty, it smelled of dirt. The bed was like a trampoline and had a frame that stuck out right where you sit down to get into the bed. I hit my shin twice before I took a washcloth and wrapped it around the piece of metal. When I told the young lady at the front desk about it, she laughed. There was no protein for breakfast, it was all sweet carbohydrates....not good if you are watching your sugars. The only redeeming factor for this property was that there was a small public park across the street where you could walk your dog. I would avoid this place at all cost.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldsnnyldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Evanston hotels

1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Was disappointed in cleanliness, service and quality of this hotel. I wasn't expecting a four star hotel, but yuk! As far as cleanliness. Visible food/ trash particles on ragged carpeting, visible dirt all over blow dryer and several long dark hairs all over room.
Beds were broken down and the clerk did not make eye contact at check in or out and both times they seemed like we were a hassle.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GadaboutMumzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Our room was dirty and smelled bad. There were even someone else's dirty clothes hanging in the bathroom. Did the housekeeper not see them when she cleaned?? The beds were hard and the pillows lumpy. One of the desk clerks was rude to us.

Room Tip: Don't take a room on the first floor. The rooms have large windows which open onto the parking l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We reserved this room ahead of time knowing we would be staying after a 13 hour drive. We went cheap knowing we wouldn't have time to take advantage of any amenities. The bathroom was up-to-date and clean. The rest of the room was outdated. It had old hunter green carpet and an old bed with flat pillows. We fell asleep at 11 pm and were woken several times by the train, cars starting in a parking lot out back, what sounded like an after bar closing party above us, and vacuuming in the morning. In other words thin walls. Breakfast had cereal, toast, toaster waffles, frozen bagels, packaged muffins. No fruit or yogurt. You get what you pay for. I didn't get bedbugs, would have gotten plenty of sleep if not for party, and got breakfast at McDonalds for $5.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A_from_Midtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We were stranded as highway 80 closed to the East. The Econolodge room was small but adequate for our needs. The linnens were clean but threadbare with a few holes.. but it was clean enough to meet my standards. We were comfortable and slept well. There was a refrigerator in the room but we didn't use it as we were just there for the night and left early in the morning. The breakfast was adequate but the milk and things weren't refrigerated. The price was fairly low for the 2 adults at $44.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston_Econolodge, General Manager at EconoLodge Evanston, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review.

I have passed on your comments to the owner, who has promised us new bedding will be ordered soon.

Thank you for your concern about the milk. The pitcher that the milk sits in is somewhat deceptive in appearance. It may not look like the milk is being kept cold, but the lid of the pitcher actually has an ice core that sits down in the center of the container keeping the milk cold for several hours. We have more then one, so if we had a particularly warm day, I'll swap out the lid with another, to make sure the milk stays cold and doesn't sour.

Thanks again for staying with us, and hopefully the next time you're in town, it won't be because you were stranded.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy, Utah, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2012

I stay here every year, for the last 4 years now over Memorial Weekend. I really like it, I love the river walk way across the street, the continental breakfast, the upgrades they have been doing and the price is great! I can walk to main street from here. I don't need to spend hundreds of dollars to sleep and take a shower somewhere, this is just the place for me. I have always had AMAZING service. I would not stay anywhere else in Evanston!
LG

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Hippiechic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston_Econolodge, General Manager at EconoLodge Evanston, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words, and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to seeing you again on Memorial Day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Evanston hotels
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn Evanston
Quality Inn Evanston
#6 of 15 in Evanston
115 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Evanston WY
Days Inn Evanston WY
#5 of 15 in Evanston
484 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Dunmar Inn
Best Western Dunmar Inn
#1 of 15 in Evanston
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Evanston
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Evanston
Comfort Inn Evanston
#7 of 15 in Evanston
110 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Evanston
Hampton Inn Evanston
#2 of 15 in Evanston
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EconoLodge Evanston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EconoLodge Evanston

Property: EconoLodge Evanston
Address: 70 Bear River Dr, Evanston, WY 82930-2807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Evanston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Evanston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — EconoLodge Evanston 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your EconoLodge Evanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing