We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bear Brilliant Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Bear Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Black Bear Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Dubois
All over the world
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bear Brilliant Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

We loved our stay at the Black Bear Inn. Liz, her family, friends and staff made us feel incredibly welcome and as well as s'mores by the river they even gave us some dinner! Rooms were large and cosy and particularly like the rubber ducks. The only downside is that we stayed the one night. Thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DickyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizFurman, Manager at Black Bear Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Wow! What a nice review! You can stay! Thanks so much for taking the time to write in. It made our day! Come back soon. The rose hips are just about ready to pick. September in Dubois is gorgeous!!!

So thankful for great guests like you!
God Speed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    16
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
24
17
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
the West
Level Contributor
147 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

Staying at the Black Bear is like visiting a favorite aunt or grandma's vintage home from the cozy, thick towels and soft, sun dried sheets on the bed to real flowers growing in pots right outside your room. Liz has a campfire each evening on the riverbank where guests gather to share stories and make somemores against the comforting sound of the Wind River. You have a coffee pot, microwave, and fridge in your room, and you're only a few steps from the Village Cafe where you can eat home cooked meals three times a day or jaunt uptown to other fine eateries. You're in walking distance to everything. If you want relaxation with a small town feel, this is the place to stop. I'll be back.

Room Tip: We were right in the middle and our room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wildfloweroftheWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizFurman, Manager at Black Bear Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thanks so much for reviewing us here on Trip Adviser. Your review made our day! It is guests like you who make this all worth it!!

Hugs from the Bear and come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

I made a reservation for our friends from Germany, and they said they really enjoyed their stay. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were comfortable and clean. Thanks for making their stay with you so good.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizFurman, Owner at Black Bear Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thanks Jayne! We loved your friends (exchange students) from Germany.
They were so fun by the campfire making s'mores. :0)
Such a cute couple!
Send them back anytime...only next time come with. :0)
Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We happened upon Dubois on our way home's the best from Yellowstone. It was an enchanting town in an absolutely gorgeous setting and we LOVED the bear. Friendly staff and such cute rooms right on the river. Can't wait to go back for an extended stay some day!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nanasantana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizFurman, Owner at Black Bear Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.
Your kind words made our day! We would welcome you back for an extended stay.
Your review just proves what we always say...the NICEST people in the WORLD stay with us at the Bear. :0)
Thanks again,
Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plain City, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Can't say enough about how much I enjoyed my stay at the Bear. Liz and the kids are wonderful hosts. I really enjoyed sitting around the campfire and visiting with the other guest. This was just a one night stop for me on the way to Alaska. I do a month or so motorcycle trip every summer and will defiantly stay there again in the future. In the past I've mostley stayed at large corporate hotels but the Bear has changed my mind in that regard. Thanks again for a wonderful stay and I will see you again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizFurman, Owner at Black Bear Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thanks so much Bill for taking the time to rate the Bear!
We loved having you, come back anytime...between End May to Mid September that is. :0)
We really appreciate your kind words...made our day in fact!
Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comanche
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

We had an awesome experience at the Black Bear Inn!!! The room was EXTREMELY clean, and well kept. The first thing I noticed as we walked in was the clean, fresh, homey smell of the room, and the decorations I thought were very inviting!! My kids were skeptical on staying here at first, because there was no indoor swimming pool available; however once we got here they were begging to stay another night, and to take their dog Temo home with us...lol!!! We got to go square dancing for the first time ever, and we had s'mores by the river. Liz and her niece Aubrey are absolutely amazing people, and they made our stay amazing!! The hospitality is indescribable. We will MOST DEFINITELY visit The Black Bear Inn again if we get the opportunity.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danapowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizFurman, Owner at Black Bear Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
You guys are so fun! We have the nicest guests on the planet. You included!
Thanks so much for the kind review! I will show Aubree! Come back when we can float the river. Tell the kids thanks for trying us without a pool! Hugs from the Bear!
Liz
(for the Bear)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

It's the extras you won't find anywhere else (books, line-dried sheets, plush towels, ceramic cups, campfires beside a river, & a personable host) that will make you glad you chose THE BLACK BEAR INN.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SNapohaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizFurman, Owner at Black Bear Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! You made our day. We loved having you ,please come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubois hotels
0.2 mi away
Twin Pines Lodge And Cabins
1.4 mi away
Super 8 Dubois
Super 8 Dubois
#5 of 9 in Dubois
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stagecoach Motor Inn
Stagecoach Motor Inn
#1 of 9 in Dubois
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Longhorn Ranch Lodge & RV Resort
0.1 mi away
Branding Iron Inn
Branding Iron Inn
#2 of 3 in Dubois
3.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chinook Winds Motel
Chinook Winds Motel
#8 of 9 in Dubois
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Inn

Property: Black Bear Inn
Address: 505 West Ramshorn, P.O. Box 1333, Dubois, WY 82513
Location: United States > Wyoming > Dubois
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Dubois
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Black Bear Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OPEN JUNE-SEPTEMBER, the Black Bear Inn is a comfortable motel in Dubois, Wyoming, located in the heart of Wind River Country, minutes from Yellowstone and Grand Teton National Parks, known worldwide for unsurpassed beauty and unequaled recreational opportunities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Black Bear Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Dubois
Dubois Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing