We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stagecoach Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Dubois
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The Stagecoach Motor Inn is right in the center of town. You can walk to nearly every shop and restaurant. Their rooms are quite spacious, clean and non-smoking!!

They do not skimp on the amenities. I was quite amazed when I saw a flat screen TV in the room. They do have an outdoor pool and indoor hot tub.

If I had to give a downside, it would be the lack of air conditioning, but who needs it when the temps overnight and in the morning are quite brisk. You actually need to use the individually controlled heat in the room.

Overall.....GREAT STAY at a GREAT PRICE!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
There are newer reviews for Stagecoach Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 428 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

We arrived here on a mid 80 degree day to discover this almost $100 a night motel has no air conditioning! When I asked the desk clerk she said "just open the windows, it cools off here at night". Well, it did cool off, about 2 AM.

In order to get any air flow you had to also open a window on the walk way by the front door so anybody who wanted to "visit" had easy access.

By the time I figured out how to close the back window I (and my wife!) was wide awake. Then I couldn't get the torn up, broken window shade to stay down to keep out the glaring outside light. I think we may have gotten 3 hours sleep.

Oh, did I mention there are only curtains on half of the window?

There was no breakfast available but we ate at the decent little Cowboy Cafe, almost next door. Pretty good food for the money but dead flies all over the window sills.

Room Tip: Bring a BIG fan if you stay in the summer, and some of the eye shades for the light.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1gal1guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSuda, Owner at Stagecoach Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Hello,

We are so sorry that your stay with us was an unpleasant one, clearly this is not the normal experience at our property (as evident by all our reviews). It is true that we do not have air conditioning at our motel. We live at 7000 feet elevation and our typical high temperatures are around 80 degrees with virtually no humidity. With 30 - 40 degree swings in temperatures nightly, we typically wake up to 40 - 50 degrees every morning. The last 3 mornings have been in the high 30's. We have to turn the heat down in guest rooms all summer long and air just isn't warranted. We do provide a fan in all our rooms and as far as the blinds are concerned we will look into it, but for the record all of our rooms have blackout blinds except for our suites that offer horizontal blinds and curtains. We will take all comments good and bad to heart and will address them with sincerity, however we will not be able to do anything about the flies in the window at the cafe that you included in your review about our motel.

Sincerely
Rene Suda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Dubois is a sleepy little town that is a good alternative to Jackson Hole. Although the Stagecoach is an older Motel style property it doesn't disappoint in value or amenities. The lobby is quaint and actually wish I could have spent some time in there! Great personal service. Would have been nice to have a refrigerator and microwave in the room, and some type of breakfast would be nice (coffee was available in the lobby). However, the value was there and I'll be staying at the Stagecoach again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skullmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSuda, Owner at Stagecoach Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

We have a great location in the Town of Dubois'. Situated on the banks of Horse Creek and right in the heart of the downtown, you can park and walk to many shops and restaurants all located in our block. We are also just a mere 50 miles to Teton National Park and 75 miles from Yellowstone. When you leave our motel you will feel like your in either of the parks within just minutes on your trip over the Famous Togwottee Pass, and the Togwottee Trail to Yellowstone.

Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Rene Suda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

No fancy frills just great rate, very,very clean, very cordial staff, comfortable bed, in the middle of downtown art galleries and restaurants a few steps away. We will always stay at the Stagecoach Motor Inn in Dubois Wyoming.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSuda, Owner at Stagecoach Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Thanks for the great review and the loyalty of becoming a repeat guest. We appreciate it and will keep working hard for a great experience in your travels. P.S. The Stagecoach has all types of rooms to accommodate each and every traveler, all with different amenities and prices. For a small increase in the rate we can get you into one of our upgrade suites next time if you desire.

See you next time, have a great vacation.

Rene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My family and I stay here often when we come back to dubois. We love this place the staff is great and the rooms are alwayz clean. My bed was a little hard this time but I slept well .. thank you stage coach

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin-larson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSuda, Owner at Stagecoach Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Hello,

Thanks for the great review about our property. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to your return. I share these comments with our housekeepers as I believe its helps motivate them in continuing to do a great job. See you next time you make the Stagecoach your place for the night.

Rene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

A room block was made for a family reunion. The hotel gave the reunion rate to the families that called in for that room block using the family reunion name, as told to do so. The hotel also made a room block for the same reunion under the name of the individual who called in and reserved the room block.

The hotel called the individual to see if the rooms were going to be used and the individual said yes because they knew people were coming to attend. After the first night, the hotel wanted to charge that individual $800 for the unused rooms, even though they were charging the reunion rate to the other family members attending who were staying at the hotel. The owner was mad and blamed the reunion party when in fact it was the hotel who made two identical room blocks using different room block names. The hotel failed to tell the individual they called that no one had blocked any rooms, under their name. Also, the hotel did not have a release date of the room block like most hotels do.

The reunion parties who stayed at the hotel ended up paying more for their rooms which was wrong. The owner should have owned up to the hotel's mistake. Warning - be careful and double check everything, especially if you are on a tight budget. The customer is not the hotel's first priority.

To make it right, the hotel should refund the difference of the reunion rate and rate charged. They know the individuals involved. If this were to happen, a new review will be forthcoming, otherwise, there are plenty of other nice looking hotels in Dubois.

Room Tip: No A/C so get a room on the lower level. It was hot at night and only a small fan was available.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSuda, Owner at Stagecoach Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Family reunion, we have been catering to family reunions, wedding party and many other groups for 35 years now. After having met with the entire family I believe that they felt just as much to blame as we were, and that we come to a monetary agreement that we both felt was acceptable, and that the person that was responsible for making the arrangements from the beginning wasn't charged anything. I too apologize for the misunderstanding, and I would like any future groups to know that because of the incident we have once again revised our policies on groups to avoid something like this from happening in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This might be what Jackson Hole used to be! We felt very comfortable and cared for by the staff. They pointed us to a great bistro for dinner and a wonderful cafe for breakfast in this quaint little town. Loved it!

Room Tip: There is no A/C in the rooms. Did not matter to us on a cool evening, but some may not like this.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSuda, Owner at Stagecoach Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Thanks for the great review. You are so true about our little town. It is about as close to the old west as one can get anymore and unspoiled as well. As for the air conditioning in our motel, we don't really need it. Welive at 7000 feet elevation and a hot day for us is maybe 85 degrees, with no humidity and 30 degree swings in temperature nightly its just not needed. Thanks for the stay come again.

Rene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubois hotels
0.2 mi away
Twin Pines Lodge And Cabins
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Dubois
Super 8 Dubois
#6 of 9 in Dubois
175 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Trail's End
The Trail's End
#5 of 9 in Dubois
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Black Bear Inn
Black Bear Inn
#4 of 9 in Dubois
80 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Longhorn Ranch Lodge & RV Resort
0.7 mi away
Chinook Winds Motel
Chinook Winds Motel
#8 of 9 in Dubois
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stagecoach Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stagecoach Motor Inn

Address: 103 Ramshorn Street, P.O. Box 216, Dubois, WY 82513
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Dubois
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Dubois
Price Range: $70 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stagecoach Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stagecoach Motor Inn is Dubois' most complete lodging in town. Located in the Heart of Downtown you can park and walk to many resturants, shops and nightlife. Our Inn consists of a varitey of different rooms from standard rooms with either a single or double queen to Suites and Kitchenetts. As of 2016 we now have Air Conditioning in all our room. Swimming Pool, Hot Tub, Picnic and Playground Area, Coin Op Laundry and WiFi for the property are some of the amenities you can enjoy while your here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Stagecoach Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stagecoach Hotel Dubois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing