We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elk Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We'd not been to Wyoming before. The scenery is amazing. However, the very best part of the trip was our stay at the Historic Elk Mountain Hotel. The owners, Susan and Arthur Havers are not only fabulous hosts - but incredibly wonderful people as well! Oh! And did I mention that Susan is a Cordon Bleu chef? We attempted to clear their fabulous wine cellar but failed.

Such hospitality is rare these days. I could not recommend the Elk Mountain Hotel more highly!

Katie Spriggs
Contes, France

Room Tip: They are all beautiful. The Evans Suite is magnificent.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSpriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
There are newer reviews for The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 203 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

We had such a great time. Susan and Arthur were the perfect hosts for our visit. We found the setting serene and comfortable with the highest quality of facilities. We stayed at the beginning of our 3 week vacation and all other places we stayed paled in comparison. The dinner was so delicious. Susan is an artist with food. Breakfast was perfect. We cannot say enough about how excited we were to make such a find. After dinner, we took a bottle of wine to the gazebo and watched the stars shine over the beautiful Wyoming sky. The hotel is a jewel in the west. A place we hope to back to many times over.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DocJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

My wife and I heard of the Elk Mountain Hotel and Restaurant on radio ads and decided to try it out for two days and one night. As soon as we arrived we knew we were about to experience something very special. The facility went through a major renovation about 10 years ago and it is spectacular. We booked the one and only ground floor room. The room has a private entrance with a deck. The room was amazing and veryclean and cozy. We had the opportunity to get a couple of cocktails prior to dinner and looked around the rest of the hotel and sat on an outdoor 2nd floor balcony enjoying the scenery and quite time. Arthur, one of the proprietors came and found us and invited us into the restaurant for dinner. The meals were prepared by Susan who was formally trained as a Chef in France. Her food and presentation was amazing. My wife ordered the Rib Eye and I ordered the Filet. Both meals were prepared just as we asked and the steaks melted in our mouths. Of course, at this point we had to order desserts and they did not disappoint as well.

The night in our room was very quite and comfortable. Overall, the total experience was supurb and next time we will go an entire weekend. Do not get fooled by its location. This is a great place to stay and eat. 5 stars............try it out!

Room Tip: While all rooms are wonderful try #12. It is on the ground floor and has a private entrance and deck...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myoung3625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

An oasis located just off of I-80. Grand accommodations in the style of a bygone era. It's fun to imagine the activity that took place in the days of the big bands when people came from miles around to dance on the weekends. Susan and Arthur are delightful proprietors who make the stay fun and entertaining. I strongly recommend Arthur's mojitos, and Susan's cooking was something we never expected to encounter in Wyoming. Her duck a l'orange was amazing, only to be followed by eggs Benedict the following morning for breakfast! Truly a memorable experience and a wonderful respite for us between the Tetons and Denver. It's only three miles off the highway, but you feel as if you've entered another world!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trsh_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

My boyfriend and I had intended to stay in Rawlins on our cross-country dash, but all the hotels were booked. We're so glad they were! We found the Elk Mountain Hotel online and made our booking post-haste. Wonderful, comfortable rooms, fantastic food, and very friendly proprietors made our stay easily the most pleasant on our journey. We'd love to come back when we have more time to explore the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mbira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This restored historic hotel provides superb accommodations with attention to every detail. Our hosts, Susan and Arthur, were most friendly, professional, and courteous. The food, prepared by Susan, the chef/owner who trained at the I'Eolle de Cordon Bleu, was 4/5 star quality. It is hard to imagine a better retreat in the very scenic mountains of Wyoming with the Medicine Bow River nearby and abundant wildlife in the area, deer, moose, and antelope. Check out the website: www.elkmountainhotel.com.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daveed_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Elk Mountain is barely a dot on the map today but in it's heyday it must have had a lot more going on. You get off I-80 and weave through Wyoming countryside to get to Elk Mountain (population on sign says 191). The Elk Mountain Hotel is located beside the Medicine Bow River just across a bridge from the main road. It retains its Victorian splendor with period furniture and lots of old pictures and posters from bygone days. Each of the 12 rooms is furnished differently and the two rooms I stayed in on two different occasions were both very comfortable with Victorian decor, modern bathrooms and nice amenities.
Authur makes a mean cocktail and Susan makes a wonderful dinner in their delightful restaurant (always open for guests and to outside visitors on certain days of the week) with red poppy paintings gracing the walls. They are delightful to talk with and great proprietors who run a top-notch hotel, perfect for a get-away weekend or a family reunion.

Room Tip: The rooms vary in size (some are a bit small) so be sure to specify what you need.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssdive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel

Address: 102 East Main Street, Elk Mountain, WY 82324
Location: United States > Wyoming > Elk Mountain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elk Mountain
Price Range: $161 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a small Victorian country inn (est 1905) in its own grounds next to the Medicine Bow River. Located midway between Laramie and Rawlins and just 3 miles south of the I-80. We are an adult facility with no accommodation for children or pets. The hotel has a dining room offering full service breakfasts and gourmet style dinners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing