We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prepare to be surprised!”

The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel and Restaurant
Price range: $20 - $45
Cuisines: American, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: The hotel was established in 1905 and is known as 'Wyoming's hidden gem' despite being located just 3 miles off Interstate 80 between Rawlins and Laramie. The Victorian era hotel has 12 beautifully decorated en-suite rooms and a full service fine dining restaurant serving dinner prepared by our Cordon Bleu de Paris trained chef (and owner). The hotel is situated in 10 acres of meadow and woodland alongside the Medicine Bow River. Open year round, subject to the vagaries of the famous Wyoming weather!
Casper, Wyoming, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Prepare to be surprised!”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

I love to cook and to find a restaurant that uses local in-season ingredients and that tastes so incredibly good - well it is just absolutely delightful. We highly recommend the lamb - it is out of this world.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricHotel, Owner at The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such nice comments. I will tell the staff too, as they do not always hear about your appreciation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    6
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Quite and peaceful”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is absolutely beautiful. People are so very nice in this area Susan and Arthur make you feel right and home, as do the rest of staff also. We would highly recommend this to everyone. Food was delicious! A very relaxing stay with very enjoyable people.

Helpful?
Thank Carolyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricHotel, Owner at The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, we enjoyed meeting you too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gourmet!”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Lovely dinner prepared by owner Susan. Beautiful flavours, and well balanced menu to choose from. Best Lamb and sticky toffee pudding we've had at a restaurant!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 7813Karen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricHotel, General Manager at The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and glad you got back to Canada safely, no more bike problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Valley
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“2014 Mondavi Wine Pairing dinner!”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Again we ventured to the Elk Mountain Wine Pairing dinner. This was our 3rd Annual trip for this very special dinner and very nice wines. No disappointments here, but several surprises as the new dinner courses...paired with the wine...were awesome! I was impressed with the Filet of Beef Tournedos!

Another great Wine Pair dinner and experience! Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doctor83353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia
1 review
“Fantastic...”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

from outside porch of the General John Fremont Suite to the gazebo on the grounds to the phenomenal restaurant.... this visit has been a high light.... a wonderful scenic drive through the snowy mountains... wildlife .... relaxing and wonderful...

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing